wt............Originally posted by the.raven:after several decades without women he cannot tahan anymore![]()
you speak with much biasness towards this religion.Originally posted by Bill GoldBerg:much for saying Buddhism is great...................
Detachment is the opposite of attachment, attachment is the opposite of detachment. While these two seems far apart, there are actually two sides of the same coin. You can go into the forests, seek the caves but if you are still interested in what is happening outside, how your friends are doing, etc, then you are still attached to the world. You can be together with your colleagues at work, but your mind is five thousand miles away at a holiday resort. You are in the world, but you have detached yourself from it.Originally posted by Bill GoldBerg:Last Friday, I attended a concert by China's 12 girls band.
I really enjoyed the show until I saw two monks getting to leave just before the end of the concert. Are monks allowed to view pop concerts where the performers are twelve gorgeous china chicks. Also they seemed very ill mannered to leave just before the end of the show?
My take is that they are afraid to be seen by the public as they also came when the lights were dimmed and the show had already started.Those monks really make me rethink my leaning towards buddhism. Money mad priests and monks relishing female performers. I am
strengthening my believe in being AGNOSTIC.
Why aren't monks like these censured. They give the religion a really bad name. When a layman follows a religion, he asks himself these
questions:
1. Is this a practical religion to follow. Does it make sense. Can it stand close scrutiny and sustained questioning by skeptical minds.
2. Can I live up to the religion's expectation of me. Sure doesn't want to be a hypocrite.
3. Are those who practices this religion as a professional, ie. such as monks nuns etc. whose example in their conduct of life is something
I can emulate. They should set an example of the kind of high ideals I can achieve if I were to follow their teachings. These two monks who
wore saffron robes to a show that is full of attachment because they are watching twelve gorgeous looking China chicks with rebonded hair
and sensuous figures sure doesn't set a good example.
Another bad example in recent days is the function put up by some tibetan buddhists at the vacant lot in Sims Avenue near the Aljunied
MRT station. As I walk around, I see it as a "pasar malam" promoting various knick knacks that is supposed to bring wealth and prosperity
instead of a function celebrating Buddha's birthday. Everything has a price and the idea probably is that if you buy, you will be prosperous.
Let me tell you that I am throwing away all the buddhist literature that I have accumulated and instead spending my money on wealth creation self improvement books and books on shares and stock investments. I feel that I have wasted many many hours reading rubbish. If I had spent my time more productively by reading up on investments, I should by now have been laughing all the way to the bank instead of being perplexed, confused and let down.
And to hell with conmen and lustful paedophile priests, monks watching beautiful girls under the cover of darkness and pork eating monks who
wants to taste meat but at the same time wants to be a higher being than ordinary folks. I tell you, the whole thing stinks.
Buddha himself, did not specifically dictate (while he was on Earth) that monks should not eat meat or pork. You cannot choose or make "special request" from your givers when you go for alms. Whatever they give you, you eat, as long as it does not contain ten kinds of prohibited meats, for practical reasons as forest practitioners. The Mahayana tradition added the strict adherence to vegetarian food basically because they believe
Buddha had taught about this practice in Heavens.
My view is that whatever you eat, it involves killings. If you think you could avoid killings by eating vegetarian food, then that's delusion at its
height. The moment the farmer plough his land, many worms would be killed. When the farmer wants to protect his crop, he killed the insects that come to feed on his crops. Thus, eating even vegetarian food, is still eating the end result of killings. The clearer mind would recognize that our living is based on other live forms' sarcrifices. Thus, we should treasure this most so to make good use of our human life form to achieve Nirvana and in return, help these live forms that make their sarcrifices to progress as well. Thus, no matter what we eat, we must feel grateful to all those living beings that make their sarcrifices to make our living possible. Chant for them and transfer all merits due to our practices, to them. This is the most fundamental practice.
According to the strict precepts that monks must adhere to, watching dance or entertainment performances are prohibited. If they are really ordained monks, they have breached the most fundamental eight precepts..
In any religion, groups or organization, there will always be black sheeps around. Don't give up your long journey just because of few grains of sand in your shoes.
There will always be, the good, the bad and the ugly in every religion.
And Who's NEXT!!!![]()
i'm notOriginally posted by Prodigy:you speak with much biasness towards this religion.
