Originally posted by Demon Bane:Will the govt know which party I vote? Is voting really a secret?
So what if voting is not secret? What can PAP do to you if they know you didn't vote them?
33% voted for opposition last election. Did PAP do anything to these voters? Take their flats away? Take away their jobs? Put them in jail?
Originally posted by Demon Bane:If opposition wins 50% seats how? What will happen to Singapore then?
More good years for Singapore native citizens? Foreigners will pack bag and return home?
But one thing for sure is, if opposition wins 50% seats, PAP is going to be fixed and maybe even collapse!
later only 1 whole grc, all no need to vote
Originally posted by FBFIce:later only 1 whole grc, all no need to vote
They might as well implement a law to ban opposition, then everyone forever no need to vote.
Originally posted by Demon Bane:If opposition wins 50% seats how? What will happen to Singapore then?
Don't worry about the PAP, they can continue to oddly run SG via their political extension: the 'PA' [[email protected]] (illicitly) and indefinitely.
At least so long as complaints like:
MND continues to throw smoke bombs over role of PAP “grassroots advisers”
October 27th, 2009, From our Correspondent
The National Development Ministry has continued to throw smoke-bombs over the role of PAP“grassroots advisers” in a letter written by its press secretary Lim Yuin Chien, which was published in the Straits Times Forum today.
The letter was a direct rebuttal of a biting commentary published last week by Straits Times senior correspondent Sue-Ann Chia [alt link] who earlier questioned the seemingly conflicting roles of a MP and grassroots adviser.
Mr Lim wrote that “the roles of MP and adviser are distinct and separate, even though government MPs, wearing their other hat of advisers, are expected to perform both roles.”
“Opposition MPs cannot be appointed advisers, because they do not answer to the ruling party. They have no constitutional or legal obligation to carry out national programmes on the Government’s behalf. Nor can the Government hold them to account if they perform this role unsatisfactorily.” he added.That’s where Mr Lim is wrong. There is no such thing as a “government MP.” The correct term to use should be “PAP MPs”.
The PAP is NOT the government of Singapore which can be formed by a coalition of parties.
Mr Lim re-emphasized that “the LUP is not a town council programme. It is a national programme which receives most of its funding from the Government.”
And where does the government receive its funding from? From every citizen of Singapore including the residents of Hougang and Potong Pasir.
There is absolutely no reason why opposition MPs cannot be appointed as grassroots advisers unless they decline to work with the government.
The root cause of the problem lies in the lack of a clearly defined demarcation between the state and the party which resulted in many supposedly apolitical institutions like the People’s Association being made use of by the PAP to serve its partisan interests.
As the People’s Association is a statutory board, its members and grassroots advisers should have no political affiliations.
It is disingenuous of the PAP to appoint their losing candidates to continue “serving” in the opposition wards under the veneer of being the “grassroots advisers” appointed by the PA.
http://www.temasekreview.com/2009/10/27/mnd-continues-to-throw-smoke-bombs-over-role-of-pap-grassroots-advisers/
Continually end up like,
PAP 'grassroots advisers' will always have a part to play in govt funded 'upgrading schemes' so ling as SGporeans continually 'bite their bait' of voting the ruling party to get their 'priority upgrading' done.
So:
The comments are worth reading.
Originally posted by tranquilice:
So what if voting is not secret? What can PAP do to you if they know you didn't vote them?33% voted for opposition last election. Did PAP do anything to these voters? Take their flats away? Take away their jobs? Put them in jail?
You're optimistic about opposition winning this time round? I think someday may reach 50% opposition....it'll be interesting to see what happens to Singapore....
More good years for Singapore native citizens? Foreigners will pack bag and return home?But one thing for sure is, if opposition wins 50% seats, PAP is going to be fixed and maybe even collapse!
PAP will always be around....they done a great job upgrading SG to be a fully developed country. But some people not happy will vote for opposition....what have opposition done or contribute to our country?
If the opposition can even garner at least 43% this time round, I swear never to post in this forum again.
Originally posted by ditzy:If the opposition can even garner at least 43% this time round, I swear never to post in this forum again.
Hahaha! Are u optimistic about the opposition too?
Originally posted by Demon Bane:PAP will always be around....they done a great job upgrading SG to be a fully developed country. But some people not happy will vote for opposition....what have opposition done or contribute to our country?
How much do you think opposition can contribute when there are only 2 of them in parliament?
How much do you think opposition can contribute when there are 20 of them in parliament?
Originally posted by charlize:
Pigs like to wallow in mud.
You think that they are dressed in suits and are honourable, but the fact is they are all pigs.
Originally posted by ditzy:If the opposition can even garner at least 43% this time round, I swear never to post in this forum again.
Obviously, you know you will be posting here again
If we think carefully about opposition, there's only a few of them in parliament, make no difference....So what's the point of voting for opposition?
Originally posted by Demon Bane:If we think carefully about opposition, there's only a few of them in parliament, make no difference....So what's the point of voting for opposition?
Then vote more in lor.
2 not enough, vote in 40 lor.
Originally posted by charlize:Then vote more in lor.
2 not enough, vote in 40 lor.
If votes amount to 50%, I wonder what will happen to Singapore....every policy also difficult to pass....becos of different opinions, every decision will be slow....
Originally posted by Demon Bane:If votes amount to 50%, I wonder what will happen to Singapore....every policy also difficult to pass....becos of different opinions, every decision will be slow....
You sound like a broken record.
I guess you like to be told what to do, when to do, and where to do without questioning why.
Originally posted by charlize:You sound like a broken record.
I guess you like to be told what to do, when to do, and where to do without questioning why.
No lah....its just that voting for opposition is risky....PAP is a safe bet. If you like to play safe, better vote for the majority. Hahaha!
Originally posted by Demon Bane:No lah....its just that voting for opposition is risky....PAP is a safe bet. If you like to play safe, better vote for the majority. Hahaha!
You win you win.
Originally posted by charlize:You win you win.
I hope after the GE, the COE and HDB prices will fall. Now they both at historical high levels....
Originally posted by sgdiehard:How much do you think opposition can contribute when there are 20 of them in parliament?
At the very least, hope they can prevent PAP rubbber stamping policies. Whether it can be achieved or not, we must really vote 20 of them into parliament to know.
Originally posted by Demon Bane:If we think carefully about opposition, there's only a few of them in parliament, make no difference....So what's the point of voting for opposition?
If we think carefully about PAP, there's so much of them (estimated 99%) in parliament, make no difference... So what's the point of voting in more PAP MPs? To get 100%?