Originally posted by AndrewPKYap:
I am glad you panic now.
Thanks to people like you who stupidly hoard money, this is what happens. Govts have to print notes to circulate for every dollar your kind hoards up at home or safe deposits and stupidly in banks whom use to balance their lost accounts and not lend.
Enjoy the panic. You had been warned hell long before. It's already too late to weep.
PS: The UK govt is not just simply 'printing' money. They are creating money by buying govt and corporate bonds from financial institutions for new 'notes of sterling pounds'.
Simply meant, loaning from future generations who will repay the debts through taxes and resource output.
Originally posted by sgdiehard:don't ask me to check with EDB. do you know how much they invested and how many have failed or left or remaining? or are you assuming that much have been invested, many have failed and nothing or little is left?
how would any companies want to keep their new technology and benefit their own country? in the first place why do they want to go to another place and do research there?
Its a global world, friend, open up your mind, if the presence of MNC does not benefit Singapore, why do we think we need them here?
you dun understand COST n LOGISTIC?
give u an exmple - when CNC techno were reinvented in Japan some 30 odd years ago, didnt they kept the prduct in their country n they r not allow to export even used ones.
Please dun let the world fool u n i dun see the point arguing with u
Originally posted by xtreyier:
I am glad you panic now.
Thanks to people like you who stupidly hoard money, this is what happens. Govts have to print notes to circulate for every dollar your kind hoards up at home or safe deposits and stupidly in banks whom use to balance their lost accounts and not lend.
Enjoy the panic. You had been warned hell long before. It's already too late to weep.
PS: The UK govt is not just simply 'printing' money. They are creating money by buying govt and corporate bonds from financial institutions for new 'notes of sterling pounds'.
Simply meant, loaning from future generations who will repay the debts through taxes and resource output.
I panicked because the UK is printing money, which could lead to other countries following suit and depending on the scale, might just cause world trade to come to a halt. If the other countries do not follow suit, then they become disadvantaged.
What the fark has Singaporeans Hoarding money and Britain printing money got to do with each other?
Your stupidity is astounding!
wah - i still have some old pounds notes
meaning - new notes no value so old notes got more value?
sound logic?
Originally posted by seyKai:you dun understand COST n LOGISTIC?
give u an exmple - when CNC techno were reinvented in Japan some 30 odd years ago, didnt they kept the prduct in their country n they r not allow to export even used ones.
Please dun let the world fool u n i dun see the point arguing with u
you think you understand Cost and Logistic? you think you know how the globalizing world is functioning? do you think you know what patent is doing?
Japan 30 years ago was the only one with advanced technology in Asia, today is different.
Thats all I want to tell, want to learn more you have to pay money.
your logic sounds like my old pound notes
globalisation? who? developing countries? u tankuku
Originally posted by likedatosocan:
Imagine : people who not happy here all migrate. what is left? happy people?the reserves took about 3 or 4 decades to accumulate? anyone can confirm since when reserves accumulated?
and based on current investment, i got some clues about the future.
I don’t have much knowledge in investment, but below is my simple logic
It took government 3 to 4 decades to accumulate reserves but it will not take long to squander those reserves. Well, it depends on the future administration.
You might say squandering? this will not happen, you may be right, but what if you are wrong? can singaporeans do something about it?
Originally posted by lionnoisy:your english is good.even poor english like me is not an excuse.
Just your logic.can u put more solid info and agruments.
Dunt jus quote he says she says all these rubbish.
SG can chz from a O level kid who was kicked out
from family in 1965, into a middle income guy in 2009.
This guy dunt gamble,invest foolflishly,drink and womanizing.
Do u think he will go broke,like uncle SAM?
Come on!
All your data is about singapore’s past performance here we are discussing about the future.
Rememeber I am not pro-PAP or Anti-PAP, below are some of the factors to be discussed why Singapore will or will not sink
1. Media is tightly controlled, so this leaves the singaporeans ignorant on the other half of the truth
2. If the ruling party is perfect, then Singapore will not sink. Do you think Singapore government will remain perfect forever?What if they turned out to be corrupt in the future? Are Singaporeans dared to oppose them and change their leaders like what Americans did to George Bush? Any country can still survive with an imperfect government not Singapore.
3. If the current PAP administration so efficient then why LKY should still be in the office? which cast doubt in minds of some that this administration can’t manage Singapore efficiently after him. It seems like LKY even though not PM still managing Singapore from behind and LHL is doing what he has been told to do.
4. History has proven that the fall of great empires can be attributed to Greed, selfishness, injustice and poor administration. So we can’t be too complacent
5. Thailand, Malaysia and Indonesia are looking for fair share of singapore’s prosperity in the region, so there is an intense competition. First of all these three are not happy with Singapore, could be political. Don’t forget some terrorist camps in Indonesia waiting to strike singapore when caught off-guard.
