....The reason: to fill jobs left vacant as native born Singaporeans continue to emigrate at what is perhaps the second highest rate in the world (an estimated 26.11 per thousand, second only to East Timor.)....1.PAP cover the true no. of emigration is the best defense
DateLets assume there are 400,000 of PR.
Total Population----('000)--....Singapore Residents,('000)(citizen and PR)

Arthur Waldron is the Lauder Professor of International Relations in the Department of History at the University of Pennsylvania. His specialties are the history of China and Eurasia, and the history of war and violence....been a visiting fellow at the Institute for Southeast Asian Studies in Singapore.
1.The two figures above is 7000 vs 85,500(26.11 per 1,000 )Originally posted by ^tamago^:http://commentarysingapore.blogspot.com/2006/11/on-emigration.html
Actually I wonder why young Singaporeans are being singled out in particular. After all, Singaporeans in just about every age group are emigrating. This article, written in 2005, cites various sources and tells us that:
* Every year, 6,000 to 7,000 Singaporeans leave to settle down overseas, including many professionals. This is 15% of today's annual births, probably the highest proportion in the world.
* One survey has put Singapore's average outflow at 26.11 migrants per 1,000 citizens, the second highest in the world - next only to East Timor (51.07).
"One website survey, which is unverified, has put Singapore's average outflow at 26.11 migrants per 1,000 citizens, the second highest in the world - next only to East Timor (51.07)."Originally posted by lionnoisy:1.The two figures above is 7000 vs 85,500(26.11 per 1,000 )
u quote two figures which different in 1000 %!!
Which one u think is credible??
BTW,which survey told u 26.11 migrants per 1,000 ?
You got read clearly or not. This survey is not that survey, and did it say polls = actual figures. Pls stop your one-sided accusations.Originally posted by lionnoisy:2.Survey of how many would move to countries is different from
our focal point here:
How many have emigrated ?
my family one person went overseas to work... and i have a family of 4...Originally posted by extrinsic:only 85k?
i have relatives who migrated to aust just this year. whole family of 4.
Considering that my relatives round up to around 50 (max, including babies).
that makes 8% mig. rate this year.
considering 4mil sg ppl, that makes 320k person.
but, nvm, sg can always get india, china to replace our population.
we can also change our country to: Indapore, or Cheenapore.
simple
yup, in my context.Originally posted by Father Lim:my family one person went overseas to work... and i have a family of 4...
does this means that 1/4 or 25% or 1 million singaporeans are currently working overseas??
So? So what? Singapore gahmen favour foreigners, so does it matter if one is still a Singaporean? Think carefully, think truthfully, before you pen you post.Originally posted by sundaytimes:Want to emigrate to another countries better think and plan properly.
Once a singaporean emigrate to another countries and give up spore citizenship is no longer a singaporean. What happen when he or she regret,
or cannot use to the countries he emigrate or the new society do not accept
him , then he want to return to spore he will consider foreigner not sporean.
sporean emigrants benefits;Originally posted by sundaytimes:Want to emigrate to another countries better think and plan properly.
Once a singaporean emigrate to another countries and give up spore citizenship is no longer a singaporean. What happen when he or she regret,
or cannot use to the countries he emigrate or the new society do not accept
him , then he want to return to spore he will consider foreigner not sporean.
Agree fully.Originally posted by fishbuff:sporean emigrants benefits;
- exempted from NS liabilty (NS for singaporeans, job for foreigners)
- free from forced organ donation.
- no overcrowded living.
- humane working environment
- no overpriced cars with COE and ERP.
- no HDB leasing (they can take back your flat anytime)
- no stuff stupid policies down your throat and couldnt care if u gag. (remember GST, minister pay, transportation cost increase?)
- no lack of jobs opportunity when u grow old.
- no expensive medical care when u are sick.
- no expensive ministers that know only to add more burdens to u.
- no elitism. in SG, when u are at the bottom or middle, u are a serf to a greater good. and namely, the Lees and PAP are the greater good.
when u surrender your citizenship, your CPF will be liberated! u dont have to wait until 85 to get it!
my PRC friend here in brisbane works as a Bar-qua prep worker and can live in a 2-storey bungalow in a good suburb with a new toyota car.
so.. what will your decision be?
