http://www.channelnewsasia.com/news/singapore/5-000-gather-for-protest-mass-picnic-at-/660334.html
CNA sez got 5000 turnouts.
Originally posted by zulkifli mahmood:The Mediacorps news and CNA reported only 200 turn ups at the Hong Lim speaker corner but I don’t believe them…they are pro government. Whereas Yahoo Singapore reported about 5000 to 6000 crowds were present.
POWER! POWER! Keep it up and continue having that kind of protest gathering often at Hong Lim Park speaker corner until the 2016 GE. POWER! Salute!
Originally posted by Mr Milo:will these protests make a difference?
Originally posted by Lazybumy:
I don't think it will make any different. To the elites, it is just noise. The only way to make them listen is only through voting
we have to make our opinions heard, and why we do it. only then we will get the votes.
we have to voice our anti-white paper feelings regularly, HLP is a place to do it legally. then voters can justify their votes for oppositions that are good and willing to serve the people in GE2016. we need someone are are closer to the people than those who seemed distance away, only heard from grassroots leaders lah, then caomment. what if somehow a grassroot leader is screwed upone how?
Ex-presidential candidate Tan Jee Say turns May Day protest into 'political rally'
Change the Govt: Tan Jee Say
HIS plan to help workers?
Change the Government, said former presidential candidate Tan Jee Say yesterday at Hong Lim Park. He was not against foreign workers in Singapore, but blamed current policies for allowing them in.
"Do not vote PAP out of gratitude because gratitude is about the past, not for the future," he said.
"Vote for the future, not the past."
Mr Tan, who also stood and lost at the 2011 General Election in Holland-Bukit Timah GRC as a Singapore Democratic Party candidate, described the Population White Paper as a plot against Singaporeans.
Ten others spoke about their concerns ranging from human rights to bread-and-butter issues before Mr Tan.
Speaking on infrastructure, he said places such as Hong Kong built infrastructure first before bringing in more people, but the exact opposite was done here.
"The only way... is to change the Government," he told the crowd.
"The fact is the opposition today is more ready than PAP was in 1959."
He said the opposition now has seven PhD holders.
"By the next general election in 2016, more will join us, like many of you here in the audience," he said.
He said it was possible for different opposition parties to form a coalition government.
He said: "Go for it Singapore, your life will taste much better under a 'rojak' coalition."
News, The New Paper, Thursday, May 2 2013, Pg 3
Originally posted by M the name:
Ex-presidential candidate Tan Jee Say turns May Day protest into 'political rally'
Change the Govt: Tan Jee Say
HIS plan to help workers?
Change the Government, said former presidential candidate Tan Jee Say yesterday at Hong Lim Park. He was not against foreign workers in Singapore, but blamed current policies for allowing them in.
"Do not vote PAP out of gratitude because gratitude is about the past, not for the future," he said.
"Vote for the future, not the past."
Mr Tan, who also stood and lost at the 2011 General Election in Holland-Bukit Timah GRC as a Singapore Democratic Party candidate, described the Population White Paper as a plot against Singaporeans.
Ten others spoke about their concerns ranging from human rights to bread-and-butter issues before Mr Tan.
Speaking on infrastructure, he said places such as Hong Kong built infrastructure first before bringing in more people, but the exact opposite was done here.
"The only way... is to change the Government," he told the crowd.
"The fact is the opposition today is more ready than PAP was in 1959."
He said the opposition now has seven PhD holders.
"By the next general election in 2016, more will join us, like many of you here in the audience," he said.
He said it was possible for different opposition parties to form a coalition government.
He said: "Go for it Singapore, your life will taste much better under a 'rojak' coalition."
News, The New Paper, Thursday, May 2 2013, Pg 3
Tan Jee Say forgot that it was the WP who are in the parliament, and his last bid to become the opposition head failed miserably.
More PhD means more ready to govern? that is exactly the problem with the PAP!!! It is obvious that Tan JS doesn't learn, who won't the last by election, a doctor or a lady on the ground.
another crown....![]()
whatever it is we have to opoose the white paper. this one is critical and if many more actions is put into force and carried out so as to make the white paper true, then like what they say sgreans and sg is screwed!
not what they say during the ally dont hold grounds. it is possible.
we have to opose the white paper as priority.
Originally posted by sgdiehard:
Tan Jee Say forgot that it was the WP who are in the parliament, and his last bid to become the opposition head failed miserably.
More PhD means more ready to govern? that is exactly the problem with the PAP!!! It is obvious that Tan JS doesn't learn, who won't the last by election, a doctor or a lady on the ground.
another crown....
