Originally posted by βÎτά:
Elections most likely not this year, cause PM has to wait for policy (eg HDB) changes to take effect, which is 3-6 months, before he announce to Singaporeans that he has managed to control the price of your HDB flat.
You will also notice that MRTs are getting less crowded because they have increased the train frequency. All this done in the preparation for GE.
You could ask yourselves this, they could have increased the MRT frequency for the past few years. Why have they not done so?
Because last time, not enough staff to handle MRT, as election loom ahead, I think MPs and senior rank civil servants also joined in to run the MRT system, you maybe surprise to see MPs handling MRT, most would have a cap on..to them, it worthwhile the effort, few months of suffering, end up 4 years of wealthy income, why not??
Today they increased the freq to meet the General Election objective,
after the General Election, they will also increase, but this time will be General Electricity
Originally posted by hisoka:talk so long all nonsense, never say important things like whether got goodies for us. waste time.
i cld not bother about what he talk talk. No more goodies, now everything is $$$$. Better not have $$ gift from govt. Give $1000, take back every cent and dollar later.
Originally posted by hasene:i cld not bother about what he talk talk. No more goodies, now everything is $$$$. Better not have $$ gift from govt. Give $1000, take back every cent and dollar later.
I agree. They give u gift short term one.
they win election GST 9 percent. Take back ur short term gift.
Hasene i am sorry lastime i bully u on eternal hope.
yawn....ZZzzzzz............!
are we still on this topics....
Originally posted by Rock^Star:PM has just told us again not to be complacent. How many times have we heard that over the years?? lol Have singaporeans been really complacent?
He has a "template" to follow that's why we hear repetitive words. Time for him to go upgrade his vocab.
Shallow talk! This is what we get when we pay him millions..
The more i think of the 9K incentive the more I think it is a stop loss program.
The younger generation are the least to attach to Singapore and they desperately needs to hold onto this generation.
That also explain why they don't need to compensate the older folks cause they aren't going anywhere....
I just think that the government is unable to deal with root cause of lower population and brain drain.
nothing else better to do wiv $$$.
hey why nobody ask why he never mention abt floods huh?
Originally posted by Rock^Star:hey why nobody ask why he never mention abt floods huh?
many forget liao
or distracted by the NSF controversy.
so many businesses suffered, cars scrapped, land value dropped and they keep quiet. Wonder what those owners think.
Originally posted by Rock^Star:so many businesses suffered, cars scrapped, land value dropped and they keep quiet. Wonder what those owners think.
they are the minority, doesn't matter.
Originally posted by Arapahoe:The more i think of the 9K incentive the more I think it is a stop loss program.
The younger generation are the least to attach to Singapore and they desperately needs to hold onto this generation.
That also explain why they don't need to compensate the older folks cause they aren't going anywhere....
I just think that the government is unable to deal with root cause of lower population and brain drain.
my suggestion to you is dun think, stay happy and go to sleep.
think angel is drunk.
Originally posted by Rock^Star:hey why nobody ask why he never mention abt floods huh?
He already mention it. That is the flooding of foreigners into Singapore.
Originally posted by Terminator Hitman:think angel is drunk.
ask you dun think already, why u keep thinking!!!,..go outside and stand
Originally posted by tranquilice:
He already mention it. That is the flooding of foreigners into Singapore.
Listen carefully!
1/3 of all Singaporean's jobs are already taken by foreigners! Plus another 80K coming in!
Think What Singapore is very big, isn't? Compared to Canada?
Phui!
Doesn't help the articles on the mainstream media that sometimes seemingly insult the intelligence of their readers. Case in point a recent article in the New Paper about how this reporter tried to avoid the services of all foreigners for three days, naturally she had problems and hence concluded at the end of the article "hey it's hard with em', but it'll be worse if Singapore didn't have them."
Which is completely missing the point. The point is not that we have foreigners, of course we have a need for them. The point is current policies are importing them under conditions that are unfair to local citizens, and this inequity is not being addressed sufficiently. I don't see them writing any serious articles on that. What they have been accusing locals of is being xenophobic.
Monetary rewards for NSmen receives thumbs up

A majority of Yahoo! Answers users disagree that the monetary incentives laid out by the government would “cheapen” the national duty of serving National Service (NS).
That sums up the sentiments of most respondents who responded to a question posted by Yahoo! Answers, “Should NS contribution be rewarded with money?“
In his National Day Rally speech, PM Lee Hsien Loong announced that NSmen will receive monetary rewards to recognise their contributions to the country.
According to the Ministry Of Defence, NSmen will receive up to $3,500 after the completion of each of the three cycles. There are a total of three significant stages in NS: Operationally Ready Date (ORD), Reservist training and Post-Reservist. This means Singaporean NSmen are eligible to receive up to $10,500 in monetary incentives.
Most of the respondents applauded the move and see it as a positive step to recognise the efforts of NSmen.
Yahoo! Answers user Emmanuel said, “Yes, rewarding NS contribution with money is most welcomed. This is one thing our government has the ability to provide to its citizens. With the high cost of living in Singapore, this can be a big help to the servicemen.”
Another user, Notgatherox, said, “NS men can use the money to pay for university when they leave NS.”
“Getting money for NS recognises NS men as valuable, and since they have devoted their years to NS, they should get something in return,” he added.
