17 May, 10:31AM in sunny Singapore!

The newbie guide to SAF army lingoes.

Subscribe to The newbie guide to SAF army lingoes. 207 posts

Please Login or Signup to reply.
    43,266 posts since Jul '04
    • lai lai lai. let's play a game. name one SAF military lingo and provide a brief explaination. pls limit yourself to one lingo per post.

hope the newbies can find this useful at the same time let us lao jiao have some fun. Laughing

• ok i'll start things rolling.

Wake up your idea!

Arrow a common phrase telling slow people kept doing the wrong thing or with the wrong ideas to come to his sense and follow instructions.

8,654 posts since Feb '03
    14,922 posts since Jan '02
    6,935 posts since Feb '05

• Oi! Specky!

Arrow A term normally used by company sergeant majors to address short-sighted recruits, normally followed by an order or punishment.

14,922 posts since Jan '02
    • Originally posted by DriftingGuy:

[b]Oi! Specky!

Arrow A term normally used by company sergeant majors to address short-sighted recruits, normally followed by an order or punishment. [/b]

also similar to

Oi thambi!

Oi matt!

Edited by nismoS132 03 May `05, 7:59PM
    19,994 posts since Aug '02
    3,063 posts since Sep '04
    869 posts since Oct '04
    • Don't make your problem my problem.

Usually excuse to "taichi" away other ppl's problem who has come to seek your help. Bested use against ppl who are selfish or those chao keng men.

You think, i thought, who confirm ?

Used to ask the person in question when u ask him a question and the respone given was " i think so"

• Arrow Bo Bo

a mispronunciation of the word "Wo Wo" which refer to a person who's very bad at shooting.

example: "wei Bo Bo! shoot bird ah? target is below, not above!"

• Originally posted by vIn.Warrior:
      i've something to ask.
      are [b]Vulgarities
      still used in the ARMY?

isn't that crude?
      Neutral [/b]

Arrow Yes, it's crude. Yes, it's still being used.

15,522 posts since Apr '04
    3,063 posts since Sep '04
    • Originally posted by Parka:
      Arrow Yes, it's crude. Yes, it's still being used.

and did any like those mama boys tell their mama to complain to MINDEF?
      why should vulgarities be used in the first place?

it shows that the person using vulgarities has to use brute and crude force to ensure his men follow instructions. is this called a good leader?

i wonder.

15,891 posts since May '03
    • 'wa si lu ah wa buay lun.....

Hokkien translation: 'If i were you...i cannot take it..'

This should be used when given a situation whereby Party A condones the evil/unjust actions given by Party B. When party C sees and feels that Party A should not be a nice person and let that bugger (Party B) scot free and will say 'wa si lu ah....(this part of the sentence will contains what Party C hopes Party A will do) and often the hidden agenda to see Party B being punish/ beaten up by Party C. Often used stir up commotions and cause dissensions and watch free show.

eg. Huh....Sgt Lim do that to you? Wa si lu ah...wa buay lun....

Edited by NeonTetra 03 May `05, 8:13PM
    • Double Up!

Arrow Used to make recruits/cadets increase their pace to their next destination in double-quick time, used esp when they are idling.

• Arrow smoke out

To disappear out of sight.
      Sgt wants us to sweep the drain, let's smoke out

Edited by Parka 03 May `05, 8:22PM
    • Arrow Wayang

verb: To pretend
      noun: a show, commonly known as Exercise Wayang
      Tomorrow the commanding officer is coming for ceremony, better put on a good wayang!

• Arrow CMI

Also known as Cannot Make it. Used to describe soldiers who are not up to standard.

Run 1K you pant already, you really CMI

• lan lan or suck thumb

Term to describe a situation of no choice.
      Arrow Sgt ask us to do, lan lan lor!

964 posts since Nov '03
    • do anything but don't get caught

to encourage someone to tuang during working hours

Edited by chikopek 03 May `05, 8:29PM
    • father/grandfather's camp

Arrow meaning the camp doesn't belong to your father nor your grandfather. thus implying that u are not the one who call the shots so you must follow the orders given to you.

example: "who ask u to disobey my orders? you think that this is your father's camp ah?"

• Wake up your blardy idea!

Phrase used in agitated tone. Usage applies effectively when the slow person is doing the wrong thing or not picking up things fast enough.

72 posts since Apr '05
Please Login or Signup to reply.