yeah i agree wholeheartedly with oxford mushroom(are they tasty?) The women could be of great assistance in the medical side if they are given the time to train. Their NS term need not be the full 2yrs the guys need to serve. I believe a shorter term, say 1 year, will b sufficient for first aid, paramedic training, etc and some internship at hospitals and other medical institutesOriginally posted by oxford mushroom:Singapore girls should serve mandatory national service. It does not have to be in the army...make them serve in the hospitals and the civil defence, so we dun have to rely on foreign nurses. In times of emergency or war, we will have a supply of first aiders and nurses. Of course, we leave the option open for some to join the military as well.
and who will give birth? you ah?Originally posted by Hells:Y not let women serve ns n do minute things, for eg, cleaning rifles for ns man after live firing exercises, cleaning our uniforms n boots, do the dishes... etc. saves money for saf plus the new generation ladies can learn how to be better housewives.<--------- to tt A'star scholar i hope u will understand the S$%^ tt nsman endure..
nurses need to undergo trainings too...Originally posted by oxford mushroom:Singapore girls should serve mandatory national service. It does not have to be in the army...make them serve in the hospitals and the civil defence, so we dun have to rely on foreign nurses. In times of emergency or war, we will have a supply of first aiders and nurses. Of course, we leave the option open for some to join the military as well.
Your argument does not hold water..the same considerations apply to men.Originally posted by hyuuga neji:nurses need to undergo trainings too...
professional training i think last a few years...
do you feel safe if your family is being looked after by some half interested girl who is forced to serve as a nurse for 1 year??? or who has only 3 months of half hearted training, who forgets or worse mixes up medcine...
i dun think so rite...
and also... giving first aid requires constant practise...
its not wat you see on tv... anyhow push the chest or anyhow blow into the mouth... you need to undergo courses and pass tests to be a certified life saver ok... plus even after passing the tests, if you dun constantly practise... you'll forget one...
many steps involved in CPR...
its not about touching chest and blowing mouth...
"Guess who is giving first aid to soldiers with legs blown off in war? The medic in your reservist unit may well be an accountant or bus driver ordinarily...hence the need for yearly reservist training.new either..it has worked successfully in Israel for many years."
Hospital staff nurses will remain, NS gals will work as assistant nurses. The training is not that long...our medics have much shorter training cos' they have to handle the physical and military components as well. It will not be
i fully agree.Originally posted by oxford mushroom:Singapore girls should serve mandatory national service. It does not have to be in the army...make them serve in the hospitals and the civil defence, so we dun have to rely on foreign nurses. In times of emergency or war, we will have a supply of first aiders and nurses. Of course, we leave the option open for some to join the military as well.
Clean your own rifle lah later out field firing... gas chamber dirty and you dunno how to clean...need Ms Chng to be next to you... In the event of a real war... you think she will be there ?Originally posted by Hells:Y not let women serve ns n do minute things, for eg, cleaning rifles for ns man after live firing exercises, cleaning our uniforms n boots, do the dishes... etc. saves money for saf plus the new generation ladies can learn how to be better housewives.<--------- to tt A'star scholar i hope u will understand the S$%^ tt nsman endure..
and who impregnate the gers ??? Ang Moh ahh ???Originally posted by HENG@:and who will give birth? you ah?
the birth rate of singapore is droppingOriginally posted by fudgester:Nah.... if we talk about why women should do NS, they'll come up with excuses like, 'We give birth to babies what... that is our National Service.' and continue to complain that we guys are whiners who can't even afford to give up two years of our lives to make sure that Singapore is a safer place for everyone to live in.
Or perhaps they'll think,'Why not? It's just like OBS anyway. How tough can it be? It'll be fun!'
That's the current mentality of most girls as per regards to NS, anyway.
next he will suggest that a woman be attached to a soldier during war.Originally posted by greengoblin:Clean your own rifle lah later out field firing... gas chamber dirty and you dunno how to clean...need Ms Chng to be next to you... In the event of a real war... you think she will be there ?
wan die quickly oso dun have to go dat far bah..?Originally posted by dragg:next he will suggest that a woman be attached to a soldier during war.
you must be one of the wimps she is toking abtOriginally posted by Hells:Y not let women serve ns n do minute things, for eg, cleaning rifles for ns man after live firing exercises, cleaning our uniforms n boots, do the dishes... etc. saves money for saf plus the new generation ladies can learn how to be better housewives.<--------- to tt A'star scholar i hope u will understand the S$%^ tt nsman endure..
Haha... wat a creative idea... Still can cook for us do all the area cleaning for us rite?Originally posted by Hells:Y not let women serve ns n do minute things, for eg, cleaning rifles for ns man after live firing exercises, cleaning our uniforms n boots, do the dishes... etc. saves money for saf plus the new generation ladies can learn how to be better housewives.<--------- to tt A'star scholar i hope u will understand the S$%^ tt nsman endure..
y dont u bring yr mum along to serve ns .... mummy boyOriginally posted by Hells:Y not let women serve ns n do minute things, for eg, cleaning rifles for ns man after live firing exercises, cleaning our uniforms n boots, do the dishes... etc. saves money for saf plus the new generation ladies can learn how to be better housewives.<--------- to tt A'star scholar i hope u will understand the S$%^ tt nsman endure..
let them haf do reservist also lar =DD[/u]Originally posted by hyuuga neji:nurses need to undergo trainings too...
do you feel safe if your family is being looked after by some half interested girl who is forced to serve as a nurse for 1 year??? or who has only 3 months of half hearted training, who forgets or worse mixes up medcine...
i dun think so rite...
its not wat you see on tv... anyhow push the chest or anyhow blow into the mouth... you need to undergo courses and pass tests to be a certified life saver ok... plus even after passing the tests, if you dun constantly practise... you'll forget one...
let them haf do reservist also lar =DDOriginally posted by hyuuga neji:nurses need to undergo trainings too...
i dun think so rite...
Well if our medics can do it... I am sure they can as well...Originally posted by hyuuga neji:nurses need to undergo trainings too...
i dun think so rite...
I would agree too that it might be a good idea to make NS mandatory for women for at least a year, especially with the declining birth rates. Women could go through a lighter version of BMT and perhaps be provided with the option of either going into first aid/civil defence or to continue with military training (with the option for them to extend their NS for the full term, like the men). Reservist training should also apply for women but perhaps cease when they become mothers.Originally posted by nympho:The women could be of great assistance in the medical side if they are given the time to train. Their NS term need not be the full 2yrs the guys need to serve. I believe a shorter term, say 1 year, will b sufficient for first aid, paramedic training, etc and some internship at hospitals and other medical institutes