Have this step-brother, he just came into Singapore from Philippines at early June, Dad, who is married to his mother, decided to put him in my small room.. Nowadays HDB already so small, I still have to share this room with this little brat.
I'm writing this because I find myself to have alot of trouble trying to accept him, he can't even speak English and my Dad wants to enroll him in K2 next year, he will be 7 next year, so it will be 1 year "retain". The plan was to train him to speak in English by next year registration (If I'm not wrong, registration starts at late December?), but at this rate, this boy's going no where man. This Filipino accent is so deep rooted in him he can't even pronounce "Up" properly, how is he even going to communicate with the 6 year olds in K2?
He also likes to ask me for my iPod touch, think I can safely say it's mine since it was my birthday present, yeah? After he gets the iPod he will anyhow press and press, he restarted the progress of my games countless times.. And when I tell him "Don't press this and that.." he won't even understand me, then continue to press stuff randomly.
At night.. He will be very noisy, jumping around and pretending to fight in the air, typical kids I know. But his standard of playing is completely different, it's extremely rough.. I have seen with my own eyes how kids in their country play, they will fight/play until one gets injured, he got 2 teeth knocked of his mouth because he was playing with his cousins and he fell. A couple of days back, I saw him playing with my younger sister (product of his mother and my Dad), he twisted her arm by grabbing on to it and turning it around his body. I immediately shouted "Stop!" but he was like Huh? Then ran off.
This is probably because I hate kids but was wondering if his behaviour is actually appropriate for a 6 year old? I often comfort myself that I was this way before, and he grew up without a father until my Dad adopted him, but it's really frustrating to see my peaceful home turn into Philippines, his Mother likes to travel to and fro Philippines and bring back relatives, and obviously, one trip costs more than $600 and with another kid to bring around, definitely would cost a bomb. But my Dad never says anything, my elder sister and I have never travelled this much when we were young before he married to her, because he says it's so expensive but now taking the plane is as common as taking bus.. Surely my Dad has financial problems right..? (We are not wealthy at all)
Was wondering if it is actually pointless to bring this boy in and turn him into PR because he definitely won't be accepted locally with this anti-FT thing going around now a days!
You can rest assured if he played so violently with his k2 classmates, he will be outcasted.
Originally posted by Summer hill:You can rest assured if he played so violently with his k2 classmates, he will be outcasted.
Amen, let his build character the hard way. I bet he will reform right after 1 semester.
if he turns out well, with support from his family, learn to adapt, study well, lose his accent by teens, his life will turn out well.
but as I see it, he's in for a shitty time.
he can't speak the language. his step family already has at least one person who hates him.
who probably will try to influence other members against the mother and son.
heck.... lol he's already doing it online.
so what chance does that little kid have?
can't speak,too young to understand,"family" don't love him or even like him.
The kid will somehow survive, and speak Singlish.
Originally posted by Tmarcus:Have this step-brother, he just came into Singapore from Philippines at early June, Dad, who is married to his mother, decided to put him in my small room.. Nowadays HDB already so small, I still have to share this room with this little brat.
I'm writing this because I find myself to have alot of trouble trying to accept him, he can't even speak English and my Dad wants to enroll him in K2 next year, he will be 7 next year, so it will be 1 year "retain". The plan was to train him to speak in English by next year registration (If I'm not wrong, registration starts at late December?), but at this rate, this boy's going no where man. This Filipino accent is so deep rooted in him he can't even pronounce "Up" properly, how is he even going to communicate with the 6 year olds in K2?
He also likes to ask me for my iPod touch, think I can safely say it's mine since it was my birthday present, yeah? After he gets the iPod he will anyhow press and press, he restarted the progress of my games countless times.. And when I tell him "Don't press this and that.." he won't even understand me, then continue to press stuff randomly.
At night.. He will be very noisy, jumping around and pretending to fight in the air, typical kids I know. But his standard of playing is completely different, it's extremely rough.. I have seen with my own eyes how kids in their country play, they will fight/play until one gets injured, he got 2 teeth knocked of his mouth because he was playing with his cousins and he fell. A couple of days back, I saw him playing with my younger sister (product of his mother and my Dad), he twisted her arm by grabbing on to it and turning it around his body. I immediately shouted "Stop!" but he was like Huh? Then ran off.
This is probably because I hate kids but was wondering if his behaviour is actually appropriate for a 6 year old? I often comfort myself that I was this way before, and he grew up without a father until my Dad adopted him, but it's really frustrating to see my peaceful home turn into Philippines, his Mother likes to travel to and fro Philippines and bring back relatives, and obviously, one trip costs more than $600 and with another kid to bring around, definitely would cost a bomb. But my Dad never says anything, my elder sister and I have never travelled this much when we were young before he married to her, because he says it's so expensive but now taking the plane is as common as taking bus.. Surely my Dad has financial problems right..? (We are not wealthy at all)
Was wondering if it is actually pointless to bring this boy in and turn him into PR because he definitely won't be accepted locally with this anti-FT thing going around now a days!
Your father got no money, yet still want to act hero... At the expense of his own family..But not uncommon lah. There's a lot of men who leave good family only to start a shittier life with someone else...like they just need to punish themselves or something. Weird stuff.
Your step brother probably has some form of ADHD, I've seen kids like this before.. Hyperactive and duestructive. When they act up, u see blanks in their eyes, like their body is doing stuff, but their brain is not connected.. Send him to a child psychiatrist, there's meds..usually they start giving to children after 5 years old.
Where is his biological dad ? Is he a drug addict ? Does he has some mental problem? Your step brother may have inherited some problem from his father side.
As for you, I suggest u request politely from your father to rent a place elsewhere. Tell him u need some personal space now that the house is too small. Or.. Where is your mother, can u go stay with her instead ?
