Hi all,
How is the promotion done in the saf? Is it by recommendation by the unit or directly by cmpb. I'm in a signal company and most of the LJ ord as LCP. They say promotion to CPL must pass the IPPT but how come some pes E clerk can be CPL?
Is there a new directive on promotion? I thought all diploma/ A lvl NSF will be promoted to CPL by default when nearing to ord? Now, i'm wondering whether i can be promoted to CPL since i'm a pes C signal opr.
I'm not hard up for the rank but for the extra few bucks. :P
Education.
u get promotion because of IPPT
Pes E get CPL because of education and he cannot take IPPT.
so if you are Pes A/B but cannot pass IPPT, u lugi
as long as u need to take IPPT, that will be taken into consideration as a promotion criteria
I got my CPL as a PES E clerk
I did do BMT somewhere during my 2nd yr though...my whole company was made up of LCP to 3SG...and were allowed to wear our rank during BMT
Originally posted by lespaul:Hi all,
How is the promotion done in the saf? Is it by recommendation by the unit or directly by cmpb. I'm in a signal company and most of the LJ ord as LCP. They say promotion to CPL must pass the IPPT but how come some pes E clerk can be CPL?
Is there a new directive on promotion? I thought all diploma/ A lvl NSF will be promoted to CPL by default when nearing to ord? Now, i'm wondering whether i can be promoted to CPL since i'm a pes C signal opr.
I'm not hard up for the rank but for the extra few bucks. :P
Promotion for Enlistee rank men is prepared by the unit manpower branch, not cmpb. Unit clerk will 1st prepare the paperwork, gets approval from your immediate superior (e.g. PC), and the promotion is effective either on 1st or 16th of the month.
If you are not promoted by the time period from Date of Enlist (DOE), it's usually admin lapse by manpower br, since the nominal roll is called up from the manpower info system by the clerks through its search function, not some auto-reminder for the generation of the nominal list. OR your immediate superior KIV your promotion lor.
**Auto-promotion admin scheme by education level when nearing ORD is scapped wef early beginning of the year 2007, with around the same time of the re-introduction of Corporal 1st Class (CFC) rank.
Earliest promotion effective date from DOE:
PES A/B
LCP: 7th month from DOE;
CPL: 12th month from DOE (IPPT pass is needed).
PES C/E:
LCP: 7th month from DOE;
CPL: 15th month from DOE.
CFC:
There are some criteria for CFC, something like:
1) immediate superior recommendation
2) vocation job scope/perfomance based, (with IPPT for pes A/B)
3) unit manpower br approval, then followed by formation manpower br approval.
4) Quota. e.g. some 20%-30% of the CPLs in the same batch, under the division/formation.
so one of the morals of the story:
make some friends with the clerks... dun belittle them... admin work is also crucial in the running of the operations, e.g. paperwork stuff still done by pens and words... appraisal work...etc.
so the saying, 'the pen is mightier than the sword'.
wah got CFC ah.
what is wrong with our military, no more PFC?
i think we're the only military with the least about of PTEs.
gone are the days where your BMT instructor was a CPL, the SGT was king and LTA was immortal.
MAJ and above are like Gods.
if let's say u are a pes B personnel, medically excused IPPT till ORD.
you've already served 1 and a half yrs of NS, and have been performing well in your role.
although it may not be relevant, the personnel is also a SISPEC BSLC ooc (due to injury) and has an A Levels educational background.
In this situation, with your direct superior's recommendation (in this case, the CSM and the AO), is promotion to a CPL rank still possible?
Originally posted by golden_cactus7:if let's say u are a pes B personnel, medically excused IPPT till ORD.
you've already served 1 and a half yrs of NS, and have been performing well in your role.
although it may not be relevant, the personnel is also a SISPEC BSLC ooc (due to injury) and has an A Levels educational background.
In this situation, with your direct superior's recommendation (in this case, the CSM and the AO), is promotion to a CPL rank still possible?
sispec bslc ooc is not relevant, ooc means ooc; education qualification level is no longer considered... scapped early 2007...
as long as the 2 mandatory conditions: pass ippt, and over 12 months from DOE (time frame period), is eligible and can be promoted to corporal.
now, even an 'o' level holder, if good at his vocation, even if mono-intake somemore, subjected to approval n recommendation.
eac,
even with direct superiors' approvals / recommendations, got no chance??
Originally posted by golden_cactus7:eac,
even with direct superiors' approvals / recommendations, got no chance??
since u r on good working terms with ur immediate superiors, then ask them to talk to/email to check with manpower br lor..
anyway, i'm now reservist liao... so no OA intranet access, hence no chance to see if got new GOM directives or not...
I'm a weapon technician & a CFC. My boss who is a MAJ recommended me for CFC & final decision lies with Unit CO (of course HD HR will filter out unsuitable names from the lists submitted from respective sub-units from the same unit) before you can be promoted. Not about sucking up to clerks or your boss but rather to maintain a cordial relationship with everyone & show your boss that you can work lor. Need to go the extra mile then just do it, no complains. :D
Good luck.
so lets say that i'm in my 8th month after enlistment, and is still waiting for promotion to LCP, since my fren who was attached to HQ to be armskote man become LCP already.
can i ask the S1 branch to let see if i'm elgiable for promotion than ask my superior to recommend me for promotion?
Originally posted by the_fallen:so lets say that i'm in my 8th month after enlistment, and is still waiting for promotion to LCP, since my fren who was attached to HQ to be armskote man become LCP already.
can i ask the S1 branch to let see if i'm eligible for promotion then ask my superior to recommend me for promotion?
u can ask any of the s1 clerks to check the manpower info system. Give him ur nric no/full name to check, then he simply send an email to your immediate officer to give the go ahead = an in-principle approval via email 1st, then clerk will prepare hardcopy paperwork for signature from ur officer.
dun be selfish... try help those in ur department well.
Do we need to be fully 'vocationalise' to be eligible for promotion. My previous unit clerk told me that we need to be properly vocated and be in the unit for don't know how long then we can be promoted.
I'm still waiting for my new course to start as i ooc previously and had already been in the army for 7 months, can i still make the cut to be lcp then cpl?
Originally posted by lespaul:Do we need to be fully 'vocationalise' to be eligible for promotion. My previous unit clerk told me that we need to be properly vocated and be in the unit for don't know how long then we can be promoted.
I'm still waiting for my new course to start as i ooc previously and had already been in the army for 7 months, can i still make the cut to be lcp then cpl?
y dun u check with the unit clerk in ur present unit?
IIRC... the enlistee promotion directive got state something like, "for lcp promotion, at least satisfy 2 criterias:
1) minimum 7 months from DOE,
2) satisfactory conduct in vocation performance and work."
for the most direct n updated answer, u better check with ur present s1 br... as different extra standard may be imposed for cpl promotion e.g.: in the directive, as long as minimum u pass ippt can liao, but some units purposedly want at least a silver standard then will submit ur name for promotion approval...
Originally posted by eac:
u can ask any of the s1 clerks to check the manpower info system. Give him ur nric no/full name to check, then he simply send an email to your immediate officer to give the go ahead = an in-principle approval via email 1st, then clerk will prepare hardcopy paperwork for signature from ur officer.
dun be selfish... try help those in ur department well.
eh..
out of the 3 who came to the same dept as me..
1 already LCP > the armskote man
1 went to DB before = little/no chance of promotion due to his case
1 > going for overseas = whereby chances of promotion is higher and faster in fact.
so what's left is only me liao lor.