At leaast aim for more votes and get more opposition into parliament.
enough to oppose their decision making and push for a stop or change of course to the white paper. this pice of paper is damgerous and detrimental toour local sg population!
we should stop diogging and buildng MRT lines now we should look at the root of the problem to overcrowding and coejction and frequent break downs. out oldest EW line served us for so long yet later then start to break, is it they cannot serve such a high traffic with high population?! then why the newwer circle lines and other lines start to break so easily?
we have to maintain forignen PR new citizen population at an X figure. the next year when the figure start to drop then we increase to make it back to even. same as foriegn labor. when one leave, the comapny then hire another to replace. not just suka suka anyhow let company get them in, not suka suka immigration has no final review in approving them in. this setting number should not take precedence over our local sg ppulation's natureal growth. if we can make 1.3 next year, then we adjust the PR and new citizen numbers to accustom to our local population groeth. not anyhow make projection and take them in first. like this years' localn population growth number percentage results out that will set the atrget for next year how mnay PR and citizen ship we give. every year do this way will ensure we will not be over populated. 5.3 million is the max we have have at this momnet considering the jam we are seeing and experiecneing every day.
our main forcus attention is to turn to our local pupoulation growth now!
we have to do more so that our own family and couples feel secure to start having chewren. then we can grow our population NATURALLY! if we dont start somewhere, don start now, we ar really SCREWED!
foreign workforce should only be a substitute and enhancement to our singapore workforce, judging by the white toilet papi they are using foreign workforce as our main wrofoce. and PR and new citizen will be supplements to our population, not taking over as a rojak population that they intend to put singapore into. even in rojak which is the main ingredient? definitely not pineapple. they now decide to put all the pineapple and remove the other ingredients and serve it as rojak. sorry if i want more pineapple i will order pineapple juice! this foreign worforce thing is straight forward. if a company need x workers, there is no reason to say we must issue x+1 numebr of passes away. if 10 years down the road our compnay numbers remain and they allonly need x number of workers to keep the company operational, then there is no need to increase foreign workers in at all! only when one leave then another cum in to take his place. otherwise lots of redundant talent swondering around the island - lots of social issue!
We are in a peculiar situation.
We dont expand population, we die. (whoever denies this has no idea of the competition at our doorstep)
We expand population, we die.
My peers reckon SG will soon be back with Msia in no time.
And I don't think that's a far-fetched thought.
Originally posted by SBS2601D:We are in a perculiar situation.
We dont expand population, we die. (whoever denies this has no idea of the competition at our doorstep)
Originally posted by SBS2601D:We are in a perculiar situation.
that's why i say the number influc and flow of population and foreign workers should be reviewed yearly and regulated yearly. not just anyhow put solution like the white paper. this will ensure we stay in the mean figure, movig up a little when it decrease, down when it increase, maintaining a desirable and helathy figure of locals against foreign.
so what if we have more people? be it locals of foregn or immigrants and more foreign talen sin our workforce? they drive wages down further how long you think that can last when everything here living standard is so high?
another thing mentioned during the HLP speeches on white paper speakers mentioned about how to transform our industrial and revamp it so that we are not competing in the low cost market.
when you mention our competition, in the region now mostly are low cost ones, we have to forgo this market and open new ones so as to attract investors to come here. instead of fighthgtinh with our competitors on cost that we dont have an edge over already.
if we connot do this, then we are really dead!
Originally posted by sgdiehard:
another crown....
in your opinion TJ S does not listen, what about the beloved PAP? PAP very the perfect the leh ![]()
hey, where were u the past 10 yrs?
Originally posted by FireIce:hey, where were u the past 10 yrs?
Does it really matters?
Btw, hopefully u will be happy to pay your housing loan with 30 years of your entire life.
Maybe pay lesser if u choose Pungol or Jalan Baha.Commute more than 90 minutes to work.
U maybe not in this group , how about the next generation.
Originally posted by Smarttech.888:
Maybe pay lesser if u choose Pungol or Jalan Baha.Commute more than 90 minutes to work.
i can tell u it is not more than 90 mins. ![]()
btw was i toking to u? ![]()
Originally posted by Smarttech.888:
Does it really matters?
Btw, hopefully u will be happy to pay your housing loan with 30 years of your entire life.
U maybe not in this group , how about the next generation.
hi smarttech. pardon me but paying of loan how long is depend on the flats cost proce. so on the lease thing versus repayment loan we see which is logocal. they have to control on lease so that land is not owned by people. we are scarce on that/ for HDB they awasy have the option to transfer ownership to siblings should parents are gone. the main problme with loan repayment is the price of flats.
and why it is going sky high mainly due to people rent it out (high property tax) and people selling it not like investment but like money making spinning casio bets instead of really put their mind to work to make a livlihood.
