SINGAPORE BEFORE PAP:
“But we either believe in democracy or we do not. If we do, then, we must say categorically, without qualification, that no restraint from any democratic processes, other than by the ordinary law of the land, should be allowed… If you believe in democracy, you must believe in it unconditionally. If you believe that men should be free, then, they should have the right of free association, of free speech, of free publication. Then, no law should permit those democratic processes to be set at nought.”
- Lee Kuan Yew as an opposition leader, April 27, 1955
“If it is not totalitarian to arrest a man and detain him, when you cannot charge him with any offence against any written law – if that is not what we have always cried out against in Fascist states – then what is it?… If we are to survive as a free democracy, then we must be prepared, in principle, to concede to our enemies – even those who do not subscribe to our views – as much constitutional rights as you concede yourself.”
- Opposition leader Lee Kuan Yew, Legislative Assembly Debates, Sept 21, 1955
“If we say that we believe in democracy, if we say that the fabric of a democratic society is one which allows for the free play of idea…then, in the name of all the gods, give that free play a chance to work within the constitutional framework.”
- Opposition leader Lee Kuan Yew, Singapore Legislative Assembly, Oct 4, 1956
“Repression, Sir is a habit that grows. I am told it is like making love-it is always easier the second time! The first time there may be pangs of conscience, a sense of guilt. But once embarked on this course with constant repetition you get more and more brazen in the attack. All you have to do is to dissolve organizations and societies and banish and detain the key political workers in these societies. Then miraculously everything is tranquil on the surface. Then an intimidated press and the government-controlled radio together can regularly sing your praises, and slowly and steadily the people are made to forget the evil things that have already been done, or if these things are referred to again they’re conveniently distorted and distorted with impunity, because there will be no opposition to contradict.”
-Lee Kuan Yew as an opposition PAP member speaking to David Marshall, Singapore Legislative Assembly, Debates, 4 October, 1956
“…you attack only those whom your Special Branch can definitely say are communists. Then you attack those whom your Special Branch says are aiding communists. Then finally, when you have gone that far, you attack all who oppose you.”
-Lee Kuan Yew as an opposition PAP member speaking to David Marshall, Singapore Legislative Assembly, Debates, 4 October, 1956
“Repression can only go up to a point. When it becomes too acute, the instruments of repression, namely the army and the police, have been proved time and time again in history to have turned their guns on their masters.”
- Opposition leader Lee Kuan Yew, Straits Times, May 5, 1959
“These powers will not be allowed to be used against political opponents within the system who compete for the right to work the system. That is fundamental and basic or the powers will have destroyed the purpose for which they were forged.”
- Lee Kuan Yew speaking in Parliament on the Preservation of Public Security Act, a precursor to the ISA, Oct 14, 1959
“I pointed to an article with bold headlines reporting that the police had refused to allow the PAP to hold a rally at Empress Place, and then to the last paragraph where in small type it added the meeting would take place where we were now. I compared this with a prominent report about an SPA rally. This was flagrant bias.”
- Lee Kuan Yew commenting on the Straits Times, 1959.
SINGAPORE AFTER PAP :
“We must encourage those who earn less than $200 per month and cannot afford to nurture and educate many children never to have more than two… We will regret the time lost if we do not now take the first tentative steps towards correcting a trend which can leave our society with a large number of the physically, intellectually and culturally anaemic.”
- Lee Kuan Yew, 1967
“I make no apologies that the PAP is the Government and the Government is the PAP.”
- Lee Kuan Yew, Petir, 1982
“One-man-one-vote is a most difficult form of government.. Results can be erratic.”
- Lee Kuan Yew, Dec 19 1984
“We have to lock up people, without trial, whether they are communists, whether they are language chauvinists, whether they are religious extremists. If you don’t do that, the country would be in ruins.”
- Lee Kuan Yew, 1986
“I am often accused of interfering in the private lives of citizens. Yes, if I did not, had I not done that, we wouldn’t be here today. And I say without the slightest remorse, that we wouldn’t be here, we would not have made economic progress, if we had not intervened on very personal matters – who your neighbour is, how you live, the noise you make, how you spit, or what language you use. We decide what is right. Never mind what the people think.”
- Prime Minister Lee Kuan Yew, Straits Times, 20 April 1987
“It is not the practice, nor will I allow subversives to get away by insisting that I’ve got to prove everything against them in a court of law or [produce] evidence that will stand up to the strict rules of evidence of a court of law.”
