huh?? bu shi ba Ah Ma my xiao si mei???? si mei... which sect u from one??? FTC, FTMS, or SAA?? haha ur nei gong till which level already? graduating soon??Originally posted by Ah Ma:if ur fren wana attend the talk at FTC u inform me can join me...cos i wana attend the talk aso....tinkin of changing sch
...http://www.ftc.com.sg/whatsnew/default.aspOriginally posted by PaulSmith:huh, FTC got talk huh? when huh? me tot of going oso...
SIM UOL accountancy can apply for CPA ?Originally posted by H-Profile:my 2 cents worth here.
Are u really keen on working in the Accounting sector in the long term? I would advise u to find some full-time or part-time work in relation to accounting as to confirm where your interests and ability lies. Cos if u decide to take ACCA, all u have is an certificate which is recognised by finance or accounting sectors.
And if u wish to make a career change few years down the road due to unforseen circumstances, your ACCA cert may not be relevant to other business sectors like Logistics or Manufacturing. Thus, you will apply for the new job as a Diploma or A Levels holder i assume.
If i'm not wrong, if u can pass all the ACCA course without repeating any modules, the total cost in Singapore dollar should be below S$10,000 inclusive of membership fees (correct me if i;m wrong).
However, if u want to play safe in this current depressed economy, you can try to expand your budget abit and consider taking SIM-RMIT Bachelor of Business (Accountancy) for around S$15,000 (Advanced-Standing Level). At least this is a Degree programme and you can apply for CPA after you get your degree. It's a kind of safeguard as even if you want to make a career switch later on in your career path, your opportunities would be wider as you would be looking for graduate positions and not just diploma or A Levels positions.
Basically, its down to whether u want to be a Diploma / A Levels holder with ACCA qualifications or Degree Holder with Accounting Background?![]()
i dun tink u can directly apply for local CPA..Originally posted by Ah Ma:SIM UOL accountancy can apply for CPA ?
hw come RMIT accountancy not up to standard? their cert no external student stamp on it bt isit same as u get frm overseas 1?Originally posted by ferrar1:i dun tink u can directly apply for local CPA..
u will be able to get the UK CPA den u need to convert to local CPA by taking 4 modules if not wrong.
btw i wouldnt suggest RMIT's accountancy.. my friend took it and she said not very up to standard.. though their cert is damn nice and got no external student stamped on it
and another advice.. choose the right degree from the right university for the right industry..![]()
Actually RMIT is not renowned for its business or accountancy programmes, more towards IT i believe. If you are looking for a world class uni that is v good in business programmes, look at Wharton.Originally posted by Ah Ma:hw come RMIT accountancy not up to standard? their cert no external student stamp on it bt isit same as u get frm overseas 1?
Yeah. From my friends, their RMIT's external cert is exactly the same as what is achieved overseas.Originally posted by Ah Ma:hw come RMIT accountancy not up to standard? their cert no external student stamp on it bt isit same as u get frm overseas 1?
Not exactly... Nowadays, RMIT Business Degrees Programmes are becoming more popular. Like wat i've mentioned above, those of my frens who grad from RMIT Business Degree managed to get jobs from those Well-known MNCs. Besides, some stat boards do recognise RMIT business degree too!Originally posted by cooleo:Actually RMIT is not renowned for its business or accountancy programmes, more towards IT i believe. If you are looking for a world class uni that is v good in business programmes, look at Wharton.
As i've said, get the right degree from the right uni for the right industry..Originally posted by genie88:Not exactly... Nowadays, RMIT Business Degrees Programmes are becoming more popular. Like wat i've mentioned above, those of my frens who grad from RMIT Business Degree managed to get jobs from those Well-known MNCs. Besides, some stat boards do recognise RMIT business degree too!![]()
From wat I've known, some AUS unis like Uni of Syd oso hv QAA.Originally posted by ferrar1:As i've said, get the right degree from the right uni for the right industry..
even though 90% of the time, it depends on your own ability to impress the interviewer when applying for a job (which is y ur fren probably got e job), but it would also definetely help to have a relevant degree from the university more renowned for that course or field of study..
btw, 1 of e reason y private schools' AUS degrees are exactly similar to those awarded to on-campus students is bcoz they have no quality assurance association, unlike UK who have a QAA body to ensure that they differentiate local and distance education student.. but it is not to differentiate the quality of the 2 degrees.
u going to attend the talk huh? me going...but need to reserve for the seat.Originally posted by Ah Ma:if ur fren wana attend the talk at FTC u inform me can join me...cos i wana attend the talk aso....tinkin of changing sch
actually if u have a deg in accountancy u will also be the same as a ACCA holder.. u cant change job easily unless u find a employer that believe in u..they dun take alot of non accounting subject beside the normal marketing, HR, Management that will be already being covered in diploma course..so this is a none issue here, but i agreed with u about confirming his/her interest in accounting b4 taking ACCA or Deg in accOriginally posted by H-Profile:my 2 cents worth here.
Are u really keen on working in the Accounting sector in the long term? I would advise u to find some full-time or part-time work in relation to accounting as to confirm where your interests and ability lies. Cos if u decide to take ACCA, all u have is an certificate which is recognised by finance or accounting sectors.
And if u wish to make a career change few years down the road due to unforseen circumstances, your ACCA cert may not be relevant to other business sectors like Logistics or Manufacturing. Thus, you will apply for the new job as a Diploma or A Levels holder i assume.
i dunno about now, but when i was taking it(which was not very long ago) i believe u can finished it at arounf 5 or 6k only
If i'm not wrong, if u can pass all the ACCA course without repeating any modules, the total cost in Singapore dollar should be below S$10,000 inclusive of membership fees (correct me if i;m wrong).
i dunno about now again, but when i was taking it(which was not very long ago again..) i believe its' 20k
However, if u want to play safe in this current depressed economy, you can try to expand your budget abit and consider taking SIM-RMIT Bachelor of Business (Accountancy) for around S$15,000 (Advanced-Standing Level).
when u talking about CPA.. which country one u talking about?? for UOL one i believe u have to convert ur tax and law paper to sg one b4 u can, for ACCA u can without convert as u already did it in sg paper,for RMIT u have to do their australian CPA passport course which is another few more thousand.... but all the above.. u have to have a few yrs of working experience first lah...
At least this is a Degree programme and you can apply for CPA after you get your degree. It's a kind of safeguard as even if you want to make a career switch later on in your career path, your opportunities would be wider as you would be looking for graduate positions and not just diploma or A Levels positions.
Basically, its down to whether u want to be a Diploma / A Levels holder with ACCA qualifications or Degree Holder with Accounting Background?![]()
u are welcome, i provide other info like "how to have flings" or "how to run aways from fling's bf" but that one i have to charge u already..trade secret lahOriginally posted by PaulSmith:Hmm, really wanna thank [I-like-flings(m)] for all the precious informations that u provide. Appreciate alot.![]()
haha, well me dun need that at tis moment. I believe one day if i need it, u will share all yr trade sercret to me F.O.C rite...Originally posted by I-like-flings(m):u are welcome, i provide other info like "how to have flings" or "how to run aways from fling's bf" but that one i have to charge u already..trade secret lah![]()
hmm, not only popular, really alot leh...Originally posted by cooleo:Just now went to the study room at my nearby CC, saw the guy in front of me reading notes from 'FTC'. Wah...looks like this FTC is quite popular huh?
The guy with the FTC notes sibei stressed sia. Even brought along a warm flask, maybe inside kopi or milo to calm himself down.Originally posted by PaulSmith:hmm, not only popular, really alot leh...![]()