16 Oct, 06:37AM in sunny Singapore!
Home Aunt Agony

Help ! Acne skin

Subscribe to Help ! Acne skin 78 posts

Please Login or Signup to reply.
    4,041 posts since Mar '07
    • I've been looking through the past topics but I don't see much help to my current state. I've got a oily skin prone to blemish, but after consulting GP I don't get zit nowadays, maybe a small one in a week or something.

The thing is, my acne scars (fyi redness on skin ) don't seem to fade away. They remain there for a long time. I've tried a lot of methods, e.g. drinking lots of water ( Yeah I know it doesn't work :/ ), exfoliate,... even the microdermabrasion from Neutrogena works wonder .. not.

My scars really made my self esteem fell to the lowest. I'm embarrased to even step out of the house without using concealer to lighten the scars. What's worse, my blocked pores with the scars compounded to my skin problem. My face simply looks dreadful to me ! I need a solution ASAP. Many thanks !

Edited by dbowie 12 Apr `08, 8:59PM
  • Queen of sgForums
    Hottest.&.Coolest.Mod
    163,698 posts since Dec '99
  • Queen of sgForums
    Hottest.&.Coolest.Mod
    • and invest in better skincare
      cannot always oni use those cheap watsons/guardian ones

• As a matter of fact, I do spend heavily on my skincare products .. Something like 25$ for my facial wash ? I know its cheap but Proactiv is something out of my range. What's worse, I religiously used Tea Tree Oil on my marks, but the only results I get is the Tea Tree Oil scent left on my face. I don't intend to pay a visit to Bioskin or similar Skincare Centres ; Thoughts like that don't cross my mind. I am sure someone out there has similar experience with what I'm going through !

5,939 posts since Aug '06
    • bioskin seemed to be working leh

i heard of ppl getting to a clinic to take injection(200$++ including facial washing things) at the face to clear the acnes...

Edited by Y_Shun 12 Apr `08, 9:11PM
    • Do they see vast improvements ? If the answer is a definate "Yes", I'm willing to invest cash on it.

..However a simple Google search exposed the negative reviews about Bioskin.

Edited by dbowie 12 Apr `08, 9:23PM
  • Queen of sgForums
    Hottest.&.Coolest.Mod
    942 posts since Aug '07
    • hey i also got acne problem , but i went to one clinic call temasek polyclinic in bukit batok , that doctor is very good in treating pimples , last time my face was full of pus and a lot of pimples , now i only left with scars , and i am undergoing botox treatment or something to remove the scar , i already went twice , the effect quite good , lighten my scar and redness already. but do one time is $80. but u nid to let the doctor see ur condition first , maybe u nid tablet and some cream to control ur condition before u can do the botox treatment. although i still have scar now , but its much more better than last time. The pimple is easy to heal , but the scar is the big problem , it gonna take a long time , so be patient.

34 posts since May '08
    • i have alot of pimplesconfused.png! open pores. I went for facial for like 3years but i was still getting pimples. The facial made my face turn really red. And i finally stopped facial this year, and i have really oily skin now. HOW. But i'm still using their face wash and pimple cream. Nothing else. WHAT SHOULD I DO? I'm currently 16, so mention BioSkin, thx.

• Queen of sgForums
    Hottest.&.Coolest.Mod
    • 16 yrs old is considered 青春期 still
      pimples is part of it
      cleansing, toning are bery impt.....morning and night..... cannot be lazy....
      use water/gel-based cleanser and alcohol-free hydrating toner...
      regularly exfoliating helps to remove dead skin and impurities....
      oily skin tend to trap a lot of dirt and prevent the skin from "breathing"

going for facial will extract the whiteheads blackheads......
      if ur package is expensive one is got ampoule and masks
      and perhaps eye treatment and massage...
      if ur skin is sensitive type, u will experience redness
      or if the products used are too strong oso will...

problematic skin will have to go facial every 2 weeks
      so tt the condition can be better monitored and can see if the treatment is suitable for u....
      if long long go once then wun see any effects....
      maybe have some improvement... then as time goes by, the condition come back......if u drag too long before going to the next session....
      前功尽弃..

i would advise invest in better skincare pdts than going for expensive facials
      but there is oso a lot of trial and error to find pdts tt suit u
      for some, SK-II is relli 神奇水, but for some, SK-II is just like 白开水, no effect at all
      for some, even using cheap drugstore brand oso can have skin like tofu....

Edited by FireIce 23 May `08, 6:17PM
  • 咪咪!
    810 posts since Jan '08
    • Try using moisturiser at night and see whether the scars will slowly start to fade away or not icon_biggrin.gif

• Queen of sgForums
    Hottest.&.Coolest.Mod
  • 咪咪!
    810 posts since Jan '08
    • Originally posted by FireIce:

which moisturiser can help fade scar?

