why do u need to be mentally prepared for operation?Originally posted by sEphIrOth:i am going for surgery but i do not know what is stopping me. i am not mentally prepared.
currently i am studying in republic poly.
my sem starts in 2 weeks time and there will be no time to operate.
my next breaks are in dec and feb
i dont know whether to operate in dec or feb
the latest dilemma is that i need to operate within 90days of the injury if not i will not be insured. if i operate in dec or feb, i will not be compensated. that means paying >10k!
i dont know what to do. to forgo the money and be prepared, or to just go for it, facing the fear and continue being on crutches for 1 whole sem
mainly the issues are money and the mental preparation. i cannot choose between both. i would like some advice. thanks.
That's where friends and family can help.Originally posted by sEphIrOth:i am going for surgery but i do not know what is stopping me. i am not mentally prepared.
wah got mum to help you some more... tell her your fears and ask her to make all the decisions for you and bring you there and back...Originally posted by sEphIrOth:thanks alot all. i will book a date and go for it asap. but mom says 7th month try not to...so...asap
thanks.
Originally posted by AndrewPKYap:wah got mum to help you some more... tell her your fears and ask her to make all the decisions for you and bring you there and back...
Tell her "I scared, you make all the decisions, make all the appointments and bring me there and back". Tell her that and mothers know exactly what to do. They used to do that when you were little.
Last time I went to a talk about Medical Technology... I saw the inside liao.. Nothing scary. The internet also got alot picture..Originally posted by sEphIrOth:there is a risk of the meniscus wearing out day by day. however, the doctor still dare tell me regional anesthetic is fun cause i can see what's in my leg
but then i think i prefer general.
i think its just a few days stay. not really THAT major, but still considered major.
but the main factor is i cannot stand someone cutting my leg up!Originally posted by Darkness_hacker99:Last time I went to a talk about Medical Technology... I saw the inside liao.. Nothing scary. The internet also got alot picture..
hey i like youOriginally posted by bluecom:The reason for local anesthetic is because it's safer for the surgery. the anesthetic is only needed around the area, in this case it's your leg? so there is no point risking other part of your body like your heart, brain, stomach, etc. Why I said risk? because your nerves are practically "sleeping" during that, and "sleeping" nerves are not good. When cell is 'idle', it doesn't really have enough energy and enough oxygen. The risk? the cell can die. Well,.. every second there are some cells of our body die, but imagine if you have to bring down the whole body?
There are cases where without proper anesthetic, after the surgery the patient couldn't wake up, hence they are in 'coma' condition for ages. Some died. Why? because the doze that is given is the standard, which is safe to almost all people. But it is "almost all" and not "all". Some people are unique, they body will react in unique way and totally different from the majority. Hence it is fatal to assume.
So,.. local anesthetic is your best option.
If you are really scared, tell the doctor. If he tries to make fun of it and try to kid around.. say that you are serious (with a very serious face like you are going to eat him).
When you lie down, you can ask them to cover your upper body and head,.. or simply close your eyes. Try to think about something else, or sing a song in your heart. If you are Christian, then I would say prayer and worship will be very comforting. And just keep one thing in mind during that: the doctor is the expert! he has been facing the same cases for so many times, he is so familiar with it. do you have any idea how many people go for surgery in one day? how many patients he's dealing with in one month? you are just one of many, he will be easily taking care of you.
About your study,.. as you recover, you'll be able to catch up. Everyone knows first few weeks is the basic of the entire semester's material. You can also ask your friends to assist you in catching up. and if you are still worried, you can talk to your lecturer (if they are 'ok' type) about your concern BEFORE the surgery. Why before? so it doesn't sound like an excuse to fail, and some more it will make you sound like a hard-studying student who is concern about the academic performance. Lecturers love them.
do you have a choice?Originally posted by sEphIrOth:but the main factor is i cannot stand someone cutting my leg up!![]()
ermm... ok... I like you too ?Originally posted by TehJarVu:hey i like you![]()
thanks alot... but however...the only 2 fears i have areOriginally posted by bluecom:The reason for local anesthetic is because it's safer for the surgery. the anesthetic is only needed around the area, in this case it's your leg? so there is no point risking other part of your body like your heart, brain, stomach, etc. Why I said risk? because your nerves are practically "sleeping" during that, and "sleeping" nerves are not good. When cell is 'idle', it doesn't really have enough energy and enough oxygen. The risk? the cell can die. Well,.. every second there are some cells of our body die, but imagine if you have to bring down the whole body?
There are cases where without proper anesthetic, after the surgery the patient couldn't wake up, hence they are in 'coma' condition for ages. Some died. Why? because the dosage that is given is the standard, which is safe to almost all people. But it is "almost all" and not "all". Some people are unique, they body will react in unique way and totally different from the majority. Hence it is fatal to assume.
So,.. local anesthetic is your best option.
If you are really scared, tell the doctor. If he tries to make fun of it and try to kid around.. say that you are serious (with a very serious face like you are going to eat him).
When you lie down, you can ask them to cover your upper body and head,.. or simply close your eyes. Try to think about something else, or sing a song in your heart. If you are Christian, then I would say prayer and worship will be very comforting. And just keep one thing in mind during that: the doctor is the expert! he has been facing the same cases for so many times, he is so familiar with it. do you have any idea how many people go for surgery in one day? how many patients he's dealing with in one month? you are just one of many, he will be easily taking care of you.
About your study,.. as you recover, you'll be able to catch up. Everyone knows first few weeks is the basic of the entire semester's material. You can also ask your friends to assist you in catching up. and if you are still worried, you can talk to your lecturer (if they are 'ok' type) about your concern BEFORE the surgery. Why before? so it doesn't sound like an excuse to fail, and some more it will make you sound like a hard-studying student who is concern about the academic performance. Lecturers love them.
So erm, go for GA. You'll only have to fear once.Originally posted by sEphIrOth:thanks alot... but however...the only 2 fears i have are
needles and knowing someone is cutting me up. those 2 barriers are enough to scare me. i knw i dont have a choice...but i really am confused.
wah so dangerous sia. ltr he help u operate dhn u kena .Originally posted by sEphIrOth:and hor this doctor...very muddle headed one....
gave my mom 2/3 injections...went to pick a phone call...forgot about the third!
we r considering better surgeons!