foreign girls getting betterOriginally posted by FireIce:are sg girls getting better
or the sg guys getting lousier?
Originally posted by mistyblue:compelling argument that brings up some interesting points of both sides of the story...
However, this is just my opinion. I do see the good about men and such but for argument sake, I am bringing out the negative. Anyways, in truth, I don't think local women are that great. I think the women here gotta think that if they are guys, would they ever want the kind of girl she is... Perhaps I just find that the some X and most Y generation and the MTV age people unsocial and ill bred.
Originally posted by CX:Flawed argument. The author is basing a conclusion on an assumption that because women are more successful, Singapore men are looking abroad for wives instead.
Singapore girls - a challenge to love
In short, the new female is able, confident and more than holding up half the heavens, but not getting equal success in their relationship with men.
This is running smack into a traditional male value of wanting to be seen wearing the pants, causing a growing “incompatibility”.
Better education has also led to the woman being perceived as too ambitious, self-centred and materialistic, not qualities that promote romance.
As a consequence, more men are choosing their brides from abroad, especially from China, Vietnam and most of all Malaysia, where historical links remain strong.
??? and it is intellectually more rigourous to base an argument on one person's opinion posted on a blog???Originally posted by pkchukiss:Flawed argument. The author is basing a conclusion on an assumption that because women are more successful, Singapore men are looking abroad for wives instead.
If you look at a few blogs: [> XiaXue <] being one of them, you will understand that females are getting more demanding and choosey of their ideal partner.
yeah my bro's foreign bride is trying to get my parent's old folks funds for herself and she is using divorce and going through the laywer to fight custody for their kid who she hated to her very core.Originally posted by macjoe:Foreign brides may be more deadly than local brides.
One relative married a vietnamese but she flew back home
in less than 4 weeks. Who knows she may be matchmaked again with another guy under a different name. Hell - the agent and dowry money
is damn good.
Another relative's brother married a taiwanese but she flew back home
in less than 3 years with their child and he had to live in taiwan indefinitely
for the child's sake. Kinda broke his aged mother's heart in singapore.
So people....not every marriages with foreign brides end up well for local guys as portrayed by the newspaper. Life might not be blissful anymore after the honeymoon period.
Maybe its just that they want the chio ones only... then turns out some of the chio ones didn't develop their character and they get burnt. Then they come around here to make comments ah.. I met a lot of plainer ladies and they are nice people but they had and seem doomed to dateless-ness. I suppose the ta poh eye tah stamp.Originally posted by gerrykoh:Singaporean guys need to learn how to court girls.
A lot of them are too shy to approach girls & date them, fearing rejection.
They lack interpersonal/communication skills.
That's why they always say the 'good ones' get taken very fast.
I think this is going to be a problem.Originally posted by vito_corleone:i think we s'porean guys should stop whining and buck up...its not because the women are too capable...most guys are too incompetent
Both, that's why the gap keeps growing.Originally posted by FireIce:are sg girls getting better
or the sg guys getting lousier?
Agreed. If men want to complain that women are getting more materialistic, they should know the rate at which they are getting mroe superficial exceeds everything else.Originally posted by mistyblue:Maybe its just that they want the chio ones only... then turns out some of the chio ones didn't develop their character and they get burnt. Then they come around here to make comments ah.. I met a lot of plainer ladies and they are nice people but they had and seem doomed to dateless-ness. I suppose the ta poh eye tah stamp.
never mind can buy you own flat liao.Originally posted by FireIce:im the the spoilt, bratty, materialistic woman u mentioned.
36yrs old and left on the shelf.
humpf!
me want! no bul!sh!tOriginally posted by FireIce:im the the spoilt, bratty, materialistic woman u mentioned.
36yrs old and left on the shelf.
humpf!
hahaha... there is merit to that argumentOriginally posted by foxwalk:Agreed. If men want to complain that women are getting more materialistic, they should know the rate at which they are getting mroe superficial exceeds everything else.
personal observation : your attitude made you quite impossible to love tooOriginally posted by foxwalk:Both, that's why the gap keeps growing.
SG girls a challenge to love? Sg guys to me impossible to love.
To you it's impossible. But do I care? Not one sh!t bit. I dun care for chauvinist men with a "toad in the well" kind of outlook on life.Originally posted by oldbreadstinks:personal observation : your attitude made you quite impossible to love too
but as they always say, beauty is in the eye of the beholder