“Everyone knows that money cannot buy time. However, I applaud the government for giving out this incentive. It gives a sense of appreciation for the men who have served the country”, said Wandi.
One user, Mats said, “This should be seen as a very positive and good step and motivate all NSmen as they are getting an additional incentive in addition to the opportunity to serve the motherland.”
Then, there are those who argued that those who have completed their NS should not be forgotten.
Said Derek, “We hope the government can still remember the first generation of NSmen who set the base for SAF in the 60′s And 70′s.”
Jack K agreed, “If it is a form of recognition then it should apply to all who have served and that includes those who have already served and completed their reservist cycle.”
“It is not fair to the older group whom served their best and gave the best to the nation and was not even remembered or recognised,” said another user, Anthony Korea.
However, there were some who felt that the incentives would “cheapen” their services and as NS is a national duty.
Among them, Kee Hock said, “Being Singaporean is about loyalty and love for the country; it’s a true-blue qualitative and emotional bond. Money will just cheapen it.”
BB L commented,”It’s our duty to serve our nation, to protect our family and friends. Monetary reward is secondary.”
“It’s a duty to serve Singapore. The early generation of national servicemen served with pride without such reward,” said Alison Chan.
Under the rule, all the reporters have to end up writing fairy tales and listening to Gold 90 FM.
Dun blame them as they are tasked to white wash the issue.
Unless the readers are blind, the sentiments and truth are there for every one to see.
I would suggest that the event to be scrapped and released as a statement or video so that the money used for event can be donated to more charity organisations.
If this is the report card of what Mr Dunno-who have done, he would have been kicked out of school for showing too many irrelevant issues and giving himself too much credits.
No important issues were discussed and addressed.
That is also a proof of why so many money is still being spent to hire two retirees to babysit him.
Originally posted by Rock^Star:This Faris reporter chap is very, very, very HIGH on drugs. IF you take a look at the comments, at least 2/3 are negative :)
Monetary rewards for NSmen receives thumbs upBy Faris – September 3rd, 2010<!--div added because IE6-7 hate floated uls-->
A majority of Yahoo! Answers users disagree that the monetary incentives laid out by the government would “cheapen” the national duty of serving National Service (NS).
That sums up the sentiments of most respondents who responded to a question posted by Yahoo! Answers, “Should NS contribution be rewarded with money?“
In his National Day Rally speech, PM Lee Hsien Loong announced that NSmen will receive monetary rewards to recognise their contributions to the country.
According to the Ministry Of Defence, NSmen will receive up to $3,500 after the completion of each of the three cycles. There are a total of three significant stages in NS: Operationally Ready Date (ORD), Reservist training and Post-Reservist. This means Singaporean NSmen are eligible to receive up to $10,500 in monetary incentives.
Most of the respondents applauded the move and see it as a positive step to recognise the efforts of NSmen.
Yahoo! Answers user Emmanuel said, “Yes, rewarding NS contribution with money is most welcomed. This is one thing our government has the ability to provide to its citizens. With the high cost of living in Singapore, this can be a big help to the servicemen.”
Another user, Notgatherox, said, “NS men can use the money to pay for university when they leave NS.”
“Getting money for NS recognises NS men as valuable, and since they have devoted their years to NS, they should get something in return,” he added.
“Everyone knows that money cannot buy time. However, I applaud the government for giving out this incentive. It gives a sense of appreciation for the men who have served the country”, said Wandi.
One user, Mats said, “This should be seen as a very positive and good step and motivate all NSmen as they are getting an additional incentive in addition to the opportunity to serve the motherland.”
Then, there are those who argued that those who have completed their NS should not be forgotten.
Said Derek, “We hope the government can still remember the first generation of NSmen who set the base for SAF in the 60′s And 70′s.”
Jack K agreed, “If it is a form of recognition then it should apply to all who have served and that includes those who have already served and completed their reservist cycle.”
“It is not fair to the older group whom served their best and gave the best to the nation and was not even remembered or recognised,” said another user, Anthony Korea.
However, there were some who felt that the incentives would “cheapen” their services and as NS is a national duty.
Among them, Kee Hock said, “Being Singaporean is about loyalty and love for the country; it’s a true-blue qualitative and emotional bond. Money will just cheapen it.”
BB L commented,”It’s our duty to serve our nation, to protect our family and friends. Monetary reward is secondary.”
“It’s a duty to serve Singapore. The early generation of national servicemen served with pride without such reward,” said Alison Chan.
If give out money make ns men cheap, then reduce the ns lah.
Its Not about the incentives or recognition guys.....Its about STOP LOSS.
ERR..... the NDP message is over......dun brood over it liao...no use de....move on with your own life
Originally posted by Fcukpap:ERR..... the NDP message is over......dun brood over it liao...no use de....move on with your own life
LOL... Agree. 6 days ago matter liao.
Originally posted by Rock^Star:This Faris reporter chap is very, very, very HIGH on drugs. IF you take a look at the comments, at least 2/3 are negative :)
Monetary rewards for NSmen receives thumbs upBy Faris – September 3rd, 2010<!--div added because IE6-7 hate floated uls-->
Mr Vendetta,
You are not alone. When I read the article, I also pissed off.
Mr Brown even has a song for it. It entitled: Oh Army!
Have fun watch this:
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=oZpQmYO8S5s&feature=player_embedded
So the equivalent is that if people gave the government $9,000, their sons won't need to do NS? ![]()