Originally posted by Devil1976:Do you think our president can do much?
Originally posted by Xephone_xenon:Ya like the progress packages and the HDB upgradings (using public funds which Singapore citizens in opposition wards also contribute to)... I agree with you wholeheartedly on this sentence.
Ya most voters are stupid.
They can only see what is beneficial to them in the short term run.
U say most voters are stupid.Assume what u say is true.Why the voters are stupid after more than 40 years of PAP govt?Originally posted by Xephone_xenon:Ya most voters are stupid.
They can only see what is beneficial to them in the short term run.
So lets say opposition give the voters alot of benefits like low GST increase in CPF.
The voters see liao they think the opposition is better to them
Then they all vote for opposition.
Then what about their ability to govern the country? I can tell you some of the voters dont consider this.
Like those uncle auntie. Dont know about about this kind of thing one.
Then later opposition win liao. They opposition cant govern the country well then later there will be another batch of ppl KBKP about this again.
The voters at times are like little children. They dunnoe what is good for them.
I can give you examples. Why sg goverment make CPF?
Because obviously that they are stupid ppl that will waste all their money at young. And not save for it when they are old.
So it depend on the parents(goverment) to decide.
This mayb unfair. But so what?
As long as sg continue to strive.
And ya if goverment now declare dun wan election.
Then there will also be ppl KPKB.
You think its worth for PAP or rather singapore to take this kind of risk.
Just for the sake of "fair" election.
If the PAP is lousy. Singapore wont be what it is today.
And FI already say liao in sg "fair election" is oxymoron.
Quarrel for what? For the sake of "fair election" or future of singapore?
Sorry for bad english, i am still young.
T.T Durai did wonders for NKF too. Sued some people along the way to prove his point. I am not saying nobody can raise the same kind of money that Durai did, but hey he did it best! He also paid himself alot of cash but hey he did his job didn't he? So what did he do wrong? Nothing, except to open the can of worms himself.Originally posted by Xephone_xenon:Next time dont ask question that i have answered in my post can?
Oh ya and you haven answer my question.
Is this for the sake of having a "fair election" or you strongly feel that opposition is able to do better then PAP? And you are at least 75% SURE that opposition can do better. If you are smart i dont think you will give me statistic like this.
If cant give me 75% you are telling me you are choosing option1. Which is retarded. The world is full of hypocrisy. You know i know everyone know. Nth is fair. Unless you 3year old kid.
Again i am not saying opposition is totally unable to govern the country. What i am trying to say is. With lack of experience, there is a high chance that they wont be able to do it as well as PAP. We can see many of the changes PAP made in the sg systems are from past experience.
At the very beginning a voting system is already flawed. What you wan?
PRP: All the question you ask obviously want me to say out all the dark side of the goverment. lol
PS: Sorry i cant feed you with new answers. Cuz the answer is somehow fixed. At least to my standard of knowledge. Sorry for bad english again.
Because in the end, whoever is more likely to bring economic success will get to rule...money is everything..Originally posted by Tiggerific:The WP is coming up with potentially very good candidates. Hopefully the next GE will go down right to the wire...
Just a thought: For all you know, maybe most voters, for all their PAP-Dissing, still end up voting for the PAP. Unthinkable? Surely not.
You must realize that quite a number of people are only all-talk, no action. They dare to criticize PAP scathingly from behind a computer screen, or within the comforts of a private conversation with their freinds, but when nobody's looking at the polling booth, they still end up voting for the PAP.
Singapore is filled with such NATO [no action, talk only] people.
Haha... I think perhaps we are merely being misunderstood. Everyone has issues, you know.Originally posted by charlize:What's up with all these new nicks which registered in the past month or so writing in to support the people at the top?
What's up?
Hehe perhaps some MIW happen to chance upon SGforums?Originally posted by charlize:What's up with all these new nicks which registered in the past month or so writing in to support the people at the top?
What's up?
Originally posted by Xephone_xenon:Who dares to say the govt wants unfair election?You!
Answer :See Tiggerific post part of the reason. And why cant voters be stupid after 40years of PAP? What is ur point? 99% of voters know nothing about governing the country, things like the reason GST and SOL of sgreans and stuff. So they are stupid in a way whereby they are no one to judge who to be and who not to be the goverment. Simply because they know almost nth. The reason the goverment give them a reason to vote is because they are singapore citizens. The goverment in trying to give everyone a sense of belonging. And we are a democratic country. And if they say no voting suddenly ppl will surly KBKP. Singapore image will also kana ruin. I said this in my post b4.
Answer : PAP do this to play safe. Its obvious that the PAP do not trust opposition in governing the country. So thus .. they made the system a way that winning is a 95%. And i dont think you can trust a brand new goverment that does not have much governing experience. PAP do not have the change the system at all. Its already a really good system to benefit themself. And ya they can be unfair to opposition at all cost. They dont have to even care much. Care for what? Because it wrong being unfair? They got to be a better host and play fair? They got to show to sg that they are the kind of goverment that will win even if its a fair election? No they dont have to. All they have to is to win at all cost and continue to govern sg. Who can sue PAP pants off and over turn them. In sg .. literally no one can.
