Originally posted by Sircheezeball:the most effective way to counter corruption is to have a credible check and balance in the system.
..... I mean even some aspects of our Constitution are not been followed. Part 2 14) of the Constitution states that all citizens have the right to assemble peaceably and without arms. However, if you gather with too many people, you risk facing illegal gathering charges. wow....
Assuming there is such a constitution,
why is it that peaceful assembly without arms is not allowed?
Well, given that no poreans demand for this...what can be said?
sigh....
we live in democracy.
About this Topic.
I like to know, is the PORE a democracy? Is it intended to be a true democracy?
I assume so.
If so, IF the electn is not fair, like GRRC system of boundarification, why the democratic population do not do anything about it?
Given the democratic population no raised issue with this, like petition or something, I take it that the democratic population have spoken.
Thus, status quo. which is good good lah. u believe me ar? which means, u do not beleive me ar?
the election isnt fair man
look at those private houseing area like where i am staying in (i am not sure about the other private homes area)
bartley road
i think all the houses in that area all walk over one
no one gets to vote in that area
sad right?
recentlee, there was news reporting on tele about minstors after minstors. In the same news, several in a row were broadcast to the people. It gave me the impression that they are doing many good things for the peepers.
I wonder , its is possiber to bring forward an elecrtion even if the next one is supposedly to be in a few years time?
If won, is it necessarily another 5 years before the next one?
Can it be 7 year period of wait?
logically , hypothetically questioning onlys.
i no no one.
yibah yibah untooneh untooonehneh!
Originally posted by maxmax12:the election isnt fair man
look at those private houseing area like where i am staying in (i am not sure about the other private homes area)
bartley road
i think all the houses in that area all walk over one
no one gets to vote in that area
sad right?
I not saying its fair or its not fair. I was asking onlys lor. like IF this and that is unfair THEN....so , I was hypotheticalling lor. hee heeee . I am sure you understand.
But i have noted your point. thanks.
The only referendum , non-GE, I know that happened in the pore is on 1st Sep 1962 when our nation voted to join Malaysia.
Guys, when is the next General Election? ![]()
im a big ccb
Originally posted by Evangel:Guys, when is the next General Election?
How to ensure that no eligible voter is left behind? as in, how to ensure eligible voters get the chance to cast their vote?
The results , when all of them actually really vote, might be astonishing! 8-0
There is no ELECTION FOR BUKIT BATOK
Why do they always skip my area... WHY! *pouts*
I want fair election that all. Disbands all GRC, 0ne by one. I can vote for other race candidates if he or she is willingly to hear ours problem, if I am Malay I willingly to vote Chinese candidates if he or she going to help the people once he or she elected. Small election zone is easy to control & the MP can communicate easy to ground.
Hi everyone, I am really new here and got interested in sg issues because of the big stir regarding the gst hike erp and compulsory annuity thing. Am so regretting that I had not known much earlier or was even interested throughout my schooling days. I really hope this thread will go on and make known to people (of whom like I used to be) the significance of voting. I'm living in the hong kah grc which has been uncontested and always walk over.. i am yearning for a chance (now that i'm of legal age) to vote because I know it counts, at least send a signal no matter how weak to the gahmen where is the support going..
Actually I read the whole of the 16 pages of the replies to the forum topic, although some irrelevant. I must say, all humans tend to pick the unconventional or issues that sounds more sensational to listen / believe (i.e. how bad the gahmen is doing.. how unfair things are..)
and often people on the other side of the fence will discredit it as opinions made by people who could not have known better because they aren't qualified academically or they could be mixed with personal bias and emotions ...
but the former may turn out to be more true than anything we've seen on the news. Sorry if i'm confusing you. I can't put it in any other way.
I feel everyone should take a good look around them and really see whats going on, you do not need another person to tell you what to believe, especially if you are amongst the educated population of singapore or if you think you are. Everyone is entitled to their own view. and being a product of the singapore education system, i do believe that many singaporeans have the mental capacity to vote for the best candidate. I do not think its fair to say that Singaporeans are stupid. Also, i think many aged just feel convenient/ safe to vote for the same party. its not really that they are stupid, although there will be black sheeps. Maybe the changes in the gahmen would not really matter to them at their age (except for the goodie bag). The people who will take the brunt will be the younger singaporeans who will be spending the next 30-40 years of their lifetime in sg. not referring to those who are leaving.. or planning to..
Alternative parties have not been given much opportunity imo to show or prove what they can do. You never try before how you know? Did gahmen know for sure when they just started. You never learnt to walk how would you know how it feels like? (Pardon me for my poor analogy). I'm sure they can improve over time..
It will be exciting to see how much support will be given to each party if there weren't any grcs. but that remains too good to be true..
While abolishing grc is impossible, its also up to the alternative parties to gain confidence from the people. I just looked at the poll results of 1997, 2001 and 2006, the alternative parties does look like they are closing in on the PAP now.. i really hope to see more areas being contested and stronger competition on 2011 elections!
i have one last point.. singaporeans must not be forgetful.. like this thread here.. i'm really in fear that from the last election to the next people will forget what happened in between and all the world class embarrassments that singaporeans have to go through.. especially once they get the nice package from the gahmen.. =(
Dear fellow bloggers and forum participants.
Let's all unite and creat a World First! Let's set a date and time and do a legal Protest at the Speaker's Corner... and turn up in force to protest against the rise in Electricity Prices, ERP gantries, etc.... Learn from the Malaysians, used Internet and SMS to activate all your friends, relatives, neighbours etc, and mobilise whoever you can ... If we can gather close to 1000 people to turn up at the Speaker's Corner to protest, we have made History in Singapore, and if the turn out is 10,000 strong, LHL and his people will all be tremblling in fear! Let's not just be another NATO (No Action Talk Only), but do something together!
Let's fixed a date and time! Any folks second this idea?
Just do it! (Courtesy of Nike).
A white t-shirt ah pek jogger told a white sneaker kar kiah, "we will never lose because of the ZRZ ....". The audacity sums it all up.
what is patriotism ?
what is selfpreserved kimchi?
what is serving the ppl?
what is pragmatism extremism?