It will change - to increase the GST again, so as to cover up the losses when citizens don't spend.Originally posted by LazerLordz:Precisely. This GST raise is grounded in the assumption that consumption will remain constant or increase.
Let's all tighten our belts and let this have an adverse effect, then and only then, policy might change.
den up n up n upOriginally posted by ndmmxiaomayi:It will change - to increase the GST again, so as to cover up the losses when citizens don't spend.
Somehow, Singapore's mentality is like NS, I feel. One for all, all for one.Originally posted by shinta:den he will just up the GST again
actually.. i was thinkin if he lower the GST maybe ppl will wanna spend more?
cos its like.. wah everything become cheaper now!![]()
gg by the kiasu mentality.. they might think faster buy now wait they increase the thing again![]()
Yes!!Originally posted by shinta:den up n up n up
den u will see ppl go protest...
cos GST is now 22% same as finland... but hor... we're not a welfare state..
and our salary range is still the same...
i wonder how much i can earn in china... after converting my salary to SGD....Originally posted by ndmmxiaomayi:Somehow, Singapore's mentality is like NS, I feel. One for all, all for one.
Bad things all will get, good things reserved for that one only.
So when GST increases, it strikes everybody. If GST decreases, it strikes everybody as well, but our pay will go down as well, since there is no reason for them not to say things are expensive.![]()
Unlikely that GST will be 22% like Finland, because we aren't a welfare state.Originally posted by shinta:den up n up n up
I reckon one of the reasons for the gst increase is partially due to singapore's ageing population. I forgot where it was mentioned that our gst shouldn't go beyond 15%. But wait a min, singapore isn't a welfare state.Originally posted by shinta:den up n up n up
den when my kids are 14 years old.. i'd kick them out of the house.. and ask them to find a part time job to support themselves thru sec 3 n after..Originally posted by Hogzilla:Yes!!
People, start to scrimp and save now!!!
Not much lor.Originally posted by shinta:i wonder how much i can earn in china... after converting my salary to SGD....
seriously.. dunno why they wanna do this lor.. they should encourage ppl to spend more... not tighten our belts...Originally posted by ditzy:I reckon one of the reasons for the gst increase is partially due to singapore's ageing population. I forgot where it was mentioned that our gst shouldn't go beyond 15%. But wait a min, singapore isn't a welfare state.![]()
Some cock and bull story. The same excuses are used again when GST increased back in 2003.Originally posted by ditzy:I reckon one of the reasons for the gst increase is partially due to singapore's ageing population. I forgot where it was mentioned that our gst shouldn't go beyond 15%. But wait a min, singapore isn't a welfare state.![]()
quite a lot leh!Originally posted by Hogzilla:Not much lor.
My sister's friend (he had a NTU degree) worked in China. He had a subordinate (correct sp?) who holds a China Uni degree. Then the subordinate earn like only S$800. Even my sister's friend also earn like about S$2500-S$3000.
The thing is, they never learn. Back to a square one? Simple does it. Increase anything that can be increased and give out help again. The process repeats.Originally posted by ditzy:But the gst hike will put the brunt on the lower income groups. They are end consumers just like the other groups. Sure its great the govt will be contributing what is made from the hike to them. But if the lower income groups are maintaining just fine at the current level, the hike spoils this balance and the govt throws in the welfare to balance it again, won't they be back at square one?![]()
Haha...Scandinavians do not earn that much.Originally posted by Hogzilla:So, OM, how much this chap earns in his/her country and how much he/she earns as a FT in Singapore?
It's impossible to make a comparison in standard of living with tax alone.
This thing will not change. China's standard of english.Originally posted by shinta:quite a lot leh!
hmm last time my ex-bf said.. if i go over to china.. i can find positions easily cos i'm bilingual...
can get up to 4k SGD or USD depending on my position..![]()
somemore stuff in china is so much cheaper
but then that was a very long time ago.. maybe all change liao
hmmOriginally posted by Hogzilla:This thing will not change. China's standard of english.
Their so-called good sentence for their gao1 zhong1 (I believe it's Singapore's JC standard) are full of grammatical errors. Then they even dare to say it's a good sentence to use in essays. I leave a comment, saying that, "If a teacher give an above B- grade for this type of essay, please beg the school to fire him/her."
I know I very CB lah, but then the standard really cannot make it lor.....
LOL... I don't think many people income combined even reach $3520 per month.Originally posted by oxford mushroom:Haha...Scandinavians do not earn that much.
The average income in 2004 in Finland was €21 139 annually or about S$3520 a month (http://www.stat.fi/tup/suoluk/suoluk_tulot_en.html). But when you factor in the income tax and social insurance that takes away 40% of that, they are worse off than Singaporeans. On top of that, costs of living is lower in Singapore.
If you have lived and worked in Finland or Sweden, you will understand why the writer to the Straits Times forum has decided to move to Singapore. If you are unemployed, sure...it's great in Finland. But not for hardworking entrepreneurs and professionals with skills that are needed globally.
Cost of living lower than Singapore??? Must be joking...Originally posted by ndmmxiaomayi:LOL... I don't think many people income combined even reach $3520 per month.
Taking away 40% of tax, they have $2112 left. Considering that their cost of living is lower than Singapore, I don't think they will have problems surviving there. (Not unless you meant high, a very bad typo error).
They write very well, but their spoken language is very bad.Originally posted by shinta:hmm
u comparing with avg singaporeans? or who?
for me i need to liase with some ppl in the china office.. among those who know english.. their english is better than mine.
at least written is..... cos i never got the chance to talk to them before =X
Wah... oxford, bad joke.Originally posted by oxford mushroom:Cost of living lower than Singapore??? Must be joking...![]()