6. I read in one of the article that LKY once said Singapore has enjoyed economic prosperity under “US UMBRELLA” but now uncle SAM is in trouble heading towards bankruptcy can he still offer protection to Singapore? There is this report http://www.timesonline.co.uk/tol/news/world/us_and_americas/article5213321.ece saying US superpower status is challenged in 2025.
In the past Singapore is under British protection, today US and tomorrow who?
7. There were rumours saying that when Singapore tried to build even closer economic ties with china, china requested or attempted to take control over Singapore banking and finances.( Not sure how far its true). Personally, I don’t have enough trust about this dragon (china) because he has history for taking things by force. This guy is already waging an economic war with US.
8. BTW don’t ever look down on people who emigrated to another country. If they have no options in Singapore it is one of the wisest decision of their lives.
9. If you hear negative news from people its not always rubbish, there are certain truth beneath it.
You said “This guy dunt gamble,invest foolflishly”
Well, I call it as “Blind Faith”
You asked “Do u think he will go broke,like uncle SAM?”
It depends on our future administration
What I mean here is that Singaporeans can’t take things for granted because we are living in a highly vulnerable state.
who knows for sure
how much in total is lost? we know something about CITI . what about other thingies invested if any?
without this info, how to know the future?
based on export model, does this mean for each future financial crisis which can come at any time, like 3 or 5 or 10 years, sg will continue to be very much affected? china is quite ok despite this crisis right? china even got much growth forecasted.
while its easy to see the reason for relying on export, its still a problem that if unresolved or mitigated will mean , at least to me, that retirement will always be an worry and concern given that with age , employment will be a problem in future and with new resident and new citizen policies, competition will continue to grow at a faster pace. HOW TO PLAN for retirement when the future is UNCERTAIN and potentially, each crisis in future will affect sg in a significant way . case in ppint, it is the first to go into recession.
China and some other asian countries are much more immune and less affected.
Originally posted by likedatosocan:who knows for sure
how much in total is lost? we know something about CITI . what about other thingies invested if any?
without this info, how to know the future?
based on export model, does this mean for each future financial crisis which can come at any time, like 3 or 5 or 10 years, sg will continue to be very much affected? china is quite ok despite this crisis right? china even got much growth forecasted.
while its easy to see the reason for relying on export, its still a problem that if unresolved or mitigated will mean , at least to me, that retirement will always be an worry and concern given that with age , employment will be a problem in future and with new resident and new citizen policies, competition will continue to grow at a faster pace. HOW TO PLAN for retirement when the future is UNCERTAIN and potentially, each crisis in future will affect sg in a significant way . case in ppint, it is the first to go into recession.
China and some other asian countries are much more immune and less affected.
The root of the problem is the US economy, now in trouble due to greed, the more you are linked to them, the more you are affected.
Your last sentence says many things. firstly, China's economy depended a lot on export to the US, but they can stimulate the local market to cover that shortfall, with their population, they can at least reduce the impact.
other asian countries which never had too much money to invest in the US are therefore immune to the current problem.
But countries like Japan, Korea, Taiwan, and Singapore, and especially Singapore, which depended so much on the US, sure kena hit, very badly.
There is really no need anymore checking, any investment in the US, or investment in EU that has linked to the US, should see the capital shrink by 40% or may be half.
Lesson: don't ever depend on the US like they are the lao peh; freedom, human rights blah blah... won't give anybody any compensation for the funds squandered by the greedy wall streets fat cats.
Singapore must remain cosmopolitan to survive: MM Lee
http://www.channelnewsasia.com/stories/singaporelocalnews/view/271837/1/.html
below passage in blue are excerpts from the above article,
"If we are dynamic, we will attract talent, we will grow because we have more talent. When I say talent, it means people who add to the dynamism of that society. Singaporeans, if I can chose an analogy, we are the hard disk of a computer, the foreign talent are the megabytes you add to your storage capacity. So your computer never hangs because you got enormous storage capacity," said Mr Lee.
In response, Mr Lee said an MP is closely watched the moment he's elected into office.
And he had no qualms about paying ministers a good salary to look after a multi-billion dollar economy.
But more importantly, a bad minister mismanaging Singapore will ruin the lives of four million people.
"If you have a dud minister he cannot hold his ground, you know in Singapore, you've got to meet your constituents, you've got to meet the press, you are in Parliament right? You are not just making a speech at a mass rally …and for this generation, if you don't pay them adequately and their families suffer, they will not stay in the job long. They will be forced to pack up and go back to their private life. And you've lost experience and expertise, it's as simple as that," said Mr Lee
On censorship Mr Lee said he is not able to predict where the boundaries will be in the years ahead, because of a changing world that is open to all influences
.... and when you have a cursed despot greedy for public money and practising nepotism and cronyism, what you have is a government taking massive amounts of the people's money or in other words... Everyday Rob People and Everywhere Rob People... and lose a 100 billion of it to foreigners.
Originally posted by F-22A Raptor:
I don’t have much knowledge in investment, but below is my simple logic
It took government 3 to 4 decades to accumulate reserves but it will not take long to squander those reserves. Well, it depends on the future administration.