Answer :No i did not say PAP wont win if the election is fair. But there is a chance that they may lose more areas. And what the PAP is trying to do is minimize this. There are stupid ppl around. Election is by voting so there are flaws in it. A more [b]popular goverment does not make it a better goverment. So if ppl vote for some kind of dunnoe how to govern sg goverment but damm good at giving ppl unrealistic benefits? We just sit back and see sg sink? Or do you wana steady economic like what we have now? This one i also say b4 in my last post.
Next time dont ask question that i have answered in my post can?
Oh ya and you haven answer my question.
Is this for the sake of having a "fair election" or you strongly feel that opposition is able to do better then PAP? And you are at least 75% SURE that opposition can do better. If you are smart i dont think you will give me statistic like this.
If cant give me 75% you are telling me you are choosing option1. Which is retarded. The world is full of hypocrisy. You know i know everyone know. Nth is fair. Unless you 3year old kid.
Again i am not saying opposition is totally unable to govern the country. What i am trying to say is. With lack of experience, there is a high chance that they wont be able to do it as well as PAP. We can see many of the changes PAP made in the sg systems are from past experience.
At the very beginning a voting system is already flawed. What you wan?
PRP: All the question you ask obviously want me to say out all the dark side of the goverment. lol
PS: Sorry i cant feed you with new answers. Cuz the answer is somehow fixed. At least to my standard of knowledge. Sorry for bad english again.
People are stupid.Originally posted by PRP:Who dares to say the govt wants unfair election?You!
The ppl are not stupid.Pls give them enuf info to make a decision.Chiam ST didn't win in his first election but at his third try.So he had to earn his experience and the ppl get to know him before he was elected.So how can the voters judge in 9 days of campaining?I say PAP shouldn't be so kiasu and disregard a proper & fair election procedure.
Originally posted by Xephone_xenon:People are stupid.
PAP always wins.So it is very fun for its leadersOriginally posted by Sleepless in Bangkok:Just wonder why bother to have an election here?
so long as we don't end up like indonesia in the early post-suharto years, then we're all fine. if not... riots and demonstrations every week, for no apparent rhyme or reason.. life will come to a standstill. cos nobody will bother to go to work or skool. everyone will basically just be either on the streets protesting or rioting.Originally posted by blue_crimson_89:dun worry.. it'll be soon.. when mm lee passes away, faith for the PAP would be lost (esp from the elder citizens of singapore) besides, check out the rest of the topics in this forum and you'll realise the stubborn and rebellious youth of sg dislike the PAP cos they always win.. so, you just might not see a stable govt soon =) perhaps 10 years or so? hopefully ppl see the things that benefit singapore real soon.. we HAVE to move on!!
Originally posted by blue_crimson_89:Truth.
dun worry.. it'll be soon.. when mm lee passes away, faith for the PAP would be lost (esp from the elder citizens of singapore) besides, [b]check out the rest of the topics in this forum and you'll realise the stubborn and rebellious youth of sg dislike the PAP cos they always win.. so, you just might not see a stable govt soon =) perhaps 10 years or so? hopefully ppl see the things that benefit singapore real soon.. we HAVE to move on!![/b]
Originally posted by blue_crimson_89:Not true. It's precisely because of Lee and his son that I'm losing faith in the government. You should perhaps refrain from reading those history textbooks published by the Ministry of "Education" and reading or watching news from the Singapore media, whcih is ranked 146th in the world by Reporters Without Borders, with only communist states, despotic regimes and 3rd World nations just hovering above and right below Singapore's ranking.
k lemme get this straight.. [b]when mm lee dies, sgreans (esp the elders) would lose faith in the PAP.. mm lee is the right man to lead our nation, yes.. he went thru the japanese occupation, brought our country back on it's feet with most effort from him and even made singapore such a developed country as we are today in less than half a century.. truly remarkable yes? without mm lee, PAP would become so much weaker a political party.. how much of pm lee do we have faith in? how competent is he? pm lee's abilities to lead our nation would be the greatest factor towards singapore's future in years to come, at least till 2030 or so.. singapore has been a difficult country to run, no doubt.. mm lee may look as if he's caught on with nearly 50 years of political regime, but it is to our fortune he's still in PAP.. perhaps he realises the inability of PAP to carry on the advancement of singapore in sync with technological improvements and stiff competition in SEA.. PAP itself is too young a political party, lacking members that are even near the brilliance of mm lee.. he will be the greatest loss of singapore in years to come.. sgreans have to step up and be hopeful of the future of which he has meticulously planned for singapore.. i'm quite certain this brilliant man is the best man singapore can follow upon to being one of the top nations in the world, despite our geographical limitations etc etc[/b]