- Lee Kuan Yew, 1988
“I’m not intellectually convinced that one-man-one-vote is the best. We practise it because that’s what the British bequeathed us.”
- Lee Kuan Yew, 1994
“Anybody who decides to take me on needs to put on knuckle-dusters. If you think you can hurt me more than I can hurt you, try. There is no way you can govern a Chinese society.”
- Lee Kuan Yew, The Man and His Ideas, 1997
“They say people can think for themselves? Do you honestly believe that the chap who can’t pass primary six knows the consequence of his choice when he answers a question viscerally, on language, culture and religion? But we knew the consequences. We would starve, we would have race riots. We would disintegrate.”
- Lee Kuan Yew, The Man & His Ideas, 1997
“If we had considered them serious political figures, we would not have kept them politically alive for so long. We could have bankrupt them earlier.”
- Lee Kuan Yew on political opposition, Straits Times, Sept 14 2003
“If I have to shoot 200,000 students to save China from another 100 years of disorder, so be it.” - Lee Kuan Yew evoking the ghost of Deng Xiaoping whilst endorsing the Tiananmen Square massacre, Straits Times, Aug 17, 2004
“Without the elected president and if there is a freak result, within two or three years, the army would have to come in and stop it”
- Lee Kuan Yew on what would happen if a profligate opposition government touched Singapore’s vast monetary reserves, Straits Times, Sept 16 2006
“Please do not assume that you can change governments. Young people don’t understand this”
- Lee Kuan Yew on the results of the 2006 election
old man, bloody hypocrite. nice article, shows a good comparison.
=> link
go read exhibit 1
and remember that the PMO subsequently destroyed the reporter and the editor for reporting that
i was a bit confused when the british incident took place. someone then told me it's a sign of lee losing it, he's starting to get senile.
never thought that years later i would be reading a comprehensive article suggesting so.
Here's hoping Today doesn't become yesterday
One has to be careful how much credence to give to
bulletin board “news”. The story making the rounds this week
about a management shake-out in the newsroom of ‘Today’ is probably
exaggerated. The only thing that I know is definitely correct is that
Rahul Pathak has quit as Deputy Editor.
However, it reminded me of a slightly older story, dating from November 2003, which, given the passage of time and corroborating accounts, is in my opinion, largely accurate. This one was about how the Senior Minister thrashed the news team of ‘Today’ for a report they made of one of his speeches. At this point, I suggest you read the various boxed articles, to fill in the details.As you can see from Exhibit 1, Today wrote a story about the Senior Minister Lee Kuan Yew disparaging the UK health system. But Exhibit 2, detailing the correction issued by the Senior Minister’s Office, indicates clearly where the offending point was - it had to do with the phone call made to No. 10 Downing Street hoping for some intervention to move Mrs Lee up the queue for a brain scan (I mentioned this in my article Adding Value). Exhibits 3 and 4 must be read with caution, being internet postings, although Exhibit 3 does explain its source. |
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
Late January, I heard this story again from two sources. One was a friend whom I consider a very reliable source, who in turn had heard it directly from one of the persons involved. The other source more or less confirmed the general outline, on top of which he added that the press who were at the Tanjong Pagar event listening to the speech were told by officials what not to report of it. Today, however, did not abide by the instruction. I haven't had confirmation if the last part is true, but most of the rest of the story appear to be corroborated. This whole episode makes a sorry commentary on the way our media are expected to meekly abide by whatever instructions are given, and the way our ruling politicians feel they can bully their way through. If you look carefully at exhibit 1, you'd hardly think it a scurrilous piece of journalism begging for a reprimand. This brings to a crunch the problems that Today has faced since the very day they launched. These have to do with how it can be positioned and succeed as a serious newspaper when the Straits Times so dominates the landscape, and when the rules of the game are so constrictive. * * * * * Let's ask ourselves, how would one establish a new newspaper against the Straits Times? The first problem to crack has to be distribution, and giving it out free the way Today has been doing is probably the only way to achieve that quickly. It brought immediate returns in that getting circulation rapidly brought in advertisers. But now they are trapped in a vicious cycle: having been given away free, how does one persuade subscribers to pay for it? What I might have done differently would be to have two versions of it: a "lite" version given free, and a full version that carried a price tag. The lite version would have carried abridged stories, and perhaps an index of additional stuff available in the full version. Lite would be good enough for a quick read on the metro or over lunch, but it would also give the reader the assurance that he would get stuff that interested him if he paid a bit for the full