You might say squandering? this will not happen, you may be right, but what if you are wrong? can singaporeans do something about it?
And it is a blessing that we have accumulated reserves, imagine if there is no reserves??? Guess the whole country will go bankrupt and i will be selling my body on the street competing with PRC gals
Originally posted by AndrewPKYap:
.... and when you have a cursed despot greedy for public money and practising nepotism and cronyism, what you have is a government taking massive amounts of the people's money or in other words... Everyday Rob People and Everywhere Rob People... and lose a 100 billion of it to foreigners.
Uncle, stop cursing lah, even lose 200 billion, you also lan lan
"If we are dynamic, we will attract talent, we will grow because we have more talent. When I say talent, it means people who add to the dynamism of that society. Singaporeans, if I can chose an analogy, we are the hard disk of a computer, the foreign talent are the megabytes you add to your storage capacity. So your computer never hangs because you got enormous storage capacity," said Mr Lee.
Hmmm......., if foreign talent are like the megabytes being added to the storage capacity, then they must be the bad sectors of the harddisk. Seems like a bad analogy to me.
Originally posted by sgdiehard:The root of the problem is the US economy, now in trouble due to greed, the more you are linked to them, the more you are affected.
Your last sentence says many things. firstly, China's economy depended a lot on export to the US, but they can stimulate the local market to cover that shortfall, with their population, they can at least reduce the impact.
other asian countries which never had too much money to invest in the US are therefore immune to the current problem.
But countries like Japan, Korea, Taiwan, and Singapore, and especially Singapore, which depended so much on the US, sure kena hit, very badly.
There is really no need anymore checking, any investment in the US, or investment in EU that has linked to the US, should see the capital shrink by 40% or may be half.
Lesson: don't ever depend on the US like they are the lao peh; freedom, human rights blah blah... won't give anybody any compensation for the funds squandered by the greedy wall streets fat cats.
Yes, the economic downturn/turmoil today is longer than any other recession, reason being, there is no confident in the US market anymore, even if the economic recover, peoples of the world are more cautious in the US market, maybe we will see a shift in economic powerhouse.
I see China as the next potential economic powerhouse, chinese do spend but just that their paid are not as good as their US counterpart, previouly, a GM motor worker earn more than 5 times a Chinese GM worker, today with cut and wage freezes in US, you will see a lower paid rate in US and togather with the strong RMB, it will ultimately make the chinese abit richer.
Singapore
A question of survival
In midst of red-hot economy, Lee Kuan Yew pours a little cold water on the long-term future. By Seah Chiang Nee.
Oct 27, 2007
http://www.littlespeck.com/content/security/CTrendsSecurity-071027.htm
Below in blue are some excerpts from the above article
Some years back he asked whether Singapore would be around in 50 years’ time or disappear like a number of small, independent city-states (Venice, Athens) that once lined the ancient Silk Road.
“Can we survive? The question is still unanswered. We have survived so far, 42 years. Will we survive for another 42? It depends upon world conditions. It doesn’t depend on us alone.
“If there were no international law and order, and big fish eat small fish and small fish eat shrimps, we wouldn’t exist.”
“Our armed forces can withstand an attack and inflict damage for two weeks, three weeks, but a siege? (Laughter)”
The ‘cold war’ generation, which had lived through wars, feels the warning is necessary and worries about what will happen if Lee, with his regional experience, is no longer around.
Singapore will not even last three minutes in an air strike without outside help, especially from the Australian Air Force and the US Navy,” said ‘blacksmith’.
Another blogger asked, “What is the use of defeating an invader in three weeks when the damage that it would inflict on Singapore would destroy the economical and political stability for years?”
You can read the rest by clicking the above link
LKY still considers reunion with Malaysia and worries that foreigners are using
singapore as a stepping stone, read the article below
MM Lee speaks about idea of Singapore-Malaysia reunion once again
By Loh Chee Kong, TODAY | Posted: 11 October 2007 1245 hrs
http://www.channelnewsasia.com/stories/singaporelocalnews/view/305045/1/.html
In a recent interview with American journalist Tom Plate, Mr Lee said Singapore would be "happy" to go back to Malaysia should the latter practise meritocracy.
"If they would just educate the Chinese and Indians, use them and treat them as their citizens, they can equal us and even do better than us and we would be happy to rejoin them."Already, Singapore is facing a fight to keep the very talent it had successfully attracted.
Mr Lee acknowledged in the interview that the Chinese students on Singapore Government scholarships were using the Republic as a stepping-stone.
Said Mr Lee: "They come in here, they get an English education ... and they're off to America. The Indians, strangely enough, more of them stay here in Singapore because they want to go home to visit their families."
Mr Lee added: "We are net gainers for how long? I think in the case of China, maybe another 20, 30 years ... India, maybe longer - 50, 60 years before their infrastructure catches up. Anyway, this is not my worry anymore!"
Originally posted by Meia Gisborn:
No wonder the HDB only offers 99-year leases on their overpriced pigeonholes!
You read my mind :D