As i've said earlier, all the religions have black sheeps and buddhism is no exception
I'm enlightening but are u talking cock ooz your nick suggest otherwise..........and who's next!Originally posted by talk_cock:Detachment is the opposite of attachment, attachment is the opposite of detachment. While these two seems far apart, there are actually two sides of the same coin. You can go into the forests, seek the caves but if you are still interested in what is happening outside, how your friends are doing, etc, then you are still attached to the world. You can be together with your colleagues at work, but your mind is five thousand miles away at a holiday resort. You are in the world, but you have detached yourself from it.
Attachment and detachment seems like two enemies but they are actually partners in crime. One cannot thrive without the other. Neither is what the Buddha calls the middle way. Just as one becomes attached at some point in time, one becomes detached at some other point in time. In the same way, you were attached to Buddhism in the past, now you want to detach yourself from it. This is expected because this is how the mind works, it swings between the two extremes.
In between the two extremes, there is a slim path called non-attachment (which some people incorrectly calls detachment) To be non-attached means that one can enjoy a concert while it lasts, then afterwards one will not hanker after it. Non-attachment means to live in the present. If you want to be agnostic, please first be non-attached. To be agnostic means that you must be open to an experience without the burden of pre-conceptions. To follow Buddha, please do not follow him. Buddha never followed anyone, he found his own enlightenment. That is why when he is dying, he refused to name a successor but told his followers to be lamps upon themselves. This is also why Lao Zi writes about the Way of Tao but never leave any directions. On the path of the pathless, one has to find his own path.
So I say, go ahead and be agnostic, because that is the aim. Buddha says “All is emptiness”, if all is emptiness, Buddha’s teachings are also empty. The reason for your ranting is that you have become attached to what society demands. Saffron robes, vegetarian meals, precepts are means to an end, not ends in themselves. Nothing is gained by just putting on a saffron robe. A blind man requires a walking stick or a guide dog or a helper, but a man with sight does not require these. Similarly, precepts and being vegetarian is like a blind man using these aids. They are not strictly necessary but helpful.
That is the problem of society. It puts in preconceived ideas into your mind, all the bias and discrimination comes into you. So be agnostic, and if you are really agnostic, you free yourself from the demands that society places on you. Until you are free, your thinking will be based on the falsehood society gives you. All the spiritual greats agree on this one point—that the majority of the people are sleeping. To be agnostic is to free yourself from all these falsehood. “Abandon all concepts of truth,” was what Milarepa told his disciples. So be agnostic, be free, be your own master and find your own path.
Originally posted by NeonTetra:???
japanese restaurant vegetarian meh?Originally posted by snoopie:i saw a couple of monks eating in a middle class japanese restaurant too... when our eyes met across the glass mirror, i gave them the "are-u-supposed-to-be-here" look and i thought they look pretty paiseh...
christianOriginally posted by laurence82:Dont tell me Bill Goldberg is from some other belief just want to flame Buddhism hor..cheap trick
Who's next?![]()
tt's ur own view...dun label urself one and insult othersOriginally posted by Bill GoldBerg:christian
But not a basis to judge other beliefs.Originally posted by NeonTetra:tt's ur own view...dun label urself one and insult others
unless u use the Word of God i have nothing to comment. For that is the only basis of authority.
i didn't.Originally posted by NeonTetra:tt's ur own view...dun label urself one and insult others
unless u use the Word of God i have nothing to comment. For that is the only basis of authority.
the word 'christian' there by chance?Originally posted by Bill GoldBerg:i didn't.![]()
Voicing out my heartOriginally posted by NeonTetra:the word 'christian' there by chance?
oh....i seeOriginally posted by Bill GoldBerg:Voicing out my heart![]()
well said! i could not have said it better myself...you shouldn't damnify one religion because of a few black sheep...it applies the same way; you can't punish the whole class becoz of some guy's fault...think about it...and most likely, those monks ar following the 5 precepts, so most likely they are just half-monks?? the real one follows the eight precepts, and that means they are not allowed to adourn their bodies with perfume etc, and not watch tv or listen to music...thats harsh...Originally posted by Medicated Oil:If the two monks are really black sheep, then they should not be wearing monk robes to the concert and to be criticised.
They are there to listen music and appreciate art.
They have nothing to hide or ashamed of being a monk.
Please dun any how slap your accusation.
If your faith on Buddha is so simply shaken by the act of some individual, that can mean that your faith is not strong.
You follow Buddha's teaching to improve your understanding of life, not as a ruler or gauge to judge others.
no body? even his own church members wanna sue him and get compensation. hahaOriginally posted by laurence82:Nobody really pursue the case of Father Tua Kang what, so whats Bill Goldberg agenda here? Explicitly saying he is a Christian and damnify people of other beliefs so eagerly?![]()