Malaysia is mainly influenced by HK culture hence there are more people there speaking Cantonese even though they are not Cantonese themselves.Originally posted by rongshao85:more cantonese people in hongkong and malaysia. hokkien siao in singapore and taiwanprefer to speak hokkien cos more "vocabs" to use
If you listen to those Hokkien songs, they usually depict lives in jail and drinking and all that. I think that to a certain degree mold the "gangster" image of Hokkien speakers.Originally posted by sneezy:last time i got one collegue , she herself is pure hokkien and she said those who speak hokkien is gangster..
haha "vocabs" is those vulgarities lahOriginally posted by Jason Bourne:Malaysia is mainly influenced by HK culture hence there are more people there speaking Cantonese even though they are not Cantonese themselves.
I wonder if SG govt didn't implement the "Speak Mandarin Campaign" in the early days and the TV stil showing HK Cantonese serials, will SG follow the way of ML and have more Cantonese speakers?
BTW, what do you mean by more "vocabs"? Care to elaborate?
nowadays, the youngster's dialect is all broken one.. can't even pronouce the word properly like me!Originally posted by 01024G:Hokkien also got love songs mah.
I hokkien.
NA
NA
Can listen a bit, cannot speak. talk to my relatives in mandarin. my grandparents arga arga listen, sometimes guess coorect, sometimes dun understand at all.
icic..Originally posted by rongshao85:haha "vocabs" is those vulgarities lah
haha.. not as much as hokkien right? u tell me nowadays.. which "vocabs" would u mostly hear? canto or hokkien?Originally posted by Jason Bourne:icic..
Cantonese also have its "vocabs" too.![]()
Must admit defeat.Originally posted by rongshao85:haha.. not as much as hokkien right? u tell me nowadays.. which "vocabs" would u mostly hear? canto or hokkien?![]()
Wah so stereotype ah?? Not fair to me leh, i not gangster but i speak hokkien. The reason is most vulgar use in Singapore all in hokkien tats y hokkien dun sound nice.Originally posted by sneezy:last time i got one collegue , she herself is pure hokkien and she said those who speak hokkien is gangster..
bow to me thenOriginally posted by Jason Bourne:Must admit defeat.![]()
yah.. sterotype sia.. all becos of those stupid bengs who abuse hokkien make ppl link hokkien to gangster hai..Originally posted by Ogbunwezeh:Wah so stereotype ah?? Not fair to me leh, i not gangster but i speak hokkien. The reason is most vulgar use in Singapore all in hokkien tats y hokkien dun sound nice.
the one and only unique "diu lei lo mo chow lo hai"Originally posted by Jason Bourne:icic..
Cantonese also have its "vocabs" too.![]()
yeah! throw yr mother old shoes and one more "ham ka chan" whole family die..Originally posted by lamo:the one and only unique "diu lei lo mo chow lo hai"hope you all don't mind