version from the newsstand. After a while, readers might be confident enough to sign up for home delivery of the full version. If distribution is a big problem for a newspaper start-up in Singapore, the editorial challenge is head-crackingly huge. As a resource-short David against a well established Goliath, it stands to reason that Today has to choose certain niche areas in which to differentiate itself. The Straits Times has pretty good foreign coverage, partly because it's an area (other than sports) with the least governmental interference, stories about Malaysia excepted. Its weakest area is local politics, and therefore this is where a new brand can distinguish itself. Related to that is also the fact that it's the one area where the market is hungriest for interesting stuff. However, to satisfy the public's appetite, there has to be critical writing and the courage to carry trenchant rebuttals by the government's opponents, or by independent voices. This can tie in with sharper reporting of home news. Singapore can do with a lot more investigative reporting about official cover-ups, bureaucratic bungling, errors of judgement in our government-linked companies and scandals both public and private. The third area where Today can differentiate itself is the type of third-party commentaries it carries. The Straits Times' choice of commentaries is characterized by safe positions argued by the same names seen over and over again. Their local op-eds try very hard for "balance" (which I put in quotation marks because what is "balance" in the establishment's eyes looks awfully contrived in others'). I have respect for some of their columnists as they try to strain at the leash, but they will be the first to tell you, I am sure, that strain is sometimes what they have to do. The imported op-eds in the Straits Times often give a depressing appearance of propaganda. I mean, has it not struck you why they all seem to buttress the government's preferred way of seeing the world? The message seems to be, "see, all these worthies are saying the same things as your PAP government about the global economy, the rise of China and the evils of Muslim extremism. How can you not be convinced that the Singapore government is right?" But then, have you seen any articles in the Straits Times lately about the evils of Christian extremism? Or the perils of a headlong rush to globalisation? There is lots of room for more argumentative commentaries staking out unconventional positions, particularly about domestic affairs. There are plenty of local voices wanting to be heard on issues close to Singaporeans' hearts. If Today sets out to develop a working relationship with those among them who can write, the newspaper can find this to be rich source of free content (unlike the costly syndicated columns the Straits Times carries) giving a fresh, alternative, and maybe younger tone to Today. This may lay the groundwork for capturing the loyalty of the new generation. * * * * * All the above is not difficult to envision, and I'm not in the least suggesting that Today didn't think of them. Who am I, to quote that earthy Singaporean phrase, to teach a grandmother to suck eggs? (Don't ask. I have no idea about the origin of this phrase.) What I hope to achieve by sketching out this "business development plan", as it were, is to show that from a purely business point of view, there is a reasonable way for another serious newspaper to emerge in Singapore. Those who have been suggesting that Singapore is too small a market for 2 serious papers are making too hasty a judgement. At the same time, what is also obvious from the above sketch is how impossible the plan is. Can you imagine any of these ideas being carried out under the present government policies? To close, let me put the problem succinctly: How do we have two newspapers when we're only allowed one point of view? |
So much about MM Lee, are you guys fanatic fans of Lee??
Lee dun built Singapore alone ya, however he is a skill leader that instead of throwing a stone at the target, he got that ability to ask someone to throw it for him. And his ability to adapt to changes and environment condition with a good foresight is something we young ones should learn from him. If from 1955 till now, he did not change his believes against a backdrop of ever changing world but remain stubbornly following what he did in 1955, mostly he will be in somewhere near Koh Samui planting corns and rearing chickens.
"Young lady, if I am buried six foot underground, and if singapore shake, i will wake up and face the problem hard on, that is my commitment to Singapore" Dec 2006 Ngee Ann poly students dialogue with MM, the question asked by me was "Sir, you said you are totally committed to singapore, to what extend are you committed"
Originally posted by angel7030:So much about MM Lee, are you guys fanatic fans of Lee??
Lee dun built Singapore alone ya, however he is a skill leader that instead of throwing a stone at the target, he got that ability to ask someone to throw it for him. And his ability to adapt to changes and environment condition with a good foresight is something we young ones should learn from him. If from 1955 till now, he did not change his believes against a backdrop of ever changing world but remain stubbornly following what he did in 1955, mostly he will be in somewhere near Koh Samui planting corns and rearing chickens.
