hi there, have you missed my post earlier?Originally posted by yidd:"Sin came into the world through one man, and death came through sin, and so death spread to ALL because ALL have sinned." (Romans 5:12)
"Therefore, as by the offense of one [Adam] judgment came upon ALL men to CONDEMNATION." (Romans 5:1
Your replies are very interesting, but again, I would like to know when the doctrine was first formulated because of 2 reasons:
1. Whether the Original Sin had been taught by Jesus himself, or came much later as a result of creeds passed by the Church several centuries after Christ was taken up into heaven.
2. Whether Jesus was aware of this Original Sin and strove to die on the cross for the sins of mankind.
So if man has not fallen sinners in the first place, the 1st coming of Jesus is not neccessary and Jesus has already died in vain.
From what I found out, the Jews does not believe in Original sin. That's why they believe they do not need Jesus to die for them for their salvation and they wanted the Romans to crucify Jesus instead because they hated Him. The Jews wanted a Messiah who punish the Jew's enemies, NOT someone who heals the blind and mute, NOT someone who is willing to be crucified by the Romans (also the Jew's enemies) to die for them and forgive their sins.
Untill now they are still waiting for the return of their Messiah who will "punish" those who attack them. But this return of Messiah was also the 2nd coming of Jesus who is supposed to come back to stop countries who attack Israel during the final world war.
In short, the Jews wanted the 2nd coming of Jesus, and they rejected his 1st coming.
Not again...? -_-`~Originally posted by yidd:Hi Seifer,
Answer these questions:
1. Do you think Original Sin applies to ALL humans? In short, is it universal?
2. Do Jews believe in Original Sin?
3. When was the doctrine of Original Sin first formulated?
4. Are infants subject to Original Sin? In short, if they die "unbaptized" (in whatever myriad forms this "cleansing" takes today), do they go to hell, heaven, or that medevial concept called limbo?
My stand for now... I AGREE with ALMOST EVERYTHING you'd said in this POST... Except perhaps the concept of ORIGINAL SIN applied on babies... You mentioned that you think they have not 'activated' it yet... I think there's no such thing as activation... They're born with it.... Yeah yeah... And I know that alot of people (if they bother) would start to bombard me with the 'you mean you born with SIN without doing anything..?' Do you know what is ORIGINAL SIN...? I THINK I know..? Well.. Though I'm not certain that I'm having the CORRECT picture, but I think I'm beginning to figure the things out...?Originally posted by Seifer:I can only try my best to answer ur queries.
1. My personal belief is that Original Sin refers to man's sinful nature. As such, I believed that ALL humans have it.
2. No idea.
3. No idea. I can try to find out.
4. Like I have mentioned, my personal belief is that Original sin refers to the sinful nature. Therefore babies are bornt with this sinful nature. But they are born sinless, coz while they have this sinful nature, they have not 'activated' it yet.
No need to wonder lah!! If GOD got HALF of anyone of our brains, you would be CONDEMNED!!! :pOriginally posted by Rapture:then I really wonder...how many people can really make it when compared to the law.........
Hmm.... INTERESTING indeed..?Originally posted by Seifer:The following verse is also very interesting.
1 Peter 4:5,6 - But they will have to give account to him who is ready to judge the living and the dead. For this is the reason the gospel was preached even to those who are now dead, so that they might be judged according to men in regard to the body, but live according to God in regard to the spirit.
Actually there is such a thing as activation. sinful nature does not equate to sin. It just means u have a tendency to sin.Originally posted by Devil1976:My stand for now... I AGREE with ALMOST EVERYTHING you'd said in this POST... Except perhaps the concept of ORIGINAL SIN applied on babies... You mentioned that you think they have not 'activated' it yet... I think there's no such thing as activation... They're born with it.... Yeah yeah... And I know that alot of people (if they bother) would start to bombard me with the 'you mean you born with SIN without doing anything..?' Do you know what is ORIGINAL SIN...? I THINK I know..? Well.. Though I'm not certain that I'm having the CORRECT picture, but I think I'm beginning to figure the things out...?
......Originally posted by Seifer:You are right. Sin came into this world thru one man, and death is the result of sin. But HOW did sin come into this world? Because we all inherited the sinful nature of Adam. It is this sinful nature that causes us to sin. Therefore all who sinned will die.
Clearly in GAL: 5:24 - "Those who belong to Jesus Christ have crucified the sinful nature.....", it is clearly shown that salvation entails the crucification of our sinful nature.
2 Peter 2:10 - This is especially true of those who follow the corrupt desire of the sinful nature and despise authority.
I think men was created without sin... But BORN with ORIGINAL SIN...?Originally posted by Seifer:There is another interesting verse
Ecc 7:29 - This only have I found: God made mankind upright, but men have gone in search of many schemes.
This verse clearly suggests that men was born without sin. Coz if they are, then they cannot be upright.
I think if you're debating in that sense you've got your point? But in terms of ORIGINAL SIN, I personally believe it's a DIFFERENT issue? In summary, I put it as all people BORN have ORIGINAL SIN... It is this ORIGINAL SIN which give rise to a SINFUL NATURE in human (ability to sin)... NOT all people SIN (though I must think majority do..). If they don't, likelihood is they're not given enough time to express (or cultivate) that nature in a lifetime or is not given enough EXPOSURE for it to bloom...Originally posted by Seifer:Actually there is such a thing as activation. sinful nature does not equate to sin. It just means u have a tendency to sin.
I can have a lot of $$$$. But as long as I resist the urge to spend the $$$, I cannot be branded a spendthrift just because I have $$$.
Hahahah....this is a public discussion mah. Everybody is welcome to join in.Originally posted by FireIce:do u ppl know there is something called private email?
Do you know what PRIVATE means....? NO... I CANNOT give it to ANYONE... It's MY OWN... I applied it just for the SAKE of my OWN PRIVACY...? For fun? :pOriginally posted by FireIce:do u ppl know there is something called private email?
Originally posted by Seifer:People like Abraham lor
SPICY but quite a boring show...? :pOriginally posted by bigdeal:i tot u were talking abt the movie oringinal sins by angelina jolie... i seen the vcd of it... wah macam pornographic sia... licking, sucking and etc... hahah
[This message has been edited by bigdeal (edited 19 March 2002).]
yoi man, long time no see, how's life and work? How about pools next week.Originally posted by rubberduckie:actually the Bible says no one can fulfill the requirements of the law. Not even AbrahamMoreover the law was given after Abraham.
who call u see story line ?? fast forward >> can liao lor.. hahahah :pOriginally posted by Devil1976:SPICY but quite a boring show...? :p
Originally posted by obiwan:yoi man, long time no see, how's life and work? How about pools next week.
See if you can get Rapture and Blur, i try to call rapture, but he didn't respond to that question at all, maybe frighten that i might slayed him with my lightsaber... ;}
alright then, no prob at all... we will see...Originally posted by rubberduckie:I would love toBut I will be posted to US for 2 months, will be flying next Tues. Have a string of meetings to do this week so probably cant. When I get back in June we can sure meet for pool! Get Rapture and Blur too!
thks for the invite jedi knight. wud like to go but i work late most of the night.Originally posted by obiwan:yoi man, long time no see, how's life and work? How about pools next week.
See if you can get Rapture and Blur, i try to call rapture, but he didn't respond to that question at all, maybe frighten that i might slayed him with my lightsaber... ;}
------------------Originally posted by blurblop:thks for the invite jedi knight. wud like to go but i work late most of the night.
thks again
no prob too, we will arrange next time.