Originally posted by www:anonymity.
that is one of the most attractive things about Internet.
one can choose to speak up, screw up and get away unidentified.
take sgforums for instance. one can simply register with a weird nick and start sharing their deepest fantasies, provoking many around here and vanish subsequently without being identified as who they actually are.
apparently, most of these people wouldnt dare to speak like that in real life and the odds is that they wont dare to show their real identity.
do you find such people a loser?
also, there is another category of people who choose to hold more than one nick.
he or she might be someone u knew for quite a while, to the extend of seeing him/her before. however, there are times when he/she chose to speak up using another identity, so to avoid risking the reputation of their original nick, probably for political reasons and etc.
do you do that? what do you think of the people described above?
how many of you actually speak up as who you really are?
but y isit necessary to use a diff nick for serious stuff?Originally posted by Churra:"churra" is for crapping only.
other nicks for serious stuffs. i think most of you will not xi guan on seeing churra on serious topic right?
and of coz, some are for other purposes.
well, if churra donch use it to flame people, its ok......Originally posted by wuming78:but y isit necessary to use a diff nick for serious stuff?
Sometimes we just have to do what we have to do.Originally posted by Churra:"churra" is for crapping only.
other nicks for serious stuffs. i think most of you will not xi guan on seeing churra on serious topic right?
and of coz, some are for other purposes.
I dun know about you, but for me, sometimes I do find it neccessary to log off for a while to wait out the thinking of one nick before I can successfully re-entry the system back in as 'Spear'.Originally posted by Churra:Another thing is sometimes when replying a thread, i prefer privacy on that particular matter...Therefore, i will use other nick.
I'm the same with Silly.Originally posted by sillyme:I try to. I don't want to be labelled a fake or a coward.
But sometimes, we have things we do not want people to know.
WOAH! One of the rare times I see you post so long!Originally posted by FireIce:this is a bery complex issue
humans are complex to begin with....
cyberspsychology is a bery new discipline...
but eberyday in forums, we are looking at life examples of cyberpsychology taking place......
it's not so much of being fake or having split identities
eberyone has social selves......how u behave depends on who u are with and wat kind of environment u are in....
anonymity in cyberspace has its good and bad
on one hand, it's a channel for those who are socially shy to express their tots more freely....
on the other hand, it's this anonymity "advantage" tt ppl abuse.....on the internet they can be wat they relli want to be...something tt defy our social norm.....or being suppressed in real life......they can't do them in real so they resort to fa xie on the internet....
depending on which sch of tot u believe in......a human is like a plasticine.....malleable by social situations tt commands a certain behaviour......
there are a few types of "self"
wat u really are (character)
wat u want to be (aspiration)
wat u want others to see u as (pride)
no doubt the internet has brought about much conveniences in terms of information flow and communications, many ppl made use of these negatively to create havoc.....thinking they can get away with it cos no one knows who they are.....leading to new laws to curb cyber crime, new rules to govern cyber activities (eg, censorship)
according to social psychology, u can't relli see urself.....u will oni know urself through others......ppl around u act as a mirror....
lu yao zhi ma li, ri jiu jian ren xin........
action = reaction blah blah blah......
another point to note, the purpose of face-to-face interaction and cyber-interaction is different......
somemore, this is a forum, and the main focus here is discussions and casual chatting (a nicer term for crap).....ppl have different purposes when they come to the forums.......
to gather information, to hear others' opinions...there are the serious activities.....while there are some ppl who are stressed up in real life tt they come here to chat and to relax,,,,,,
oso, there is the boliao side of the balance......come here to exercise their imagination and fantasies and to gain attention.....
conclusion is.....on the internet i can be anyone, i can be anything i want to be.....but the person at the other end of the screen is but a human................
take sgforums for instance. one can simply register with a weird nick and start sharing their deepest fantasies, provoking many around here and vanish subsequently without being identified as who they actually are.
apparently, most of these people wouldnt dare to speak like that in real life and the odds is that they wont dare to show their real identity.
also, there is another category of people who choose to hold more than one nick.
he or she might be someone u knew for quite a while, to the extend of seeing him/her before. however, there are times when he/she chose to speak up using another identity, so to avoid risking the reputation of their original nick, probably for political reasons and etc.
err.. perhaps u misunderstood my intention of starting this topic.Originally posted by dcx:Sorry ah...but no offences...i mean...y bother them? Isn't it better? It's still the same person afterall....
F| oni can crap rite?Originally posted by Yunhaier:WOAH! One of the rare times I see you post so long!![]()
Not can - thought only will.Originally posted by FireIce:F| oni can crap rite?![]()
is want or dont want.......Originally posted by Yunhaier:Not can - thought only will.![]()