so am i....Originally posted by Storm:I still hate cats
cats h8 me.Originally posted by Storm:I h8 cats.
so impersonal. just come to you when they are hungry...
as a dog owner myself, that's what i fear also when dogs come to old age. all health problems come, stroke lah, kidney disease lah, etc.Originally posted by jovial_joel:i oso have a Pomeranian previously....
adopted her from SPCA....
she got an injuried left hind leg but we nursed it back to health
after that she can even jump a bit...
very active pet who always seemed to know wat you are thinking....
when it wants to go walk walk it would turn in circles and look at you and the door to signal its intention....
the best thing is when it misbehaves and you scold her .....
she would stick out her front paw to 'shake hands' to apologise...
but sadly age has caught up with her and she developed heart problems and cataract...
but she still remain as active as ever and always greeted everyone wagging her tail....
then stroke struck....she looked so miserable with her neck twisted to her right and couldn't even walk straight.. she had to be fed using a syringe coz she cannot open her mouth.
she felt very depressed and would sit in a corner crying and whining every night but i spoke to her that i will accompany her and nurse her back to health. she duly listened and went to sleep.
when i took her down for walks people questioned me why's her condition like that and everytime i opened my mouth to speak my eyes become red and felt something stuck in my throat...
i have to hold her neck straight in place and encourage her to walk, which she eventually did. eventually she recovered but the vet asked us to be prepared.
everything went on fine for close to six months before her second stroke struck...but it was a minor one and she recovered quickly.
unknowingly this has somehow triggered another problem inside her: her kidney.....
kidney failure struck and she was brought to Mount Pleasant for treatment. Dr Boon of Mount Pleasant (my heartfelt thanks and gratitude for her efforts to help my dog) treated and monitored her condition everyday and helped me and my sis.
but she isnt responding to the treatment and we were told her recovery chance is around 20%....we were so desolete then and did not know wat to do.
i visited her in her cell and found her unable to stand properly and was wobbling. she couldn't eat or sleep or even stand to pee. just lying there vomitting yellowish matter and looking very sick.
i've never felt so heartbroken, not even when i saw someone pitiful on the street or being dumped by my ex. i treated her as a family member and pampered and even toilet-trained her at her age of 11 years. its no mean feat for a dog at that age...
i finally made up my mind to stop her suffering coz i cant bear to see her not eating or drinking for the past 5-6 days. we brought her back from the clinic and stayed with her for the last night.
the next morning my sis and i brought her back to take the lethal injection.
when i followed the doc to the treatment table to attached the apparatus to her arm, she just lie there looking depressed and utterly sick. i couldnt bear the pain anymore and broked down at her side, pressing my face against her's.
but the moment had to come and i carried her into my sister's arms where the doc injected the lethal dosage....
have you ever felt and seen a life ...a life which has gave you such value and memories....a life which you're so well acquainted of ....just die away a few inches from your face?
the pain and sadness is beyond description.....
seeing her body lying dead in your arms, the tears just flows and flows and you cant help but blame yourself why'd you came abt the decision initially.
i cant type on anymore coz tears has blurred up my vision..im sorry..
my sis and i have put her ashes at Mount Pleasant Animal Hospital for us to visit her every now and then.
any person wishing to visit her pls feel free to do so.
my pet's name is Darling who's situated near the centre of the shelf.
many thanks for reading this post and hope you'll enjoy every moment you have with your pet
PL,Originally posted by puppylove:actually storm.. i agree with Mazohyst, no offencebut as someone who loves dogs too, i feel that one who loves a particular animal should learn to love other animals too. if u claimin u only love dogs but hate cats.. it's just like someone saying that they like puppies, and not dogs cos they'll are not cute anymore when they grow up. learn to realise the inner self, not the appearance. cats aren impersonal, all animals have their affectionate side, it's whether u noe how to bring it out
actually, you can feed him our food, but not those that we get from the hawker center or what we cook for ourselves. Rather, I feed my dog fresh chicken/pork/liver boiled with vegetables, with no salt or anything else added. Mixed with rice and feed him. Then every 3 days or so will open up a can of dog food, and mix it with rice and give it to him.Originally posted by danger7755:as a dog owner myself, that's what i fear also when dogs come to old age. all health problems come, stroke lah, kidney disease lah, etc.
