no, in fact i hardly notice he died. like a ghost faded away into the background.Originally posted by anhydrouscoppersulphate:he din get state funeral right![]()
I wouldn't be able to say that. Even in my last year as president, I was still not being informed about some ministerial procedures. For example, in April last year, the government said it would allow the sale of the Post Office Savings Bank POSB to DBS Bank. In the past, when there was no elected president, they could just proceed with this kind of thing. But when there is an elected president you cannot, because the POSB is a statutory board whose reserves are to be protected by the president. You cannot just announce this without informing him. But I came to know of it from the newspaper. That is not quite right. Not only that, but they were even going to submit a bill to parliament for this sale and to dissolve the POSB without first informing me.
Well we have elected this government for their next, we have to work with the gov to make thing work... i mean in their favour....Originally posted by 4getmenot:Its no use comparing S'pore GST rate with other country rates because of a different government, taxation, living standard, welfare system..
Its obviously naive of LHL to mention other countrys' GST rate with singapore making S'pore's GST rate as somewhat low. Hes obviously thinking S'poreans do not travel nor there aren;t much oversea singaporeans to make comparison of the GST system of the country that they are living in and the one that is implemented in S;pore.
If the gahmen is really SINCERE about closing the gap between the low income and high income, then they should IMPLEMENT the increase only on the LUXURY GOODS since he mentioned that the wealthier are the ones who will be able to afford the increase in still spend more thus contributing more to the GST rather than the lower income who will have to struggle even more due to the INCREASE IN THE PRICE OF DAILY NECESSARY goods.
It doesn;t take a rocket scientist to figure this out, why can;t the gahmen figure this out instead of saying they need to collect 2% more on GST to help the lower income, 2% increase in the GST is equals to Billions, will they be a transparency to show how much has being given out to the poor?
The ST had a reader who wrote in to say that to maintain the 'FIRST CLASS' service and infrasture in S'pore, it seem right to increase the GST, like Australia to 10% ANN IT MIGHT EVEN BE SUCCESSFUL??!! Australia has high GST due to welfarism so does like countries in Japan and Korea, States with pension funds..etc
Here in S'pore.. 'welfarism' means donating your own money to help your needy neighbour instead of asking the government for a hand. Remember? S'pore is not a welfare country..
Not kill themself lah, broken family is enough as u see so many divorce case.Originally posted by sunnytv:what reason is that to increase GST to help the poor. More like adding burden. More poor people will kill themselves.
$7/- can feed a poor family already.Originally posted by LinYu:what 2% increase? It an increase of 40% in additional expenses you have to pay. eg.
if you spend $100 and you pay $5 for GST but with GST increase, you pay $7 instead
then 7-5 div 5 = 40%![]()
first day u know garment arh?Originally posted by LinYu:actually hor if they say increase GST i also not so tulan. But talking with a straight face that the GST increase to help the poor... can't he come up with a better story?![]()
They can get away with it because there are Singaporeans who are actually stoopid enough to accept it.Originally posted by LinYu:actually hor if they say increase GST i also not so tulan. But talking with a straight face that the GST increase to help the poor... can't he come up with a better story?![]()
"This is inevitable over the next 5 to 10 years. Infrastructure investments will cost money - R&D is to cost $5b over the next 5 years; as medical technology improves, people age and more will go to hospitals to get more treatment, so spending is bound to go up. As we tilt the playing field across the board, the lower income will be getting another boost, not just once in a while. Therefore its better to start building resources now so that when we spend more, we have the means to do so," said Mr Lee.Originally posted by NUS_Superst@r:PM like never say why must increase to 7%?![]()
Originally posted by Ito_^:cham liao..your family now kena black mark by the evil government
mi proud to say mi whole family neber vote pap!
so [b]i can complain![/b]
Originally posted by gorby107:The government must well ask the rich one to contribute and distribute to the poor than raising the GST which does not greatly benefit anyone out there.
This mean that we need to work extra hard for the money in order to purchase a product.
Why let the middle-class and poor to suffer?
Another thing to bring up is our education policySomething went very wrong with it. If this continue on, our future will be in threat.