sighz, how many of us has the luxury of doing what we like as a job?Originally posted by Siaobell:A job iz just a job if u dun like wat u doing. but if u like..then a job becomes a hobby.
graduate liaoz dunno do wat..that iz something that iz bery 'shang nao jing' at the moment. hee.
secrets not happy with yor current job izit?
A job is something you do to get money and you cannot see yourself doing it long term while a career is something you can do until you retire and can do for a long term,eheheOriginally posted by SeCrEts:What is a job? A Career? An Occupation? A means to make $$? What differentiates these terms?
Having plenty of thoughts nowadays about work. My current job scope is ok, but the environment and the management are simply terrible. Which means I have to look for another new job again. sighz.
Just want to ask all of u guys' opinions: how will u know what kind of occupation are u suitable for? I really don't know what I am good at, and what I excel in. Really in a muddle. Job market now is not fantastic for biz pple; only engineers & IT pple r hot.
For currently employed people: are you happy with your present job? what made you choose your current occupation?
For students: what will you like to work as once u graduate? does it match what you are currently studying?
hmm..Originally posted by moose:A job is something you do to get money and you cannot see yourself doing it long term while a career is something you can do until you retire and can do for a long term,ehehe
I like IT,so i will just enter the IT line,but the field is so broad,so i dunno which sector to enter to.Anyway,find your what are your talents and your likes and find a job that matches it,ehehe
hahahaOriginally posted by millennium:I also looking for job.
ah, me? a teacher?? err.... i will be "piaking" every student & scolding "si ginnah!" every other second. thanks for the idea but err.... i cannot make it lah.Originally posted by Siaobell:hmm..seems that getting a job which we enjoy iz realli rare.
hmm...i got no lobang leh..got one suggesstion though...go be a teacher..at least that's a job which i think iz quite ok..no need to see boss's color..only get pissed by the students..hee
somehow the way u put it seems so easy. but its incredibly difficult in practice! e.g. I like doing promotions & marcom stuff for consumer prdts & services, but nowadays its so hard to find a good job that matches this! either the company is lousy, the prospects r dim, or the pay is terrible. sighz.Originally posted by moose:A job is something you do to get money and you cannot see yourself doing it long term while a career is something you can do until you retire and can do for a long term,ehehe
I like IT,so i will just enter the IT line,but the field is so broad,so i dunno which sector to enter to.Anyway,find your what are your talents and your likes and find a job that matches it,ehehe
see? precisely what I meant. In our search for the 'dream' job, we often have to abandon this fantasy and get real! translate: get a good-paying but not much-loved job instead. sickening huh? but this is a vicious cycle that will keep repeating. Get real! Get practical! Thats the realism to be faced for many of us folks today.Originally posted by Inzaghi:Secrets:
let bro me tell u something..how many pple actually get to do the job they like??...and how many pple get to do their favourite job in a favourite environment!!!!
dream is afterall dream, in reality not that so...to me a job is just to get myself paid!!!
whether how can we tell what jobs suits us??..that's must depend on ones character lor..pple that are more outspoken, agressive will be suitable for front line job..pple like me who can't talk
i'm not that satisfied with my current job scope too, but all jobs got its pros & cons, it's just how u see them
as for ur case, if the environmewnt is too bad for u, think its time to look for a better place..as for lobangs, hehe, u must first tell me what u want lar...
and yes, never quit before u found a new job, trust me, the economy is gonna slow down this yr, be it for IT or Biz..
Good Luck Ashley! I got a feeling you will make an extremely caring and sincere teacher!Originally posted by Ashley:Hmm...
in singapore you can't really find a dream job...
just a job that you don't hate will do..
Maybe you can try looking for a job of your interest...maybe that will be better...
Good luck..as for me...guess i am going to give it a try at NIE
Chey.Originally posted by Ashley:hahaha
good luck leh...
opps i mean good luck to the company you are applying to....hahahahaha :p
KekekeOriginally posted by SeCrEts:Good Luck Ashley! I got a feeling you will make an extremely caring and sincere teacher!
Heehee, where got lah..Originally posted by millennium:Chey.
Like that say no one dare to employ me liao.
By the way, any one knows how to type resume? Pai seh, I forgot the format liao.
Yeah. I want luck. Plenty plenty of luck.Originally posted by Ashley:Heehee, where got lah..
resume ??
i also don't know leh..
:p
but think you really need the good luck
I'm trying very hard to find a new job! registered with all the job search dotcoms companies and flipping the classfied everyday (btw, this is the most popular section in our department). so demotivating and depressing.Originally posted by Inzaghi:Secrets:
get real, get practical, well that's life..whether u happy or not, u just gotta face it!!!..the society has made us like that, we jollywell live with it, if not we will be miserable!!!
how do u know the company is facing cashflow problem???...if really so, think u better double up to look out for a new job...although the economy is slowing down, most companies are responding to that to, think if u not too choosy, u should be able to find one lar...
i think jobsdb.com has examples of resume format. maybe u take a look @ it? http://www.jobsdb.com.sg.Originally posted by millennium:Chey.
Like that say no one dare to employ me liao.
By the way, any one knows how to type resume? Pai seh, I forgot the format liao.
^5 churra! hai...... so sianz right? i really dunknow what to look out for. only try to find related stuff to wat i studied. dun really know whether i will be happy or not.Originally posted by Churra:SeCrEts: I'm having the same problem as u. sighz, i can't seems to excel in anything. I felt so useless.
Wanna change job also duno wat kind of job i want...