that was why i never feed my dog anything else but pellets and canned dog food (meat-based wif minimal fat, oil and salt). it tastes a bit bland, of coz, and my dog dont enjoy it. he keeps wanting to eat our food. but have to discipline ourselves not to give him any of ours.
keeping a pet healthy have to start from young loh...
me too!! mi prefer dogs although i nv keep dogs b4 or reli got v close in touch wif themOriginally posted by Storm:I still hate cats

can understand hw u feel. . .but all life will eventually go 1 day only the matter of time. . . as human we all always hope it can lasts. . .but at least it has brought u all those memories dat nutin can replc it nor money can buy it.Originally posted by jovial_joel:have you ever felt and seen a life ...a life which has gave you such value and memories....a life which you're so well acquainted of ....just die away a few inches from your face?
the pain and sadness is beyond description.....
seeing her body lying dead in your arms, the tears just flows and flows and you cant help but blame yourself why'd you came abt the decision initially.
i cant type on anymore coz tears has blurred up my vision..im sorry..
my sis and i have put her ashes at Mount Pleasant Animal Hospital for us to visit her every now and then.
any person wishing to visit her pls feel free to do so.
my pet's name is Darling who's situated near the centre of the shelf.
many thanks for reading this post and hope you'll enjoy every moment you have with your pet
although it might b too late realise her importance & to make up to her. . .but at least u hv learn sumtin from it. . .Originally posted by highflyer:my dog was a sad story. she was sick probably due to me passing flu virus to her & my father didnt bath her properly. He didnt blow using hair dryer & she was very ill the following week. the stupid doctor gave this old dog an injection tat i knew most dogs like her couldnt take it. but it was my parents who brought her to the vet & they knew nothing about dogs. when i came back that night & saw her breathless as she couldnt breath through her nose, inhaling through her mouth & her tongue was sticking down like no feelings. i didnt bother to see how uncomfortable she was as i knew she couldnt make it tat night. I tired concentrating on the goggle box & not think bout her but still, she came & greet me after my long day. despite of not eating for days & being so weak, she still came to me & smiled. she died on 10/7/2002 at around 1am. the few seconds b4 she died, i just walked back to my room. my mom was already crying & it was a scary scene. my father helping her put on her shirt, helping her close her jaws but she already had no feelings biting her own tongue. my mom was crying for the next few days & as i am typing this, i still think that it's my fault. this incident gave me a wake up call. to those out there..i didnt cherish this dog & treated her like sh|t, beating her when she didnt listen, feeding her with pellets that fishes eat at times..only until she died, i looked back & realise the times she was with us..and how quiet it was without her around. People cherish the things around you b4 they're gone..
http://sg.photos.yahoo.com/highflyer921
Well.. I don't hate cats in the sense that when I see one I want to kick it...Originally posted by puppylove:please don hat cats, one who loves one animal shall love all. cats are usually like that, they are more distant then dogs.. but definitely more loyal and affectionate if you can earn their trust. dogs although friendly to you, are also friendly to so many other pple. so that makes a difference lah.. it's okay to prefer them, just dun hate them. i prefer dogs to cats, but i dun hate them![]()
Me hav 2 twin terror!Originally posted by duotiga83:...i like dogs..esp puppy.....
frankly speaking...i cried...Originally posted by Storm:WHEN I WAS A PUPPY I entertained you with my antics and made you laugh. You called me your child and despite a number of chewed shoes and a couple of murdered throw pillows, I became your best friend. Whenever I was "bad," you'd shake your finger at me and ask "How could you?" - but then you'd relent and roll me over for a bellyrub.
My housetraining took a little longer than expected, because you were terribly busy, but we worked on that together. I remember those nights of nuzzling you in bed, listening to your confidences and secret dreams, and I believed that life could not be any more perfect. We went for long walks and runs in the park, car rides, stops for ice cream (I only got the cone because "ice cream is bad for dogs," you said), and I took long naps in the sun waiting for you to come home at the end of the day.
Gradually, you began spending more time at work and on your career, and more time searching for a human mate. I waited for you patiently, comforted you through heartbreaks and disappointments, never chided you about bad decisions, and romped with glee at your homecomings, and when you fell in love.
