Originally posted by Si|verGer:

Then silverGer better go and make appointment for an interview with XM

Well back to the point. As in your reply to L3nn. You have stated that you do not have enough budget to start a stall or shop. For I what I can advise " DUN " start any or even the biz at all. Not that I am begin discouraging to you. But in your case(student) better STUDY HARD and get all the necessary degree.
As you have stated S'poren are lazy. Yes, quite true in some case but never to forget that they are also very cautious and definitely dun have a good impression about door to door salesman irregardless of what ever you are trying to promote. And they would not spend money buying anything if they dun have the need or the urge for it. They why some people dun mind walking to 7-11 to buy stuff cos. they may only require that particular items at that time.
And some more are you trying to promote a famous brand of cookie??? Dun think so cos. if it is that famous you wouldn't even need to do Door to door. In that case you are trying to push a new brand which is very difficult to be successful unless you got money to do major advertisement which will cost alot and which you dun have.
And as in your reply to zacken99. Do you know the amount of TIME, EFFORT and ADVERTISEMENTS that have been input by the management for a sales in ROBBINSON. All I can tell you alot and there is alot variety of product begin put up too. And if you notice careful enough not all the product are on sales and those that are, would normally be outdated or just enough for them to cover their cost only or much too few too satisfy the no. of people who want to purchase them. And when people are in the store they will tend to buy others products that are not on sales which may not be cheap at all. And the main reason of all is the a Big Brand Name ROBBINSON that give people the assurance of the product that they are buying.
eg. Not long ago there is a news paper report on the sales of branded product(watch,wallet,belt) by a local hotel. Quite a no. of people brought the product because they put their trust in the name of the particular hotel. But in fact the so call branded product turn out to be all fake. Do you think it will do damage to the reputation of the hotel. Of cse it will , and it will take them a long time to rebuild their trust/name in the consumer market again. Brand name is not necessary on the product but also on the company that are promoting it.
What I trying to stated is that it is not necessary the sales that is prompting the buying power in people. And sales is just one of the marketing strategies that are use by Companies to attract people to patronize the store and in turn hoping that it will push the other product along. But the product and the people/company that is promoting the sales is equally important. And not necessary cheap product people will buy. And not necessary that is making the money. Sometime it is for Advertisement purpose.
Another eg. there was the 2 fruit stall the was selling all the orange, apple and watermelons at a low low discount price. Do you know that not all the fruits are selling at discounted prices. What they hope for is for the people to buy their other product which may bring in some profits. And the items that they are selling at discounted prices are brought in bulks(by the containers) hence they can afford it in overall with the sales by the other product. But that not all the main REASONS for they price war is not to make money but to ADVERTISE their SHOP NAME. Look at them now and if low prices can bring profits why aren't they carrying on with their sales strategies, well all I can tell is that it is simply not worth the effort and they may be incurring huge losses or break even just to make themselves famous.
And for what I know from the prices you selling your product, it is not much of a different from 7-11 and may not be attractive enough. And I can tell you unless people buy by the bulk from you , I dun think it is worth the trouble going door to door enduring all the insult for a mere $1 , $2 dollars product. Which may not even have enough profit to cover for all your hard work.
Seems like you want to be an entrepreneur and make it big in this world. But I sincerely advise you to finish your study and gain some experience first. Read up some of the profile of CEO in Singapore or entrepreneur, they either have Degree, Doctorate and some even Ph.D. in their fields. Even the CEO of Qian Hu(Dr.Kenny Yap) is a Dr. in his particulars fields(selling fish). All dun always be impress or fascinates but the press and report on how those entrepreneur that have make it. It is always not a simple road and never will be. They always report the rich and successful but sometime too much of it giving a fake impression to people that everyone can make it. There is this report just yesterday that there are 1435 (only 1435 out of 3 million) who are making more than a million a yr. in Singapore. WOW!!!!!! how I wish I could be one of them BUT there is also another report in the back page(not so obvious) reporting that there are 14595 more that have been declare bankrupt. and this is the figure for this years alone ONLY. And not all of them are irresponsible spenders, most have been declared bankrupt because their business failed. Our government have not emphasize to people what happen if your business does not work out. They emphasize more on the people that have make it. But do you know the rate that of those are successful to those that are not?
COWS also work very hard in the fields but what happen in the end, become cook food for people when they are useless. Look at the old Ah MA and uncles cleaning your tables when you finish your food , dun they work hard???? they may even work harder than you but so?????still there. Not that the willingness to work hard will be enough , you must also have the RIGHT STRATEGIES, PLANING, PRODUCT, KNOWLEDGE and main thing of all RIGHT TIMING to be successful.
YES " Curiosity WILL kill the Cat " PROVIDED it dun KILL the ONE that is trying to kill the cat in the first place. And " No Risk No Gain ". Sure why not but I just hope you gain more than you risk for lor. All the best in your venture.

just my 2c worth , if it is worth it please pay hor