Just want to share my story, pointing out the dirty doings of our ICA.
I have a girlfriend that resides in Thailand. Last week she came to Singapore for the 2nd time but was deported back to Thailand. She was here looking for me but Immigration at Changi Airport stop her and refuse her entry in Singapore. She told them the reason and gave my contact number so that ICA could call to verify. Instead ICA put her in the waiting room for a long 6 hours and arrange a flight for her to go back Thailand. I did not received any phone calls from her after she was stop by the customs, they confiscated her phone and ICA did not give me a single call for the whole duration.
On my side, I've been waiting for her arrival at the airport and notice that almost everyone from that flight had already exit the arrival hall except me. So I approach the information counter and asked for help, they told me she could be probably be held back at the Immigration side and gave me a number to call. So I did, i called about 200 times (this is not exaggerating, my iphone was at 95% and it went down to 20%) and there is no one to pick up, information counter said they could do nothing at all because they are not directly related with the ICA people, I did all I could, even approaching the security there, even the police refuses to help, saying that "it is not my job to help you, please go away". I was frustrated and helpless, it was suppose to be at 12.40am flight arrival time and i waited till morning 7am and still, no one was able to help me. So i went home and keep dialing the immigration office till about 11am, still no one answered the phone nor a call from ICA.
Moments after, my girlfriend called me from Thailand that she is already back at home as ICA rejected her entry. I asked her why ICA do that, she says that ICA insisted her reason to Singapore was false and refuse to listen to her even her repetition of telling ICA she was here looking for me and could call me if they don't believe her. So at 6am, they escort her to board the plane without further questions and telling her she could not enter Singapore and will be given a warning that she is not allowed to re-entered Singapore for the next 6 months and chop her passport. It was the first time she encounter this incident, she felt helpless as well and tried to talk back to the ICA but they are that she has insufficient proof that I am her boyfriend.
My main concern is,
1. Why are ICA allowed to do things freely according to their "instinct" ?
2. Where is the official proof from ICA that she is lying?
3. There is no verification call to me from ICA.
4. I waited like a fool outside the hall and totally helpless and not a single person could help.
Putting aside our known mentality that most Thailand people came to singapore to seek jobs officially/unofficially, she is genuinely my spouse and I have every proof to show that we are in a relationship. If my girlfriend were to be a English or American, will ICA stop them? I would surely think no. This is a violent racist act against Thailand people, or probably some other nations as well, what angers me most is that I called ICA HQ this morning, the officer told me "the customs has every right to reject a person entry to singapore without any reason given, they have to accept it". Where is the transparency we have here? Now that we are separated for 6 months, I'm not sure how we could deal with the emotional stress.
aiyah..........you must understand that racism is something that's as natural as breathing..........
people will always be racist...........
S'poreans look down on Thai people...............
and Angmohs look down on S'poreans.............
so just accept it becoz it's something that will never ever change....................
I don’t think ICA will deny entry just like that
Is there something about your gf that you don’t know about and that she is not saying?
Originally posted by elindra:I don’t think ICA will deny entry just like that
Is there something about your gf that you don’t know about and that she is not saying?
yeah , i also think so after reading the thread. TS , where u get to know ur this gf? u sure she is not lying to u abt her coming to visit u? she might be in thailand all the while. sry to say this but nth is impossible.
you mean like maybe the Thai girl was a Thai boy ????
or she was one of Thaksin's lackeys ????
or she was one of those pornstars ????
What I’m trying to say is that could his GF have entered Singapore before and due to whatever reason have a black mark left with our ICA that they are refusing entry to her now. It could be a case of mistaken identity, stolen identity or something she did before which he is unaware of.
Anyway a girlfriend does not have spousal status and there is no way the ICA can verify it.
elindra, i also don't think ICA will do that, thats why i question her thoroughly. She is honestly not coming here to work, plainly just looking for me, paid for her air tickets, i just tell her to tell the truth, becoz there isn't anything to hide. As far as i know, she is surely clean from customs.
Originally posted by Prestoul:elindra, i also don't think ICA will do that, thats why i question her thoroughly. She is honestly not coming here to work, plainly just looking for me, paid for her air tickets, i just tell her to tell the truth, becoz there isn't anything to hide. As far as i know, she is surely clean from customs.
its not about what happen now, its what might have happened in the past.
btw, she's not your spouse, she's just a gf right?
spouse = married
She was previously here 3 months ago, I came to know her when she was working in a decent local disco as a dancer with legal work permit. (can be seen from her passport). ICA has also confirmed her statement that she has insufficient proof for her reason visiting Singapore, which is looking for me.
disco ah
ok lah, confirm turn back.
my friend's girl also kena the same thing.
so u no need to get so angry because she is in this line, its normal.
You have to understand one thing about Singapore’s stand on soliciting.
Your GF might have been unlucky enough to be profiled as a potential solicitor
I think ICA is now very strict with girls from certain countries and Thailand does not have a very good reputation in this respect, especially now with the 2 casinos up and running.
If I’m not wrong for her to be able to enter, she will have to prove to ICA she have enough money to stay for the no. of days she said she is going to be in Singapore or even credit cards which will dispel thoughts that she is here to solicit. Her previous occupation here does not help one bit at all.
Originally posted by Prestoul:She was previously here 3 months ago, I came to know her when she was working in a decent local disco as a dancer with legal work permit. (can be seen from her passport). ICA has also confirmed her statement that she has insufficient proof for her reason visiting Singapore, which is looking for me.
