I believe that this is a topic that is not only brought up by me but also by many fellow Singaporeans. Somehow I felt that this topic has been avoided.
Our government puts strong emphasis on bringing in foreign talents to make up for our declining birth rates over the years. I support this effort. But it seems the government has portrayed such a movement to be the high influx of Bengali workers. What sort of culture is our government promoting?
A culture where we have 'peaceful' weekend of staring at people altogether?
I remember there was this 'staring' incident about a decade ago that resulted in gang fights. And thus, from there, the government actually discouraged such 'staring' incidents.
Maybe the 'staring' from the Bengalis are a in a different form. But there doesn't seem to be anyone discouraging them. And such group of people gathered in groups near shopping centres, MRT stations, wandering about, and of course, staring.
What about the term 'illegal gathering'? It somehow seems to be not there anymore?
The government also encourages more people to get married to establish families, to have kids. Weekends and public holidays are supposed to be family days. With so many Bengalis gathering at these public places where families used to gather, will the government be still be able to promote more birth rates?
Why is the government somehow promoting the presence of Bengalis instead? Why are we encouraging their disturbingly cheeky behaviour? Why are we having such foreigners squeezing up in supermarkets, purchasing just 1or 2 items in their baskets? Why are we having television programs telling us to understand these Bengali workers and their behaviours? Why must such education be brought to us and not to them, if the government intend to avoid their increasing presence? Isn't the government concerned about social imbalance?
i dun think its good to use the word "unsightly"...it will be the same remark made by ang mohs in other country when they see "chinks"...some even spit on the same yellow skin we are wearing....
i understand the concern for safety and it should be addressed for it is our ground (and if there is any cause for such alarm) ...but "unsightly" - no....its not the right word...thats too much..
its a matter of perception we see them...position them with all human features they have like us...that may minimize one's biasness...
one should read a Bengali poem (in english) called The Fugitive (filled with great passion for his motherland and the sadness of his discriminated nation)...by Rabindranath Tagore - the first Asian (and Bengali) to win the Nobel Prize
Because the construction sector need many workers.
I have no further comment.
Sensitive.
Ft problem
the concept of "neighbourhood watch" is in place but needs to strengthen and enhancement with efficient police forces...thats the best alternative to date...are we concerned with each other safety?
to segregate them likened to apartheid system is not the way of humane conduct...sending back is not economically viable as we need them..but there is a deep need for us to segregate coloured perception from safety issues....
to me, they are our "Renaissance Builders"
foreign talent.
They are here for construction work, i have no complain. But yea abt the illegal gathering numbers, they should do something abt it.
bo bian lar. they are also human beings, can go where they want on their off days.
one should read a Bengali poem (in english) called The Fugitive (filled with great passion for his motherland and the sadness of his discriminated nation)...by Rabindranath Tagore - the first Asian (and Bengali) to win the Nobel Prize
Hmmm, I'm interested to read it, but I can't find it on google...
very sad leh, i see TS topic... i am chinese and i feel that we need to have mutual respect with other people, even if their skin color is different. secondly, i kind of feel pity for those workers, imagine being in a foreign country where your family is so far away, all for the sake of putting food in the mouth and for the family... living in crowded bunks... it's not a fun life for sure... i think we have to put ourselves in their shoes, they didn't want to be born in a certain way, i'm sure if we can choose, many would want to be in the family of people like david beckham... but life is such we can't choose, let's try to be more respectful towards others?
TS perspective carry prejudice on Race and Color overtone.
Just remember they are construction workers......jobs that you would not do for $50 bucks a day under the hot Sun so that you have an air cond shopping Mall.
these folks only have 1 day a week to rest.
TS,
without them are you willing to take over the jobs they are currently doing?
Originally posted by eagle:
Hmmm, I'm interested to read it, but I can't find it on google...
If he send you any link can pass it to me too. I googled but not sure if it is what I'm supposed to find or not.
Originally posted by Arapahoe:TS perspective carry prejudice on Race and Color overtone.
Just remember they are construction workers......jobs that you would not do for $50 bucks a day under the hot Sun so that you have an air cond shopping Mall.
these folks only have 1 day a week to rest.
Not only that, I read in the papers that their working hours is 6am to 10pm, without overtime.
I think this thread ill be banned!
Originally posted by lionnoisy:I think this thread ill be banned!
this thread should be closed and the TS banned.
i wonder what is taking the moderators so long.
wth
they come here earn $$ cannot is it
Foreigners are now the new valued citizens and Singaporeans now are shabbily treated like we can go fly kite liao............
Everything you see around you was built by construction workers.
The Fugitive - http://www.gutenberg.org/etext/7971
Originally posted by Fenixx:Foreigners are now the new valued citizens and Singaporeans now are shabbily treated like we can go fly kite liao............
there is a difference between foreigners who are here doing jobs we shun and foreigners who are here taking away our jobs at lower pay.
we need the former and hate the latter.
The concept of "country", "foreigners" and "borders" in general is pretty childish, to be honest.
They are the minorities. We are the majorities. Why can't they be educated to understand us? If we are suppose to understand them, then shouldn't things be mutual?
Can't the government make it compulsory for employers to make them go for trainings to be more civilized before they can be hired?
TS, you really ought to befriend some of these guys. Chat to them about their family, where they come from. Hear their stories about their living conditions in Singapore, their low salaries and the extortion of agency fees, and get an understanding of what life is like for them. Then take a ride on a new MRT line and appreciate what they bring to Singapore. The education and thought process might make you a more tolerant and better person. (maybe).
ok. probably i should listen to their stories as they are looking at women and almost drooling.
probably i should listen out to people who are not even able to make calls overseas and hog on the phone.
agent money roughly sing $7000.00 for 2 yrs only