dengue is not a simple issue.Originally posted by Medicated Oil:1. Million Dollar Poodles paid more than any other leaders, but cannot solve simple issue like dengue fever.
2. Half a million spent to rename "Marina Bay" "Marina Bay" and to retain and remove a 80 years old tree.
Same thing they did to spend hundreds of thousands of dollars to name budget terminal, budget terminal.Originally posted by rathcycle:dengue is not a simple issue.
but with the salary those poodle draw.. they should know how to deal with it
and the 2nd point..
see alot ppl mention
but i dun understand isn't marina bay, marina bay lor...
same wad ??
Solving dengue needs citizen cooperation.Originally posted by Medicated Oil:1. Million Dollar Poodles paid more than any other leaders, but cannot solve simple issue like dengue fever.
No need to kpkb.Originally posted by Medicated Oil:2. Half a million spent to rename "Marina Bay" "Marina Bay" and to retain and remove a 80 years old tree.
The solution is to develop the vaccine that can handle ALL the four variants. Look at chicken pox .. the problem has been around for centuries .. was it contained before the vaccine came out?Originally posted by ShutterBug:Dengue problem has been around for 4 decades...
as such, I think it is inexcusable to not have already found a solution or, come up with a method of controlling it...
SARS affected the economy OUTRIGHTLY, hence the government got off their asses pronto...Originally posted by Icemoon:The solution is to develop the vaccine that can handle ALL the four variants. Look at chicken pox .. the problem has been around for centuries .. was it contained before the vaccine came out?
To control it requires enforcement and cooperation. We used that during SARS and we succeeded.
Are we willing to pay the price in terms of freedom and privacy? Are we even willing to play our part in the first place? Look at the infamous fishing pond. It is a shame while dengue has been soaring for weeks, no proper checks were done by the owner.Originally posted by ShutterBug:SARS affected the economy OUTRIGHTLY, hence the government got off their asses pronto...
I just hope they don't let Dengue progress to the stage it CAN IMMEDIATELY affect the economy before really getting off their asses to do somethiing concrete about it...
Hint: They should look into breeding a species of genetically altered mosquitoes that will out-breed the Dengue carrying ones...
errmm.. what freedom? Do we have that here? .. anyways..Originally posted by Icemoon:Are we willing to pay the price in terms of freedom and privacy? Are we even willing to play our part in the first place? Look at the infamous fishing pond. It is a shame while dengue has been soaring for weeks, no proper checks were done by the owner.
I'm not sure of the biological solution, its implications, so I shall not comment.
Yah lor. Considering we already don't have much freedom, if the govt comes out with "draconian" laws and enforces them, we will be much worse. But luckily some of those laws did address problems like SARS and terrorism.Originally posted by ShutterBug:errmm.. what freedom? Do we have that here? .. anyways..
I'm not too clear about the background story of that Fishing Pond incident, and what's on the otherside of the coin in this story...
but I do believe the soar in Dengue cases and breedings can potentially be contributed by the enormous numbers of PRCs living in HDB and other forms of rented dwellings, who probably thinks nothing about leaving stagnant water around because of their mentality and sloppy lifestyle...
ya, so go tell them about it.Originally posted by Icemoon:The solution is to develop the vaccine that can handle ALL the four variants. Look at chicken pox .. the problem has been around for centuries .. was it contained before the vaccine came out?
To control it requires enforcement and cooperation. We used that during SARS and we succeeded.
Edit: Enforcement and cooperation mean something has to be sacrificed. Poultry animals were killed without mercy to contain bird flu, freedom was sacrificed to contain SARS.
how you know people are not playing their part. have you been to every household to check?Originally posted by Icemoon:Are we willing to pay the price in terms of freedom and privacy? Are we even willing to play our part in the first place? Look at the infamous fishing pond. It is a shame while dengue has been soaring for weeks, no proper checks were done by the owner.
I'm not sure of the biological solution, its implications, so I shall not comment.
It is obvious isn't it? Or else how come the fishing pond was fined?Originally posted by zix1:how you know people are not playing their part. have you been to every household to check?
Not all don't play a part. To use the work "all" is inappropriate. I play my part. I inform the authority when necessary, make sure at home there is no spot at all for breeding. Don't generalise!Originally posted by Icemoon:It is obvious isn't it? Or else how come the fishing pond was fined?
Do I even need to go to every household?
Furthermore since someone said dengue has been around for decades, I argue that without the media frenzy recently, people wouldn't have bothered. Do you mean to tell me we have been playing our part since decades ago? Come on ..
Did I say "all"?Originally posted by zix1:Not all don't play a part. To use the work "all" is inappropriate. I play my part. I inform the authority when necessary, make sure at home there is no spot at all for breeding. Don't generalise!
AIDS have been around for decades, shd the govt ban sex ?Originally posted by ShutterBug:Dengue problem has been around for 4 decades...
as such, I think it is inexcusable to not have already found a solution or, come up with a method of controlling it...
But I guess they were more concentrated on stoking the furnace of the economy to keep their pockets bloated...
They are doing it in an indirect manner. By making us toil harder, so that we are too tired to have sex and too tired to reproduce...Originally posted by crazy monkey:AIDS have been around for decades, shd the govt ban sex ?
Sex makes money for them.. same for smoking...Originally posted by crazy monkey:AIDS have been around for decades, shd the govt ban sex ?
you mean you pay govt for sex ?Originally posted by ShutterBug:Sex makes money for them.. same for smoking...
so, no ban...
Don't act shallow....Originally posted by crazy monkey:you mean you pay govt for sex ?![]()
You may be right. According to the Durex sex survey,Originally posted by bigmouthjoe:They are doing it in an indirect manner. By making us toil harder, so that we are too tired to have sex and too tired to reproduce...
Lovers in Japan are the leastHow come the world's no.1 porn nation is at the bottom of the chart?
amorous, having sex just 45
times a year. Nations among
the least sexually active
include Singapore (73), India
(75) and Indonesia (77)