I think it is wrong to implement ERP outside the city area cause they are not so jam n if in city, still make sense.Originally posted by soul_rage:Agree fully.
- No Artificially inflated HDB flat prices
- No Highest paid part-time job in the world (Member of Parliament > $19,000/mth), not to mention Singaporeans are paying their salary
- No stupid ERP gantries that appear anywhere anytime, and switch on whenever, priced at however they want.
- No stupid TV license that they refused to remove even after so many complaints
stats can be true. It is the analysis done on the stats, or/and the lack of certain information, that can mislead others. Eg, the conclusion that ERP helps Singaporeans own more cars... Statiscally it is correct... But there are so many other factors, like did car usage increase, etc...Originally posted by extrinsic:yup, in my context.
cuz, i dun believe in stats.
the thing i learned about stats in sch, is, it's mostly make up, to protect something or some interest.
mostly untrue and levelled up multiple times to show some particular trend in the interested trend.
there is HARDLY any true and 3rd party stats, sadly.
Thus, i can only build my own stats, based on my personal life experience.
of cuz there can be other ppl stats, who have zero.
then if my family and relatives have no one emigrating overseas, does that mean that there is no emigration in singapore??Originally posted by extrinsic:yup, in my context.
cuz, i dun believe in stats.
the thing i learned about stats in sch, is, it's mostly make up, to protect something or some interest.
mostly untrue and levelled up multiple times to show some particular trend in the interested trend.
there is HARDLY any true and 3rd party stats, sadly.
Thus, i can only build my own stats, based on my personal life experience.
of cuz there can be other ppl stats, who have zero.
i strongly believe stats are done this way:Originally posted by eagle:stats can be true. It is the analysis done on the stats, or/and the lack of certain information, that can mislead others. Eg, the conclusion that ERP helps Singaporeans own more cars... Statiscally it is correct... But there are so many other factors, like did car usage increase, etc...
That is a strong claim you are making without knowing how their statistics are derived. There are statistical calculations to determine the correct sample size, and the spread of it around a mean, in topics such as estimation theory and hypothesis testing and etc.Originally posted by extrinsic:i strongly believe stats are done this way:
1)
Name: ah beng
Qs: Do you feel happy about living in sg? NO
2)
Name: FT
Qs: Do you feel happy about living in sg? YES
3)
Name: ah seng
Qs: Do you feel happy about living in sg? NO
Conclusion to public: 100% of ppl in sg say they love staying in sg.
wad abt the negative answer? check their recycle bin
because most the stats made by the govt looks so unreal to me.Originally posted by eagle:That is a strong claim you are making without knowing how their statistics are derived. There are statistical calculations to determine the correct sample size, and the spread of it around a mean, in topics such as estimation theory and hypothesis testing and etc.
1.tx for your effort and we can talk on same frequencyOriginally posted by fishbuff:singapore emigation figure is available here..
http://www.faqs.org/docs/factbook/print/sn.html
look like we have to rely on foreign press to get our local statistics eh..
i supported DoS (dept of statistics) before and they got shitloads of data and statistics... but not for public eyes hor..
Net migration rate :An excess of persons entering the country is referred to as net immigration (e.g., 3.56 migrants/1,000 population);an excess of persons leaving the country as net emigration (e.g., -9.26 migrants/1,000 population).
The net migration rate indicates the contribution of migration to the overall level of population change.
Net migration rate:
26.11 migrant(s)/1,000 population (2002 est.)
these figures certainly have a very negative implication on Spore's defence force.Originally posted by ^tamago^:http://commentarysingapore.blogspot.com/2006/11/on-emigration.html
* Between 100,000 and 150,000 Singaporeans are studying, working or in business in foreign countries; leaders fear that many of them will not return.
On a separate note, I do not really believe that the government is really concerned about the high emigration rate, as long as it is able to continue attracting sufficient numbers of foreigners to Singapore.