I think this issue deserves a topic of its own.
Singapore Sets Aside S$150 Billion Of To Guarantee Currency Deposits
Bernama, Malaysia - 12 hours ago
... the Singapore Deposit Insurance Corporation - would enjoy government protection on the full amount of their deposits for the duration of the guarantee. ...
S'pore backs all deposits Straits Times
Govt backing for all deposits a ‘precautionary action’ TODAYonline
Singapore to guarantee all bank deposits till end-2010 AFP
AsiaOne - Channel News Asia
all 92 news articles »
They say it is to: "“ensure a level international playing field for banks in Singapore,”
So what is hidden and cannot be said and discovered because of the Official Secrets Act? Is it that money is flowing out of Singapore at an alarming rate and they refuse to acknowledge the real problem, that foreigners are rushing our their money because they see the massive losses the asspots made bailing out and investing in foreign banks?
In their usual delusional style when it comes to their mistakes, they attribute the problem instead to "other governments are guaranteeing and that is why money is flowing out".
I am so sending even more money abroad (as I have been doing) just in case. Here without the free press, you just don't know what is happening until it is too late.
Send money to Japan and even Thailand is better because of the freee press there and you won't get surprises because everything is out in the open.
No lah, just following what everybody is doing.
US, Europe all guarantee money, so they follow lor.
They are followers, not leaders.
That is what they want you to believe... remember I rushed out of the stock market last year (well documented in this site) and only now do they tell you how bad the situation is and even until July 2008 this year,
Gone senile or what?
“14 July 2008
Lee Kuan Yew on Friday said Singapore's economy will be fine despite the slowing global economy. Speaking at a dialogue session at an essay competition awards presentation ceremony, Lee said, ”Next five to 10 years will be the most promising years for Singapore..."
Gone senile but still putting millions in public money into own pocket
Ho Ho Ho, it is my money and I am so not going to take the risk in case the despots are doing propaganda again...
They have already announced that they have a neutral stance with regards the Singapore dollars and many foreigners that parked their money here will be rushing to get out...
Without a free press, you believe their propaganda, you lose your money!
http://thehindu.com/thehindu/holnus/003200807120150.htm
Saturday, July 12, 2008 : 0200 Hrs
Lee Kuan Yew optimistic about Singapore's growth
SINGAPORE (Xinhua): Singapore's ... Minister Mentor Lee Kuan Yew on Friday said Singapore's economy will be fine despite the slowing global economy.
Speaking at a dialogue session at an essay competition awards presentation ceremony, Lee said, "Next five to 10 years will be the most promising years for Singapore...In five years, it will be good; in 10 years, it will be beautiful," according to a local TV Channel NewsAsia report on Friday night.
Trust propahanda at your own risks. Join the foreigners before Singapore dollars Sink.
Originally posted by AndrewPKYap:
“14 July 2008
Lee Kuan Yew on Friday said Singapore's economy will be fine despite the slowing global economy. Speaking at a dialogue session at an essay competition awards presentation ceremony, Lee said, ”Next five to 10 years will be the most promising years for Singapore..."
What was he trying to do?
I think he was trying to convince Singaporeans to be deluded in thinking that it's all rain and shine outside when, in fact, it's not. Far from it.
Because that way, he could squeeze up electrical bill charges, erect ERP gantries, hike the public transport fares... and up, up, up everything that isn't already sky high.
Then when almost all our incomes go to the government, he'll admit that recession is looming.
"Promising years" and "good years" are 2 totally different things lah.
When you say something is promising, it just means it got potential.
Whether it actually turns out good, nobody knows.
Originally posted by charlize:"Promising years" and "good years" are 2 totally different things lah.
When you say something is promising, it just means it got potential.
Whether it actually turns out good, nobody knows.
hello, he said and I quote: "Singapore's economy will be fine despite the slowing global economy. " and then announced how "fine" the "Singapore's economy will be" by announcing the recession.
...maybe like what ...Vendettus: said
Originally posted by Vendettus:What was he trying to do?
I think he was trying to convince Singaporeans to be deluded in thinking that it's all rain and shine outside when, in fact, it's not. Far from it.
Because that way, he could squeeze up electrical bill charges, erect ERP gantries, hike the public transport fares... and up, up, up everything that isn't already sky high.
Then when almost all our incomes go to the government, he'll admit that recession is looming.