"Young lady, if I am buried six foot underground, and if singapore shake, i will wake up and face the problem hard on, that is my commitment to Singapore" Dec 2006 Ngee Ann poly students dialogue with MM, the question asked by me was "Sir, you said you are totally committed to singapore, to what extend are you committed"
Hello Angel
I think he and you same same leh..
Must be quite a sexy fella in his younger days..
Did he also whispered the words in your ears ??
" i will wake up and face the problem hard on"
But... I think now he just boasting lah...
How to get 'hard on' when already 86 years old ??
Originally posted by Lionnosy:
Hello AngelI think he and you same same leh..
Must be quite a sexy fella in his younger days..
Did he also whispered the words in your ears ??
" i will wake up and face the problem hard on"
But... I think now he just pretending lah...
How to get 'hard on' when already 86 years old ??
I dunno, with your dirty mind, you can try him out. There was a polymate of mine asked him "Minister Mentor, what was your youth life like comparing to what we had now"
MM answered with a smile "Well, I was not so lucky as you people now, there was a war that disrupted my life and I did not had clear vision as what you people now enjoy, you can plan your goals on what you want to do in 10 to 20 years time, and you can achieve it if u work hard on it and that the govt is still the same to help you achieve it, unlike our time, we dunno where we are going, you need the guts and a 50% of luck to pull thru it. So, I dun enjoy what you young peoples are enjoying now, at times, we cannot even predict what tomorrow would bring. But one thing for sure, at that age, I already have the heart of Singapore in me, those wars and colonisation had given me the fighting spirit for my country and the people of Singapore, and i hope you young peoples dun mess it up, believe in yourself, believe in the govt and have faith with your country, and that is Singapore."
Originally posted by angel7030:I dunno, with your dirty mind, you can try him out. There was a polymate of mine asked him "Minister Mentor, what was your youth life like comparing to what we had now"
MM answered with a smile "Well, I was not so lucky as you people now, there was a war that disrupted my life and I did not had clear vision as what you people now enjoy, you can plan your goals on what you want to do in 10 to 20 years time, and you can achieve it if u work hard on it and that the govt is still the same to help you achieve it, unlike our time, we dunno where we are going, you need the guts and a 50% of luck to pull thru it. So, I dun enjoy what you young peoples are enjoying now, at times, we cannot even predict what tomorrow would bring. But one thing for sure, at that age, I already have the heart of Singapore in me, those wars and colonisation had given me the fighting spirit for my country and the people of Singapore, and i hope you young peoples dun mess it up, believe in yourself, believe in the govt and have faith with your country, and that is Singapore."
Did you give your clitoris a rest, and now returning for your daily second orgasmic show of the Day - before romping on the streets in Geylang, Joo Chiat, Desker, Petain and Keong Siak ?
An "Attention Seeking Whore" will surely know how to make an old Dirty Harry to be a happy old Autocrat - singing the songs that will titilate his fragile frame and get the citizenship papers by hawking its Taiwanese 'hum'.
It will be helpful for Singapore morales if the wagging clitoris that uselessly hangout from the Taiwanese 'hum' find a new place to get its orgasmic shot twice a day.
Originally posted by angel7030:I dunno, with your dirty mind, you can try him out. There was a polymate of mine asked him "Minister Mentor, what was your youth life like comparing to what we had now"
Hello Angel
Don't anyhow say leh..
How can you accuse me of having a 'dirty mind' when it is the MM who whispered "hard on" to you ??
By the way, are you sure it is not your imagination running wild with the MM ??
You can remember MM's exact words / reply to your polymate meh ??
I don't think so leh...
Even your own Joo Chiat MP's name you cannot remember, how can you remember exactly what MM said to your polymate so many years ago..
Is Mr Chan Soon Seng still your MP for Joo Chiat ??
Hello AngelDon't anyhow say leh..
How can you accuse me of having a 'dirty mind' when it is the MM who whispered "hard on" to you ??
By the way, are you sure you it is not your imagination running wild with the MM ??
You can remember MM's exact words / reply to your polymate meh ??
I don't think so leh...
Even your own Joo Chiat MP's name you cannot remember, how can you remember exactly what MM said to your polymate so many years ago..
Is Mr Chan Soon Seng still your MP for Joo Chiat ??