Originally posted by Deacon Blue:that's why i say the number influc and flow of population and foreign workers should be reviewed yearly and regulated yearly. not just anyhow put solution like the white paper. this will ensure we stay in the mean figure, movig up a little when it decrease, down when it increase, maintaining a desirable and helathy figure of locals against foreign.
so what if we have more people? be it locals of foregn or immigrants and more foreign talen sin our workforce? they drive wages down further how long you think that can last when everything here living standard is so high?
another thing mentioned during the HLP speeches on white paper speakers mentioned about how to transform our industrial and revamp it so that we are not competing in the low cost market.
when you mention our competition, in the region now mostly are low cost ones, we have to forgo this market and open new ones so as to attract investors to come here. instead of fighthgtinh with our competitors on cost that we dont have an edge over already.
if we connot do this, then we are really dead!
You are out-dated.
Msia has been competing....or attempting to compete with us on our traditional grounds (i.e manufacturing and transport services). So too has Thailand. Aren't these our immediate neighbours in fact?
The White Paper is not there for no reason. And this year LTA will release its Master Plan, which will plot our future macro outlook for infrastructure.
What's wrong with the White Paper? A lot of SInkies dont even bother to read it! They just lap up the "controvesial" parts without looking at the methodologies and reasoning behind these parts.
Who says that the policies aren't reviewed anyway? We have in fact been flexible on many of our policies (except the fundamental ones which incidentally have been the most "controvesial" as well). I cite you the LTA 2008 Master Plan for that, you will see that we haven't followed it to its entirety.
Bottomline, of the 4 Tigers in Asia, we haven't been reinventing ourselves as rapidly. It might not have been anybody's fault actually because by relying on MNCs, we have also usually been able to escape financial crises with little damage and still be able to catch the growth waves each time. But nothing comes free in this world. We will pay the price of playing the catch-up game in return.
Whenever people bemoan "sky-high costs", "lack of opposition", FTs etc etc, I think back of my time in Bangladesh where I met countless kids who can only tell me that they want to be rickshaw-pullers, farmers, housewife etc etc.
And it pains me when I come back and I see people taking opportunities for granted. And I daresay Singkie kids and adults have plenty in fact by comparison! Must we wait till we lose something before we appreciate it?
To SBS2601D,
Do u agreed with me that infrastructure should be ready before influxs of FTs?
Or FTs come in first then follow by infrastructure which is the current situtation.
Many Singaporean have lost the jobs to FTs, hopefully this won't happen to u and the next generation.
Denmark with population of 5millions, do u think they are poor , not enough ppl to regulate the economics.
Cut the craps!
Originally posted by Smarttech.888:To SBS2601D,
Do u agreed with me that infrastructure should be ready before influxs of FTs?
Or FTs come in first then follow by infrastructure which is the current situtation.
Many Singaporean have lost the jobs to FTs, hopefully this won't happen to u and the next generation.
Denmark with population of 5millions, do u think they are poor , not enough ppl to regulate the economics.
Cut the craps!
A Swiss I met at South Asia had nothing but complaints about his country (especially NS) and said outsiders wouldn't understand anyway how come sucide rates are so high when his country looked so pleasant. (Singkies like myself heaped plenty of praises on this country)
Each country has their unique set of problems you know?
But do you know what is it like to have no opportunities in sight?
You wouldn't...unless you have talked to kids in improverished countries.
They had "a chance" to escape poverty in the form of schools sponsored by NGOs and such. Yet they still think its hopeless anyway.
At the end of the day, its better to focus on what you have, not what you lack.
If people do not look holistically at the root causes of our woes, then we will never "solve" (if that can even be done) the problem.
I already said: No FT, we mati, got FT, also mati!
Don't you understand this salient point?
2601-
the solution to this got - die, no - also die is moderation, that those white pants people and their civil servs lazy to do.
monitor yearly athe figure to maintain. if our birth rate a little high this year, we maintain the current foreign immigrant citizens PR. if its less, we bring in a little to cover. moving forward. not just throw one number close eyes and in the course cause lots more problem!
you know what is tai-chi?!
people now here use it to interpret as push away of onuses and rsponsibilities! due to the kungfu or exercise stances and movements, or rather this exercise than regulates andstrengthen the human body.
however in my opinion that is just observation and casual remarks.
the white pant fishhead is like playing tai-chi. becasue he know only how to push and pull, but dont know how to regulate the push and pull so that it balances like the ying and the yang - the taijitu.
A true tai-chi master grade ruler with use the puull and push factor in balance, to regulate his own body chi to promote health, and regulate his surronding to control force, positive or negative ones.
yes he is a tachi practitioner- but not a true one. just at the level when people address to as pushing onuses, instead of a true one that regulates energies.

Originally posted by SJS6638:in your opinion TJ S does not listen, what about the beloved PAP? PAP very the perfect the leh
That is why you want to vote your beloved PAP out. don't vote TJS in then go Hong LIm Park and ask people to vote him out. Jia Ba Bu Dia Jit Zor. ![]()