Those moisturiser which can be used for acne prone skin.

I was using vichy normaderm and my friend and mum commented that my skin looks clearer but after some time, it loses effect on me.

Later on I moved on to using Ahava mattifying moisturer. Two of my friend who had not seen me for some time commented that my skin looks clearer and not so red anymore heehee. I'm still using it now. I think it's quite good.

But I have to say if you are born with acne prone skin, u have to be consistent because once u stop, everything will come back again icon_lol.gif

• i spy with my night vision eyes.
    11,438 posts since Dec '04
    • on a side note, how to remove blackheads and whiteheads uh... got those sticker things right?

• Queen of sgForums
    Hottest.&.Coolest.Mod
    34 posts since May '08
    • TY! and what's exfoliating? always see this word but dunno what issit. I don't have acnes, but got alot of tiny tiny pimplesconfused.png some got white pus when i squeeze, some got clear yellow little droplets(it's oil, i guess.) so what do you suggest me to use. As in the products, somee brands please?? Cleanser, toner, moisturiser? 

• Queen of sgForums
    Hottest.&.Coolest.Mod
    • for a start, u can try drugstore brands (watsons, guardian)
      st ives apricot scrub is quite mild
      u can use the one tt says blackhead and blemish control
      use 3 times a week

cleanser toner moisturiser is up to u...
      there are many brands too choose from....
      affordable ones are like himalaya herbals, Simple, neutrogena, olay.....
      mid-range ones are avene, vichy, eucerin....
      u can oso use counter brands like shiseido, clinique, origins, sk-ii......
      remember to use alcohol-free toner

carry blotters around to blot your face to remove the oil
      do not over-blot
      blot only when u feel oily
      over-blot will cause the skin to produce more oil

Edited by FireIce 26 May `08, 6:48PM
    314 posts since Jan '05
    15,127 posts since Sep '05
    • 25bucks on facial is expensive?

scars are natural part of pimple healing...think wat u need is patience...meanwhile prevent more from popping..

get to e root of e problem...eg. issit due to diet? hormonal imbalance? moving bowels etc...e reason for mine is due to hormonal imbalance...my so called 'male hormones' are higer than normal.therefore e root of my problem..

i started on evening primrose oil regime...think my pimples stop popping by almost 70-80%...EPO is known to help balance hormones..

i go for facial every mth...evening primrose oil everyday...try to move bowels everyday..and also some collagen intake..its all about money i guess...

15,127 posts since Sep '05
    • Originally posted by HyperionDCZ:

suntan until the top layer of skin peel off

it will only cause more redness, and freckles to appear..

1,140 posts since Mar '07
    963 posts since Aug '07
    • I think i can u'stand ya..I hav oily skin & prone to acnes too even tho i shld b "too old" for those breakouts. 

So dbowie's prob now may not be the zits prob..it's the redness of the scars..

Wat u can do now is to focus on whitenin facial products.  I wll not recommend any brands or types of whitenin products to u here as there are so many different types of products for different types of skins.  Prone to pimples or acnes is definately oily skin, but bcos of our weather, most of us hav combination skin type.  It can b oily-dry, oily to normal, oily-sensitive etc etc..  Dbowie, u hav to know clearly wat combination ur skin is b4 u start buyin products, otherwise it wll b a waste of $$ + time.

Those facial saloons are of cos best lar..cos they hav te technologies.  In exchange, it wll mean we hav to fork out at least 1k to get the treatments.  I hav tried Bioskin..it doesnt work for me. icon_confused.gif

Then i get to know some frenz who work in those facial industry, & i hv started to get more & more knowleges from them + the products tat i use, my skin has definately improved! icon_redface.gif

Oh, one more thing, dbowie, to avoid havin more scars..shld really avoid squeezing those zits! Hands are so full of baterias, even when washed.  & the skin of our face is delicate, so..do avoid squeezin methods.

I ll b glad to help if u need one, cos i know how it affects one's confidence..icon_cry.gif

• Semi -Naked... lol
    21,778 posts since Apr '04
    963 posts since Aug '07
    • Originally posted by BadzMaro:

damn.. i want smooth facial skin too !

icon_lol.gif Who dun?  If onli i knew then how to take care of my when young ; take good food, lotsa protein / supplements, know my skin type better & use the right products.... ...icon_redface.gif

Ok lar..now tho' dun hav poreless kindda look face, still at least it is better than b4 le. icon_cool.gifv

31,727 posts since Jun '05
Please Login or Signup to reply.