I've got a PRC family as my next door neidghour who moved in half a year ago. Initially this guy would hammer things at odd times so we brushed it off as thinking that it's just them settling down into their new place. However after 1/2 a year later, he still chooses to hammer things at times of his convenience. Sometimes at 2-3am or even 5-6am. The final straw was when he decided it was a good idea to assemble and hammer his recycled cupboard at 9am on a sunday morning. This went on for 30min before I went over, knock on his door and told him off. But that didn't stop immediately for he must have thought it was his right to be hammering things within his home. I frankly couldn't care-less about his hobby of collecting unwanted junk from downstairs or nearby flats before carting them back, leaving them along the corridor in front of his unit, sawing and hammering to suit whatever crap that he wants. He has collected everything from discarded bedframes, cupboards, office chair and plants. However I do have an issue in his oblivious attitude to the rest of us. In fact there was once he decided it was a good time to brush his window mosquito netting at 3am, which prompted me to shout in no particular direction but good enough for him to hear something along the lines that who the hell would be doing anything at 3am!
I have noticed that whenever the children of the rest of the families on the floor play together along the corridor, he would open the room window before blasting his radio at its highest volume. Obviously he's pissed off with children playing along his corridor. Or else why would anyone blast his radio with all his windows opened but with the room door closed but noone in the room? How do I know? Becoz he opened his windows that allowed anyone to look into his room.But I figured he must have a problem with communicating with others or just an anti-social as his family and himself has never mixed with his neighbours. I have to admit that I have on occasions fallen to temptation and replied his radio blasting with that from my own. It certainly took some willpower to ignore his brash show of arrogance.
There's also the mystery of the person spitting saliva/phlegm right in front of my unit. By chance I heard the person spitting but was too late to see who it was except the evidence on the ground. While I got no proof, i can certainly hear him each time he does that.
Therefore what am I to do? Ignore this? Who can I seek some help from? Town council, HDB or police?

Its remote sensing, so you don't have to do a thing, PM me your details, and I'll send you the invoice.
call police, town council no use one....
call HDB..
SEEMS LIKE HE ISNT THE ONLY ONE!!!!!MAYBE THERE IS A SIDE JOB THAT PEOPLE ARE TURNING THEIR HOIMES INTO A JUNYARD RECYCLING CHOPPING CENTRE WHERE THEY CUT UP HUGE JUNKS INTO SMALLER PIECES FOR RECYCLING.
THIS HAPPENED TO MY PLACE UPSTAIRS,HAMMERING........FROM MORNIN TO MIDNIGHT AS IF THEY HAVE SOME JUNKYARD OR BUSINESS FACTORY WITH A HIGH IRRITATING SOUND LEVEL.
I SUGGEST U REPORT HIM TO POLICE FIRST LET POLICE KNOW WHAT IS HAPPENING ON RECORDS.LATER ON IF SOUND STILL PERSIST REPORT THEM TO YOUR NEIGHBOURHOOD GRASSROOTS MO WHICH IS OPEN EVERY EVENING FROM 7PM ONWARDS.
THE NEIGHBOURS WOUL CLAIM THEY WERE EX HDB CONTRACTOR....SO WAS I AND EVERYONE I9N THE NEIGHBOURHOOD!TELL THEM U WERE EX-POLICEMAN AND EX-UNDERTAKER TOO!
write to your MP. complain to HDB.
Report to the police
HDB can take back their flat or evict them out. police can come warn them, but cant charge them.
spit saliva n no proof? call police n say u keep getting spits @ ur doorstep and they will collect the spit for DNA. seriously, i can stand maybe a few nights of hammering, but not thruout the yr. i wld seriously think this fella got problem or smtng... but spitting?? no way am i gonna tahan this lor... u know how much bacteria does a spit carry??? nxt time u hear it again, u quickly use a cotton swab to get some spit on the floor n put in a small plastive bag or container to prevent the DNA to be contenminated by the air den call 999 immediately. i cant stand ppl spitting @ doorsteps...
u can tell police u suspect is this particular nehber, they will take action one...
Just to update anyone who's interested. I did call the HDB branch office tollfree number. I was told whatever that's in the corridor belongs to town council matters. Whatever that's in the units themselves belong to HDB. And whenever the person one who's complaining about gets violent, it then becomes a police case.
While the spitting matter is complicated unless i can catch that person redhanded, HDB views putting a cctv/webcam illegal.
Either way, one can put in a complain through the phonenumber and provide them with dates and times. i thought, why don't i go one better. I will just use my hp video camera and collect the evidence i need till i feel it's sufficient enough to put in a case.