Personally, I'd rather rent elsewhere.. Better your father spend money on your lodging then let your step mom splurge on air fare.
You are the watch guy, rite?
Not as if he is 14 years old. 7 years old is still early to change. I can't even remember much when I was 7.
But you are right. I dislike hyperactive kids. They run around like berserkers. Not self control.
a step brother is either you step on him or he back stab on you.
a half brother is like a cousin, your uncle or auntie' son
Originally posted by angel7030:a step brother is either you step on him or he back stab on you.
Yes, exactly. I give him some leeway and he just took the opportunity to trample all over me.
And the 2nd statement is also spot on, I just can't connect to him and be as close to him as my younger sister..
Originally posted by angel7030:a step brother is either you step on him or he back stab on you.
Originally posted by Bikeforceful:hello hello! can anyone tell me the difference between a half brother and a step brother? Jojo beach you know?
biologically same father different mother? step or half hah?
biologically same mother different father ? step or half hah?different father different mother – can’t be related right?
Half brother means he is blood related. Example, Father have kid with another woman ( not your mom). Doesn't matter if he has the kid while still married to your mother, or not.
Step brother means, no blood relation. Marriage based. Example your mother marry another guy and his kid from previous marriage is your step brother. If the man not married to your mother, then the kid is not your step brother.
Ok? Good.
Originally posted by Tmarcus:Yes, exactly. I give him some leeway and he just took the opportunity to trample all over me.
And the 2nd statement is also spot on, I just can't connect to him and be as close to him as my younger sister..
Dude, he is only 7 years old now. But u wait till he is your age, thats when the family war begins.
Your stepmom will do her best to secure family resources for her own children. Including booting you out if u make a wrong move with your father.
You better think about utilizing whatever resources u can get your hands on and get yourself a good education now.
Originally posted by jojobeach:Half brother means he is blood related. Example, Father have kid with another woman ( not your mom). Doesn't matter if he has the kid while still married to your mother, or not.
Step brother means, no blood relation. Marriage based. Example your mother marry another guy and his kid from previous marriage is your step brother. If the man not married to your mother, then the kid is not your step brother.
Ok? Good.
Originally posted by Bikeforceful:
Thank you Jojo ! so same father different mother is half siblings. what is same mother diffferent fathers? Quarter brother?
U trying to act cute is it ?
Got lah, got quarter brother. If your mother is your wife and both of you have a Baby, the child will be your quarter brother and son lah. Ok ? Good.
Originally posted by jojobeach:U trying to act cute is it ?
Got lah, got quarter brother. If your mother is your wife and both of you have a Baby, the child will be your quarter brother and son lah. Ok ? Good.
Originally posted by jojobeach:Dude, he is only 7 years old now. But u wait till he is your age, thats when the family war begins.
Your stepmom will do her best to secure family resources for her own children. Including booting you out if u make a wrong move with your father.
You better think about utilizing whatever resources u can get your hands on and get yourself a good education now.
You mean step mothers so bad one meh? all like Cinderella's ? How come you know about them so much? Are step fathers less nasty?
ya, later his step brother go to a ball, alll wanna marry princess charming, kenna rejected.
then, TS go to the ball, marry the princess and live happily ever after!
Originally posted by Summer hill:ya, later his step brother go to a ball, alll wanna marry princess charming, kenna rejected.
then, TS go to the ball, marry the princess and live happily ever after!
choi! that's incestuous understand? but you originally said same father different mother is half brothers mah! so if same mother different fathers ....then the fraction still same meh?- half still? Serious question ok not acting cute altho i am cute ! Then what about step aunty and step uncle and step grand parents? . Also is there half aunt and half uncle, and half grand ma and half grand pa?
Does the word "or" mean anything to you?
Step ancestors also have, once your father OR mother goes marry someone else, your ancestral lines will explode exponentially.
You mean step mothers so bad one meh? all like Cinderella's ? How come you know about them so much? Are step fathers less nasty?
If your step mother is rich, then no, she is an angel.
However, just as any woman who has no desire to share a dick with another woman, she certainly is not wiling to share her new found wealth with another woman's child.
Step fathers are really after only your mom's pussy, so no need to be so nasty.
I prefer the story of the ugly prince then kissed a beautiful lizard and became handsome again!
Poor lizard, have to kiss an ugly prince, commit suicide bettah.
May I ask? Why did your father marry a filipino? Btw, are u indian, chinese or malay?
For me i dont like to share my things, and bringing a foreigner into my house is considered invasion of privacy. Its really up to you though. If u really like the boy, you'll teach him if not just heck care. Is this all ur dad's fault!?
Originally posted by jojobeach:Dude, he is only 7 years old now. But u wait till he is your age, thats when the family war begins.
Heng ah, now I'm 16, when he's around my age maybe add 6 years, I'll be 22-23 done with NS and Poly maybe doing Uni already. I intend to move out of this house right after I find a secure job!
Originally posted by ISTARI:May I ask? Why did your father marry a filipino? Btw, are u indian, chinese or malay?
For me i dont like to share my things, and bringing a foreigner into my house is considered invasion of privacy. Its really up to you though. If u really like the boy, you'll teach him if not just heck care. Is this all ur dad's fault!?
I have no answer to the first question, he just told my sister and I one night "Kids, Daddy is going to remarry *Shows picture* this is her, any objection?" We were very young then, I was probably Primary 5-6 so I never thought this would happen.. I am full Chinese.
Yeah, the feeling of bringing a foreigner in your home is really terrible. There was one night, my Dad was overseas, my Step Mom, my Elder sis and Younger sis all at home. Then she brought all her friends over to have dinner, around 7-8 Filipinos in my living room. I don't even have space to eat in the dining table, in my room can hear the Tagalog flooding everywhere.. Like a little Philippines village.