I can't even remember my polymate name, but as for MM Lee dialogue, mostly likely i will remember for the rest of my life, we were special chosen to attend his dialogue ok.
If your mind is not stable, all kind of words can jumble up in your brain, for that you can ask your brain. I have no further comment.
Yes, Mr Chan is still our MP, recently met him at the new NTUC fairprice opening ceremony, look scholarly, but very Hokkien type. Like to joke alot, even teased my Viet gals.
Originally posted by Atobe:
Did you give your clitoris a rest, and now returning for your daily second orgasmic show of the Day - before romping on the streets in Geylang, Joo Chiat, Desker, Petain and Keong Siak ?
An "Attention Seeking Whore" will surely know how to make an old Dirty Harry to be a happy old Autocrat - singing the songs that will titilate his fragile frame and get the citizenship papers by hawking its Taiwanese 'hum'.
It will be helpful for Singapore morales if the wagging clitoris that uselessly hangout from the Taiwanese 'hum' find a new place to get its orgasmic shot twice a day.
Wha, Lau Hum ku, you know more dirtier places than me hahahaha...where is petain, desker and keong siak??
Singing songs was once a propaganda for the communist hor...so dun think sing songs is no use ya..."stand up for Singapore" Yeah!!!
hmm
MM lee is still very fit right?
Still can swin and play golf..
So good... life...
Yeah, i met him in Hongkong, shopping
Originally posted by angel7030:
Wha, Lau Hum ku, you know more dirtier places than me hahahaha...where is petain, desker and keong siak??Singing songs was once a propaganda for the communist hor...so dun think sing songs is no use ya..."stand up for Singapore" Yeah!!!
Why do you need to go to places that you do not even know ?
Just use your clitoris that hang it out of your Taiwanese 'hum' and your X-rated Hero will be only to happy to bring you over to satisfy your needs as an "Attention Seeking Whore".
Wha, Lau Hum ku, you know more dirtier places than me hahahaha...where is petain, desker and keong siak??Singing songs was once a propaganda for the communist hor...so dun think sing songs is no use ya..."stand up for Singapore" Yeah!!!
No need to be dirty to know these places. These are on TV, mediacorpse showed the or kui keng, brothels of the yester years.
Must update mediacorpse to include joo chiat as the present or kui keng, brothels and quote your nick.
Hahahahah
Base on the quotes, we see the practice of double standard.
"Long" live, mmlee
Originally posted by Fantagf:
No need to be dirty to know these places. These are on TV, mediacorpse showed the or kui keng, brothels of the yester years.Must update mediacorpse to include joo chiat as the present or kui keng, brothels and quote your nick.
Hahahahah
topic derailed. lol.
If the Taiwanese 'hum' is dumbfounded after being slapped - it certainly picked two odd balls to represent itself as a "hum" and as the "Attention Seeking Whore".
Originally posted by angel7030:Yeah, i met him in Hongkong, shopping
Just wondering..
What were you doing with the MM, shopping in Hong Kong ??
A sweet young thing of 21 (self-claimed) and an 86 years old shrivelled-up Dictator ??
I believe you have better taste in the qualities of your man, don't you ??
Don't be so desperado leh.
Just wondering..What were you doing with the MM, shopping in Hong Kong ??
A sweet young thing of 21 (self-claimed) and an 86 years old shrivelled-up Dictator ??
I believe you have better taste in the qualities of your man, don't you.
Don't be so desperado leh.
well, i saw his wax figure at the HK wax museum of Mdm Tussauds Wax.
That is problem with people, they never check it out and start to blame others. Next time be smart ya.
well, i saw his wax figure at the HK wax museum of Mdm Tussauds Wax.That is problem with people, they never check it out and start to blame others. Next time be smart ya.
You speak with double tongue leh..
In your earlier post, you clearly state that you met him in HongKong.
I know my England not so strong but met him shopping in Hongkong is not the same as saw his wax figure in the Madam's museum.. correct ??
You speak with double tongue leh..In your earlier post, you clearly state that you met him in HongKong.
I know my England not so strong but met him shopping in Hongkong is not the same as saw his wax figure in the Madam's museum.. correct ??
Lionnosy,
just ignore
try not to reply
have a look at http://sgforums.com/forums/8/topics/383922?page=2
Originally posted by I'm back:
Lionnosy,just ignore
try not to reply
It's ok lah..
Just to past time...
She is quite fun leh..