She, now your wife, is not a "dog person" - still I welcomed her into our home, tried to show her affection, and obeyed her. I was happy because you were happy. Then the human babies came along and I shared your excitement. I was fascinated by their pinkness, how they smelled, and I wanted to mother them, too. Only she and you worried that I might hurt them, and I spent most of my time banished to another room, or to a dog crate. Oh, how I wanted to love them, but I became a "prisoner of love."
As they began to grow, I became their friend. They clung to my fur and pulled themselves up on wobbly legs, poked fingers in my eyes, investigated my ears and gave me kisses on my nose. I loved everything about them, especially their touch - because your touch was now so infrequent - and I would have defended them with my life if need be.
I would sneak into their beds and listen to their worries and secret dreams. Together we waited for the sound of your car in the driveway. There had been a time, when others asked you if you had a dog, that you produced a photo of me from your wallet and told them stories about me. These past few years, you just answered "yes" and changed the subject. I had gone from being your dog to "just a dog," and you resented every expenditure on my behalf.
Now you have a new career opportunity in another city and you and they will be moving to an apartment that does not allow pets. You've made the right decision for your "family," but there was a time when I was your only family.
I was excited about the car ride until we arrived at the animal shelter. It smelled of dogs and cats, of fear, of hopelessness. You filled out the paperwork and said "I know you will find a good home for her." They shrugged and gave you a pained look. They understand the realities facing a middle-aged dog or cat, even one with "papers."
You had to pry your son's fingers loose from my collar as he screamed "No, Daddy! Please don't let them take my dog!" And I worried for him and what lessons you had just taught him about friendship and loyalty, about love and responsibility, and about respect for all life. You gave me a goodbye pat on the head, avoided my eyes, and politely refused to take my collar and leash with you. You had a deadline to meet and now I have one, too.
After you left, the two nice ladies said you probably knew about your upcoming move months ago and made no attempt to find me another good home. They shook their heads and asked "How could you?"
They are as attentive to us here in the shelter as their busy schedules allow. They feed us, of course, but I lost my appetite days ago. At first, whenever anyone passed my pen, I rushed to the front, hoping it was you - that you had changed your mind - that this was all a bad dream...or I hoped it would at least be someone who cared, anyone who might save me. When I realized I could not compete with the frolicking for attention of happy puppies, oblivious to their own fate, I retreated to a far corner and waited.
I heard her footsteps as she came for me at the end of the day and I padded along the aisle after her to a separate room. A blissfully quiet room. She placed me on the table, rubbed my ears and told me not to worry. My heart pounded in anticipation of what was to come, but there was also a sense of relief. The prisoner of love had run out of days. As is my nature, I was more concerned about her. The burden which she bears weighs heavily on her and I know that, the same way I knew your every mood.
She gently placed a tourniquet around my foreleg as a tear ran down her cheek. I licked her hand in the same way I used to comfort you so many years ago. She expertly slid the hypodermic needle into my vein. As I felt the sting and the cool liquid coursing through my body, I lay down sleepily, looked into her kind eyes and murmured "How could you?"
Perhaps because she understood my dogspeak, she said "I'm so sorry." She hugged me and hurriedly explained it was her job to make sure I went to a better place, where I wouldn't be ignored or abused or abandoned, or have to fend for myself - a place of love and light so very different from this earthly place. With my last bit of energy, I tried to convey to her with a thump of my tail that my "How could you?" was not meant for her. It was you, My Beloved Master, I was thinking of. I will think of you and wait for you forever.
May everyone in your life continue to show you so much loyalty.
------
Copyright © Jim Willis 2001, all rights reserved
http://www.crean.com/jimwillis
wah.....Originally posted by st007:Me hav 2 twin terror!
one shih tzu and one jack russell.
both male
mayb is dislike not hate but think got fear of cats too. . .kana bite & scratch by cat b4 when i was juz a young gerOriginally posted by puppylove:please don hat cats, one who loves one animal shall love all. cats are usually like that, they are more distant then dogs.. but definitely more loyal and affectionate if you can earn their trust. dogs although friendly to you, are also friendly to so many other pple. so that makes a difference lah.. it's okay to prefer them, just dun hate them. i prefer dogs to cats, but i dun hate them![]()