When he said "fine" he meant:
except his "fine" is "refined" as
Anyway, those that know a little about finance will know how serious the situation is if foreigners are indeed pulling their funds out of the system and they are hiding this fact.
and I repeat:
Anyway, those that know a little about finance will know how serious the situation is if foreigners are indeed pulling their funds out of the system and they are hiding this fact.
yah, yah, look like it is getting serious. we should all just stay home and protest on the internet forum.
Originally posted by skythewood:yah, yah, look like it is getting serious. we should all just stay home and protest on the internet forum.
I am just educating silliporeans not to be fooled by propaganda and at least send some money overseas... oops maybe they do not have foreign bank accounts in countries with a strong culture of press freedom.
question
how come when people make money they did not think bring out million or trillion of dollar out to put into bank system
when share price drop they KPKP asking gov to step in to held the share
Originally posted by zaxis:question
how come when people make money they did not think bring out million or trillion of dollar out to put into bank system
when share price drop they KPKP asking gov to step in to held the share
question
What exactly are you asking?
Are foreigners pulling out because Hong Kongers get refunds (Lehman bonds) from of all people DBS, Hong Kong but not DBS, Singapore?
Originally posted by AndrewPKYap:question
He is asking you to shut up, diam diam, take yr medicine and sleep na.
Originally posted by skythewood:yah, yah, look like it is getting serious. we should all just stay home and protest on the internet forum.
For u n me, we dun protest, we answer their protest and concerns
Originally posted by angel7030:He is asking you to shut up, diam diam, take yr medicine and sleep na.
Thanks good puppy for bumping up my threads... even though you are an asspuppy ....
Uncle, to tell u the true, the world foreigners are trying to put into our banks instead of pulling out, here is a safe heaven, it just that our banks cannot filful too much deposit obligation, need to pay interest ok couple with low interest and high risk in lending, bank also cannot make much from lending those deposits.
Originally posted by AndrewPKYap:question
when lehman bonds make money?
did those bonds holder put in money with gov?
or they put in more money with lehman bonds?
now lehman bonds loss money?
why gov need to put money?
Thanks good puppy for bumping up my threads... even though you are an asspuppy ....
Take you hallucination medicine lah, aiya uncle old already got real mental problem liao.
Are foreigners pulling out because Hong Kongers get refunds (Lehman bonds) from of all people DBS, Hong Kong but not DBS, Singapore?
Uncle, Hk got red army holding AK47 at Temaserk head, here the SAF dare to do it or not?? Furthermore, if DBS mistreated HK people, China will not forgive Singapore. U understand Political science relativity or not, if China boycott us, then i got no PRC gals to do business liao,...and most sg uncles will also suffer from post PRC gals syndrome
Originally posted by zaxis:
when lehman bonds make money?did those bonds holder put in money with gov?
or they put in more money with lehman bonds?
now lehman bonds loss money?
why gov need to put money?
What is "why gov need to put money?"
You mean "why gov need to PAY money?"
That is DBS Hong Kong (not gov) paying them back ....
""It's a scam," said Yau Pui Fat, a 65-year-old retiree who said he invested HK$1.7 million, more than 70% of his assets, in Lehman-related structured products sold by DBS Bank (Hong Kong) Ltd.
DBS, the Hong Kong unit of Singapore-based DBS Group Holdings Ltd., previously said it would compensate any investors who can show they were misled, and an executive reiterated that to lawmakers."
http://online.wsj.com/article/SB122391506490828947.html?mod=googlenews_wsj
What is "why gov need to put money?"
You mean "why gov need to PAY money?"
That is DBS Hong Kong (not gov) paying them back ....
""It's a scam," said Yau Pui Fat, a 65-year-old retiree who said he invested HK$1.7 million, more than 70% of his assets, in Lehman-related structured products sold by DBS Bank (Hong Kong) Ltd.
DBS, the Hong Kong unit of Singapore-based DBS Group Holdings Ltd., previously said it would compensate any investors who can show they were misled, and an executive reiterated that to lawmakers."
http://online.wsj.com/article/SB122391506490828947.html?mod=googlenews_wsj
A scam,...??? Hongkee are smart investors, and they dun smell a scam before buying??? it a free market, u buy with a greedy mind, so now u lost and you call it a scam...OMG! Paid for sex and call it a scam?? Kick the old uncle out of this earth...!!