Originally posted by mrsmall:
I got a fish tank in my home size 2ft
i had the pump, air pump, light and at bottom some pebble stones all i set every thing work properly
total i got 20 fishes of 10 very tiny fishes and 10 baby gold fishes
feeding two times a day, the name i forgot , ting pinkish red balls
but my water within two days very dirty leh
i saw aquarim shop and some other places all very clear leh
two days one time clean the tank and put water
ayiah im tired leh
one week or two week one time change ok lah
but my case....
im just started to keep fish tank in my home
pls give your advice what is the problem i have and what is the
best idea to minimize the water replace.
first of all, tank is too small for so many fishes as said by many of those who have replied.
secondly, you feel tired changing the water of the tank - your pet fishes' lives depends on you...if you find changing water a bit troublesome, i suggest you stop rearing fishes and give it to other interested parties ( i have tried that, result - my fishes die=it Suc*s to see your pet fishes die lor) better learn more tips on rearing fishes or give it away to put it out of misery staying in a dirty fish tank
thirdly, as said by some, if you are having too many fishes inside your tank, make sure you jolly well get hold of a super good filter which cleans the water clearly...there are some filters which cannot make it, be sure not to buy the wrong ones...
fourthly, your mixing of fishes are wrong...your tiny little fishes mixing with goldfishes, goldfishes eat a lot, if you don't know that. so by mixing them together they are very greedy and will eat all those things that you throw inside...either they eat too much = bloat to death or your tiny fishes gets nothing to eat during feeding times...
fifth, tiny fishes need to match with other types of fishes but not goldfish...it's definately a wrong mix, consult the shop tender for more questions on mixing of fishes. It's best to keep goldfish together with goldfish and nothing else..if you can, separate the 2 types of fishes...
six, if you want to rear tiny fishes, i suggest you get some plants to go with them minus the goldfish....if not your tank will appear too empty
lastly, i hope you have a wonderful time rearing those fishes to a healthy growth provided you do some homework and asking around for help on maintaining your fish tank, if your lazy, then just hire some experts to help you do the job, they do offer such services. you can call them if you want.