Well... a look at my tuition teacher all she does is simply talk talk and occasionally fall asleep but earns around 15k/mth and on weekend she earns at a rate of $300/hr throughout the day for a class tuitions.. qualification-not a phd or master tho,only a degree..
but the pay is like more than 2 masters.. or phd..![]()
Originally posted by charlize:Let me see.
Fresh grad 2K.
After 4 years, get a promotion, maybe 2.8K per month.
After another 4 years, get another promotion, 3.5K a year.
Another 2 more years, get another promotion, 4K a year.
Total 10 years to reach 4K.
u think so? with the presence of open door policy and HUNDREDS and HUNDREDS of THOUSANDS PRCs(PEOPLE REPUBLIC OF CHINA) flocking in ..
their very existence in our country can already suppress down our wages to pathetic level..coupled by the additional increase in inflation rate brought about by these influx of PRCs.. our increase in real income can generally be negative..
Originally posted by dadeadman1337:Siao 3K starting? Sure or not?
since everyone is comparing grad pay, than the army i also comparing grad pay
http://www.mindef.gov.sg/arc/imgs/table_sal.jpg
It would all depends on the person. Some people spends thousands when they are earning hundreds while some spends hundreds when they are earning thousands. But the truth is, money will never be enough for all.
Originally posted by skythewood:since everyone is comparing grad pay, than the army i also comparing grad pay
diploma captain higher pay than graduate captain you sure anot?
Originally posted by D.E.M.O.N.S.W.O.R.D:
diploma captain higher pay than graduate captain you sure anot?
sure.
diploma captain not easy to get. graduate captain is their starting rank. same rank, diff pay.
Originally posted by skythewood:sure.
diploma captain not easy to get. graduate captain is their starting rank. same rank, diff pay.
what about O lvl? sign on will get what
MOE Teachers gross starting pay -
Pass Degree - 2600
Honours - 2750 - 2900
Diploma (Technical) - 1870
Diploma (non-Technical) - 1750
A Level - 1480
http://www.moe.gov.sg/careers/teach/career-info/salary/
I think this excludes bonus, appointments, post working exp, NS bonus, ranks etc.
it's not the amount of income that each of us get.
it's our spending habits which makes the difference.
you could easily earn $20,000 but if each month you overspent..like $23,000 etc..it's as good as just over broke giving banks to earn interest.
if you earn only $2,000 but you save $1,000 you are still better than the person who spends more than his/her income.
Originally posted by Moi magicmushroom:higher nitec can earn how mux T.T
first learn to spell "much" ![]()
ok seriously, errr depends on your job la.
be a lawyer or doc if u wanna hav a high starting pay
my doctor told me that i would be earning more money than him in future since i will be doing a degree in law.lol.he earns 1800 as an nsf doctor but his colleague from the same batch as him that signed on into the army has a starting pay of approx 4500.huge difference rite!lol
Originally posted by charlize:Let me see.
Fresh grad 2K.
After 4 years, get a promotion, maybe 2.8K per month.
After another 4 years, get another promotion, 3.5K a year.
Another 2 more years, get another promotion, 4K a year.
Total 10 years to reach 4K.
recession -> Salary stay stagnant. Increase 2% yearly. Work till 45 still not hit 4K
Originally posted by Lord_Nazrul:my doctor told me that i would be earning more money than him in future since i will be doing a degree in law.lol.he earns 1800 as an nsf doctor but his colleague from the same batch as him that signed on into the army has a starting pay of approx 4500.huge difference rite!lol
lol, dat's quite true, lawyers are the silent earners, they earn alot but they nver let ppl noe
Originally posted by dadeadman1337:Siao 3K starting? Sure or not?
Actually can be more than that. It depends on your degree. This can exclude year end bonuses and for my company, we still have 2 more bonus packages (depends on whether reach certain goals and whether company was profitable) within the fiscal year.
Overall bonuses can reach up to a max of 4 months.
But then hor... it's still mighty low to me... There are just so many other methods to earn as well, that even 5-figure isn't that hard. The thing is, don't limit yourself to convention; go do something to spoil the market. Also, do not think of just having a single source of income; go for multiple sources => this doesn't mean you should increase your work load multiple times... Think about it ;)
Originally posted by the_fallen:it's not the amount of income that each of us get.
it's our spending habits which makes the difference.
you could easily earn $20,000 but if each month you overspent..like $23,000 etc..it's as good as just over broke giving banks to earn interest.
if you earn only $2,000 but you save $1,000 you are still better than the person who spends more than his/her income.
Well said.
And if you earn $2k and spend $1k, but have different sources of income, with each one maybe giving you from few dollars to few hundred dollars a month, it is still quite a lot ;)
I hope to hit 5 figure some day, but I think I'm just dreaming. Still, I'd work hard to increase my value. Half of that is good already.
as Robert Kiyosaki said in "Rich Dad, Poor Dad", "it's not about how much you earn, it's about how much you SAVE."
be money-wise, and spend wisely. that's the important thing.
no matter how much one earns, if he spends money like running water, he's forever poor. and i personally know of such a person.
he claims to earn $10k/month, but yet, he still owes others money. and the reason is because he spends most, if not all, of his money on parrots, car and other luxuries.
man, he's even poorer than me, who earns a relatively lowly 4-digit salary per month!
marry someone who shares your values on financial management. otherwise, you'll be in hell for the rest of your marraige life.
Originally posted by flyingmonkey:I hope to hit 5 figure some day, but I think I'm just dreaming. Still, I'd work hard to increase my value. Half of that is good already.
if u dream, it will always be a dream
if it is your goal, then you will work towards your goal
Die lah.
With this impending recession, I guess fresh grads will have to make do with starting salaries of less than 2K from now onwards.
Haiz. ![]()
economy not really so bad la... 2k still have la
Originally posted by myfairmissy.com:economy not really so bad la... 2k still have la
For now.
Yes, just for now. ![]()
its all about timing and luck. Last year 07 graduates probably start with the highest in the last 10 years or so.
Even with the on-going crisis, i dont believe grads will start with under 2k. Since when did it drop to below 2k? Not even the dot com burst, 911 and post Sars
And seriously, all the talk about recession, if you are just an average joe receiving a regular pay check, it doesnt affect you in a life changing way. The ones who are affected are the big players, big corporations, big investors.
what do u think big companies will do when they are not doin well?
they retrench the average joes or cut their pay...
and even if they have a pay cut, they prolly earn more in a month than u do in a year...
Have.
During previous recessions, there were grads who were reportedly getting paid 1.5K or even less.![]()