Oh, thai disco ah??? forget it lah, those are rural thai place, sure got black marked one lah come to my pub, alots of thai pole, bar top, and laptop dancers. My gals go in and out of singapore immigration no problem, I think you and her are very new to singapore custom. No wonder cannot go thru. If needed, i can teach you a few of my trick, sure go thru one. Me open pubs, gals send back, me sure die, with no gals, I go up and dance myself
Originally posted by elindra:You have to understand one thing about Singapore’s stand on soliciting.
Your GF might have been unlucky enough to be profiled as a potential solicitor
I think ICA is now very strict with girls from certain countries and Thailand does not have a very good reputation in this respect, especially now with the 2 casinos up and running.
If I’m not wrong for her to be able to enter, she will have to prove to ICA she have enough money to stay for the no. of days she said she is going to be in Singapore or even credit cards which will dispel thoughts that she is here to solicit. Her previous occupation here does not help one bit at all.
Aiya, why so troublesome, take SIA lah, everybody go thru
When ICA places restrictions like this, people complain that it's racist.
When ICA goes easy a bit, people complain that they are allowing in social ills. Don't believe me? I refer you to this thread.
So..... how?
It happens EVERYWHERE. It’s called profiling.
Just like in USA, they tend to think all Asian girls are ‘working girls’.
The customs officers actually ‘test’ you with questions to see if they are telling you the truth.
I hate to do this but I switch to my American accent just to talk to them so that they will say “Oh you sound like a local” because they have this belief that Asians speak really terrible English (I kid you not. I still get remarks that it’s wonderful to speak to an Asian who can speak English in an accent they understand!)
Like the last time I had to fly through Detroit to go to Canada and the customs officer was asking so much questions and I half suspect he didn’t believe I was there for real work meetings. The good thing was that he used to be a trader at the CBOT that I was able to talk to him about commodities and the shift in market trend and how the fundamentals no longer influence the market that much anymore etc
And he did make a comment before I left the counter that they don’t see much women in the line of work I’m in.
I thot most gals today are working gals mah
Originally posted by elindra:I don’t think ICA will deny entry just like that
Agreed.
TS gf must have something that never tell ts her background.
I am sorry, but you lost my respect the moment you charge "racism"
What makes you think that the ICA officers are "racists" ?
You said that they acted on their insticts, and yet you lambasted them for "racism" based on your own instict and prejudice that they acted out of racism.
What is this ?
What gives you the right to insult them like that ?
I think you are being childish and immature.
To be honest with you, I think ICA officers did act based on suspiscion, but not one based on racism suspicions, rather, one based on anti-prositution filter.
Your girlfriend fit the profile of a prostitute.
A young single female who has been a "dancer" at a nightclub.
One look and anyone would suspect that she is a hooker.
You said, what about if someone is from America and Britain ?
So you turned this into a racial issue.
I answer it this way :
What if the person is a Thai but is an old man dressed in business suit, or is a grandma.
Will the ICA turn them back and deport them?
No.
Maybe you should ask the thousands of Thai visitors who have entered Singapore repeatedly without any problems.
So instead of understanding the issue at hand, you become immature and you think ICA officers are racists. This is all without any proof whatsoever. Did your girlfriend say anything about ICA officers saying any words or any gestures which hinted racism? No proof and no nothing but yet suddenly in your mind you think they are racists. This actually proves that it is you yourself who is actually a racist. Otherwise why would you be so racially obsessed.
So please shove it and stop being so immature.
Originally posted by Prestoul:She was previously here 3 months ago, I came to know her when she was working in a decent local disco as a dancer with legal work permit. (can be seen from her passport). ICA has also confirmed her statement that she has insufficient proof for her reason visiting Singapore, which is looking for me.
there's your answer, right there ! ......
sorry mate, but do you think you know everything about your girl ? .......
Vrey curious how ts know his gf?
I don’t think we’re being cruel to TS
His GF just unfortunately falls under the profile of a freelance prostitute.
I even gave him tips on how to get her in.
If she can prove to authorities she have enough money on her for the number of days she is staying without having to resort to work, chances that they will allow her in is very high.
BTW TS will not be the only guy complaining that his Thai GF is not allowed entry into Singapore.
Too many such cases happening.
he said he called 200 times ..... to me that's a sign that he kenna sauce head liao .....
Originally posted by Veggie Bao:I am sorry, but you lost my respect the moment you charge "racism"
What makes you think that the ICA officers are "racists" ?
You said that they acted on their insticts, and yet you lambasted them for "racism" based on your own instict and prejudice that they acted out of racism.
What is this ?
What gives you the right to insult them like that ?
I think you are being childish and immature.
To be honest with you, I think ICA officers did act based on suspiscion, but not one based on racism suspicions, rather, one based on anti-prositution filter.
Your girlfriend fit the profile of a prostitute.
A young single female who has been a "dancer" at a nightclub.
One look and anyone would suspect that she is a hooker.
You said, what about if someone is from America and Britain ?
So you turned this into a racial issue.
I answer it this way :
What if the person is a Thai but is an old man dressed in business suit, or is a grandma.
Will the ICA turn them back and deport them?
No.
Maybe you should ask the thousands of Thai visitors who have entered Singapore repeatedly without any problems.
So instead of understanding the issue at hand, you become immature and you think ICA officers are racists. This is all without any proof whatsoever. Did your girlfriend say anything about ICA officers saying any words or any gestures which hinted racism? No proof and no nothing but yet suddenly in your mind you think they are racists. This actually proves that it is you yourself who is actually a racist. Otherwise why would you be so racially obsessed.
So please shove it and stop being so immature.
Whaaa... TS made cai bao very agitated sia...
an chua cai bao soooo agitated...