By Hetty Musfirah | Posted: 28 October 2010 1620 hrs
|
||||||
SINGAPORE: Singapore's Minister in the Prime Minister's Office
Lim Boon Heng has indicated that the country may need to raise its
retirement age to 68.
Mr Lim, who's in Finland accompanying
President S R Nathan on his state visit there said Singaporeans need to
work longer as their life span increases.
That is because they need to accumulate more for their old age.
Mr
Lim who is also the minister in charge of issues on ageing in
Singapore, cited Finland as an example, and will use this trip as an
opportunity to study how the Finnish are dealing with their ageing
population.
Mr Lim added there are areas that Singapore can
emulate. One of which is to mobilise the elderly to organise themselves
and form retirement communities that can provide mutual support and
friendship.
A law that will make it mandatory for employers to offer re-employment to workers beyond the age of 62 will be in place by 2012.
"We
are raising the retirement age, through the process of re-employment
from the current 62 to 65 in January 2012. Beyond that we would have to
examine how we can further raise the retirement age. In Finland, they
have raised it to 68, so it gives us an indication about where we should
be heading.Because the Finns are not living longer than us, we have a
life expectancy of about 80, I think the finns are little less than us,"
said Mr Lim.
-CNA/ac
Source:
http://www.channelnewsasia.com/stories/singaporelocalnews/view/1089908/1/.html
i think sooner or later, the retirement age would be the time when they light the cremation fire to cremate your dead lifeless body...
Raise to 68 years old also no use. If they doesn't wanna employ you, you raise to 100 years old, the employer also doesn't even give a damn.
By the time i hit 68, retirement age would be 78.
Originally posted by Fallen-Angel:Raise to 68 years old also no use. If they doesn't wanna employ you, you raise to 100 years old, the employer also doesn't even give a damn.
40 year should be the new retirement age.
Quite true, I am 24... still desperately out there looking for a job... 3 months liao.... 24 also got problem finding job... 44 even harder.
Originally posted by Junyang700:By the time i hit 68, retirement age would be 78.
You are so ... optimistic.
Originally posted by charlize:You are so ... optimistic.
So u tink its 88?
From 55 to 62, now 68. Step by step they are going to do away with retirement.
Not a problem, not painful for losses by TH. Raise retirement age, fares, bills, rates, prices for HDB flats, COE prices and GST rate to recoup the losses.
Originally posted by onźźa:From 55 to 62, now 68. Step by step they are going to do away with retirement.
Not a problem, not painful for losses by TH. Raise retirement age, fares, bills, rates, prices for HDB flats, COE prices and GST rate to recoup the losses.
You forgot...
55 > 62 --> 65 --> 67 (Jan 2012) --> 68 .....
I guess mine is 78....
Eh, he was in Finland when he made this annoucement.
Hmm.
Originally posted by Junyang700:You forgot...
55 > 62 --> 65 --> 67 (Jan 2012) --> 68 .....
I guess mine is 78....
They are fast in their plan. Give it a couple of years, it will be no retirement. This suits LKY.
Originally posted by onźźa:They are fast in their plan. Give it a couple of years, it will be no retirement. This suits LKY.
There shall be no retirement age!
retirement age is never a problem to me. but uncontrolled, massive influx of Power Rangers to the island unchecked and too fast will cause problems. that's it i will remain single ad no more offsprings to this world and spore to see them suffer later.
Originally posted by troublemaker2005:retirement age is never a problem to me. but uncontrolled, massive influx of Power Rangers to the island unchecked and too fast will cause problems. that's it i will remain single ad no more offsprings to this world and spore to see them suffer later.
Go go power rangers... Mighty power... Go go power rangers...almighthy rangerrrrrrsss.....
Originally posted by Junyang700:There shall be no retirement age!
Old man wants this. Question: are they hastening this to materialize before he breathes his last?
Not surprised even if its raise to 145.
I doubt so.... But my sentiment tells me the govt hasnt really prepared for so many elderly...
They are trying to make the younger generation work longer so that they have enough CPF funds for the elderly to withdraw....
Last time i remember 55 can take everything... all take out spend all.. now no money... keep asking for assistance....
And with Temasek Holdings losing money every now and then... it really bothers me especially when am i so young... and dunno whether i can eventually get a single cent out from my CPF! -_-"
Make the old work so they need not take care of them. I questioned his motive when Lee Kuan You talked about old people can find work in food courts. WAs like out of sudden he was caring for the old.
Its a nice way of telling you there are jobs available.. why dun u try them out instead of I cant help you... go find some work to do... or starve...
It has long been their agenda , we only care about using you to increase our riches. Whatever problems you have , solve them yourself. We are not willing to spend money on helping you.
That is how we see so many wayang. CDC is a great example.
If they can completely don't care they will
we are running on auto pilot mode.
soon they will just ban the word "retirement" from sg lah..
when you say retir... ISD gonna...... craaaaccc
they should have just go right to the point Singaporean are on....99 yrs lease..
hoseh liao....work until die !!
soon it will be, singapore cant afford to have its citizen retire. All citizen will work until the day they get boxed up