I just enlisted and I havent had much sleep everyday because I just miss home and my girlfriend too much. 2 years is such a long time before I get ORD. I get to use the phone for like 1 hour only everyday. Book out on saturday and book in on sunday. Any kind souls tell me how to deal with this kind of depression I'm undergoing? I just had no mood for everything, even during meals. When I book out, I am not that happy as I keep thinking I will have to book in soon. Sighh.. I'm envious of those doing 8-5!
u r OOC from BMT already... still complain... ?
refer to: http://www.sgforums.com/forums/1390/topics/345417
Its gonna take months before I OOC, and even if I OOC, I still gonna stay in camp, so no different.
like others who r going to say later... would be... "just lan lan suck thumb and suck it up lor... so many pple have gone thru ns already... u think u r e only one?"
anyway, what depression... only 2 weeks into nsf... its better to be called 'unable to adjust from laidback civilian student to full-time nsf life', properly...
u better ask ur PC and coy office whether or not u r officially stamped OOC from ur BMT... when u book in after CNY 1st thing 1st... then ownself go to ur coy office once a week to get any update on ur status urself...
I haven't officially down PES yet. Still have to go the the MMI next week for check up. Most likely it will go through because I've got the doctor's letter.
BMT I remember that is about 5-6 years ago.
I experience the same thing. Somehow people like me just dont know how to adapt and obey to orders. Lol. And cannot be trained one.
I remember at that time I had insomia as I cannot sleep in at all for 3 months as I am not sleeping in my own bed. I have dry cough for 3 months and cannot stop coughing.
I dont usually talk at all. Even in normal civilian life. So practically I kept everything to myself. Actually even the counsellor, SGT, OC, CO talk to me several times I still kept 80% of my problem to myself.
The SGT and OC usually leave me alone since I managed to pass all the tests.
Somehow things passed very quickly in 3 months. Depression depression loh, as long as the SGT and OC dont cross the line, everything is fine. For me, just leave me alone and dont disturb me and everything is going to fine.
Somehow I was lucky in a warrant company and all the SGT, OC are very understanding and "in fear" of me also. lol. My eyes are like those of tiger and somehow "Ready to Strike".
Time passed quickly and I managed to POP, strangely with 95% attend B and somehow post to a combat vocation. But things turn out okay. I must thank my SGT, OC, CO and counsellor for their understanding. LOL.
[Oh I remember my SGTs always say to me: "Dont you ever point the rifle at me! I want to ORD in one piece" Steady! steady! Dont throw the grenade at me! I am going to ORD in 3 months time! ] - LOL.
I knew that I lost the control of myself and things still turn out to be alright. I think it would be the same for you too.
I suggest just relax and time pass very quickly. Depress then just depressed. Dont solve a problem is also a solution.
blurcocks usually get posted to chiong sua units dunno y.
Originally posted by FBI:blurcocks usually get posted to chiong sua units dunno y.
well, the SAF system is like this:
Because the chief clerk (civilian) is going to kill the officer-in-charge if he recommend a blurcocks to the department. Being a clerk is actually a professional skill and there is no blur sotong allowed. And chief clerk are perm resident of SAF so if you dont how step on the dog tail you officer will die flat by email arrow, die even you ORD.
Chiong sua units are for the low-life disposable people, and let the disposable SGT handle the problem.
Office politics is a complicated thingy you know. Worse in SAF.
man i work in office, front line somemore (service).
but u are right, totally.
Originally posted by coldzero:I just enlisted and I havent had much sleep everyday because I just miss home and my girlfriend too much. 2 years is such a long time before I get ORD. I get to use the phone for like 1 hour only everyday. Book out on saturday and book in on sunday. Any kind souls tell me how to deal with this kind of depression I'm undergoing? I just had no mood for everything, even during meals. When I book out, I am not that happy as I keep thinking I will have to book in soon. Sighh.. I'm envious of those doing 8-5!
Be strong and start to really act like a man. So many people go thru NS and they make it out and enjoying their life. Doing whatever they want. Do u want to be like them?
U can do it too. U mention u have gf? Do her proud. Show to her u can do it too. Its not 10 years or 20 years. Just BMT of 3months and if u r lucky. Will be posted to units which has more laxing working time.
This is just a first hurdle in yr life. I bet there are more tough one coming ahead. If u have past this one. How are u going to clear the others?
what is NS?
I m facing all the debts the bank is calling me for payment everyday
you see arh...
two years of NS. no matter what have to go through.
you think of all the emo shit everyday every hour, cry here cry there still have to go through.
you work hard, face your problems like a man and refuse to be KO-ed by your problems, you still go thorough the two years.
me like you, now in NS (though one year already). but it is my firm belief that one can seriously learn lots of meaningful skills and valuable life lessons in NS, precisely because it gives you so much shit.
dun envy those who seems to have a better life than you. ya, perhaps they have a slacker time, but do you think they can seriously learn anything meaningful out of this two years? If life gets too easy what do you gain? Take the time you are going through now as a test, an opportunity for you to build up your fighting spirit.
attitude is what separate losers from those who success in life.
seriously, even from a practical point of view, depression does nothing good at all. if lan lan still have to go through NS, might as well be positive about it right?
talk to your buddies in camp. I've made some really good buddies in camp that i can talk everything to.
You don get tekan, be happy.
Got so many people who had as much enjoyed their civilian life as you previously and now are going through the same thing. Don't think they don't yearn for longer book outs or more time on the phone.
Talking to section mates, platoon mates or even coy mates will help get over boredom/depression.
most important, get to know some friends and backstab your commanders. it worked well for me.
"A bit down" and "depression" are 2 different things.
Encouragement does not help if it is really "depression". Depression is a mental disorder and can be treated by drug. And usually last from weeks to months or even years. Symptom that is associated are not eating, insomina and nausea.
I know "coke" and chocolate works for depression. (At least work for me). Beware of addiction.
I know your camp enviroment is not that good so I can only pity you. loh. After so many years I still think that Army is a waste of time. And most people also feel sianz and you are not alone. I think there is nothing you can do. May be go to church. Jesus may help.
I got many friends that are commando out of course. They seems all ok. I think it is a normal event as there are so many people out of course. Seems to be like a routine to them.
pussy.
be less pessimistic...
lookforward to the good things and not the bad things...
Coldzero, grow up and stop being a pussy. So many of us here have served 2 1/2 years. What is 2 years and so much welfare these days?
Since you are in there by courtesy of our constitutional laws, then make the best out of it. Some of the friends you make could be your frens for life.
I agree with Lokey too....dun fight ur depression. Just go with the flow but dun do stupid things.
Talk to your bunkmates......it helps tremendously.
Unless you suay suay kena those from hell.
Then I would sympathise...
Just be a man and get on with it.
There is no one who will adapt to NS immediatedly, u need time to get used to it.
There was a time in my BMT i was so used to it, I had hope not to book out at all and just stay in camp (and its tekong). I got a few bunkmates who feels the same too.
Be a man.
BMT is not xiong, its about follow orders only. Its unit that i find is full of crap, all sorts of sh1t to do everyday.
ORD lo, reservist coming soon =(
Originally posted by Unknown_X:pussy.
X2
Don't give up TS! 2 years is not very long!