My field camp will be coming very soon next week and I am pretty worried about it.
What I worried most is my big problem that is insect phobia. I usually overeact and sometimes do things that I didn't even realise what I am doing when I see insects which appear to be overly creepy to me. Things like spiders, roaches, centipedes, cicada and others somewhat terrifies me badly.
Apparently, the only small insects that I am ok with are those ants. And I mean small ants, not that queen ant that looks crazily huge.
Recently, I asked my PC if I can bring my own insect repellent but was told that I could only bring the SAF insect repellent. I was told that I cannot bring any commercial items for the camp. This makes me feel worst because I don't know how is it going to be like.
While I do feel quite embarassed sometimes to tell this problem of mine, I still let some of friends know simply because I want to know if they have the same problem. Unfortunately, I seem to be the only one who has such phobia. :(
Any tips for a person like me during my 6 days field camp?
Thanks.
SAF insect repellant it very powerful leh
But does it really repell away all the insects?
The one I wanted to bring is a 100% DEET solution insect repellent which I did some research and learnt that it is quite useful to repel insects. And I bought that small little bottle at a stupidly expensive price. But at that time, I thought I could bring and I don't mind spending a little more money to ease my phobia to insects.
And I heard many people still get bitten by centipedes and others. And shell scrape, I couldn't imagine sleeping inside because there are going to be a lot of insects inside there. There wouldn't be any kind of sulphur or pesticide spray before that. So I am really feeling terrible even though today is my last book out for this month before my field camp ends.
get over it..
Yea, that is what I am trying to tell myself too, to just get over it.
But what I worry is because of my phobia(overeaction, etc), I might do something wrong(misfire, too concentrate on the insects and lost rifle magazine all these), hurt the people around me or hurt myself and causing myself being punished, confinement, or even worst, to get charged.
Don't worry. I also have. And I go to camp also. (Forced to go more like) And i no see much insects.
in the field camp u'll be too tired to be able to worry over the insect around you....
Originally posted by vEr5e:But does it really repell away all the insects?
The one I wanted to bring is a 100% DEET solution insect repellent which I did some research and learnt that it is quite useful to repel insects. And I bought that small little bottle at a stupidly expensive price. But at that time, I thought I could bring and I don't mind spending a little more money to ease my phobia to insects.
And I heard many people still get bitten by centipedes and others. And shell scrape, I couldn't imagine sleeping inside because there are going to be a lot of insects inside there. There wouldn't be any kind of sulphur or pesticide spray before that. So I am really feeling terrible even though today is my last book out for this month before my field camp ends.
1. kopi got it right - SAF insect repellent is very powerful. From what I know, it's even more concentrated than most commercial ones.
2. If you want a real-life example, I've slept in countless bashas and shellscrapes over 2 1/2 years in the army and three years of ICT. I was in a chiong sua unit that went for outfield like nobody's business.
I never got bitten by any insects except mosquitoes..... and I really, really don't remember encountering cases of people being bit by centipedes. I'm a company medic, so I would know if anyone in my coy was ever bitten.
3. How do you want to be a soldier if you're gonna be scared of a few puny insects?
But does the insect repellent make the insects go away from you or at least avoid you when you have it applied?
I don't mind tough trainings and tiring craps but insects are really something that bothers me big time. I understand you mean by it is just a few punny insects but I just have no idea why I am so terrified by it. Sometimes I even thought I have a mental problem with these things.
Usually after the entire thing, when I recall back, I realise my usual reactions are like if I see any insects or suspect any of them are around, I will become extremely careful with every single of my steps in the vincinity. At times, I might not even to continue going on. There was once a beetle flew into my room and I didn't dare to go back to my room until my mum came in to remove it.
Come to think about it, the only two insects that I dare to go closer to are only ants and butterflies. I feel so stupid sometimes to be afraid of such creatures which are so much smaller than humans. But I have no idea why I just freaked out badly when I see them. I really hope I don't do anything wrong when the phobia attacks and I begin to do things which I don't even realise until the end of it.
Originally posted by vEr5e:But does the insect repellent make the insects go away from you or at least avoid you when you have it applied?
I don't mind tough trainings and tiring craps but insects are really something that bothers me big time. I understand you mean by it is just a few punny insects but I just have no idea why I am so terrified by it. Sometimes I even thought I have a mental problem with these things.
Usually after the entire thing, when I recall back, I realise my usual reactions are like if I see any insects or suspect any of them are around, I will become extremely careful with every single of my steps in the vincinity. At times, I might not even to continue going on. There was once a beetle flew into my room and I didn't dare to go back to my room until my mum came in to remove it.
Come to think about it, the only two insects that I dare to go closer to are only ants and butterflies. I feel so stupid sometimes to be afraid of such creatures which are so much smaller than humans. But I have no idea why I just freaked out badly when I see them. I really hope I don't do anything wrong when the phobia attacks and I begin to do things which I don't even realise until the end of it.
The point I was trying to tell you is that, u be too tired in the field camp to notice any insect.
But I am really the kind who will make sure there are no insects even before I sleep kind. Even in my bunk, sometimes after training very tired already but when a bee fly in, my eye would still be opened wide to make sure the bee don't come close to be and I will stay alert at least for the next few hours after lights out until I eventually sleep.
And the worst thing would be during training like I have to prone with my rifle on the ground and then got spiders beside me, I am going to be like OMG! I am worried I might do something wrong...
Originally posted by vEr5e:But I am really the kind who will make sure there are no insects even before I sleep kind. Even in my bunk, sometimes after training very tired already but when a bee fly in, my eye would still be opened wide to make sure the bee don't come close to be and I will stay alert at least for the next few hours after lights out until I eventually sleep.
And the worst thing would be during training like I have to prone with my rifle on the ground and then got spiders beside me, I am going to be like OMG! I am worried I might do something wrong...
If you are PES A tell them that they have made a terrible mistake
Originally posted by vEr5e:But I am really the kind who will make sure there are no insects even before I sleep kind. Even in my bunk, sometimes after training very tired already but when a bee fly in, my eye would still be opened wide to make sure the bee don't come close to be and I will stay alert at least for the next few hours after lights out until I eventually sleep.
Field camp different, at night u can barely see the insect.....
you'll be either too tired or e surrounding is too dark at night for you to be able to notice them
well dun think too much an it'll soon be over
If there's any comfort, on the first night of my field camp, I woke up to a hell of a pain on my toe.
Turns out there was a monster ant tugging at my bleeding blister.
I flicked it out of my sight, turned out the torch and went back to sleep.
An hour or 2 later, I woke up with a weight on my leg, I switched on my torch and found a toad sitting on my leg.
I said WTF and went back to sleep.
Originally posted by Short Ninja:If you are PES A tell them that they have made a terrible mistake
I am PES B but both PES have not much differences.
And if telling them that I have such phobia, they are just going to laugh their ass off and continue to make me go for the field camp and see me putting up an awesome comedy for them to watch.
Originally posted by 16/f/lonely:If there's any comfort, on the first night of my field camp, I woke up to a hell of a pain on my toe.
Turns out there was a monster ant tugging at my bleeding blister.
I flicked it out of my sight, turned out the torch and went back to sleep.
An hour or 2 later, I woke up with a weight on my leg, I switched on my torch and found a toad sitting on my leg.
I said WTF and went back to sleep.
I just recently get to see some pictures of how the basha tent looked like. At first, I thought was something like a barrack tent that is all covered and an opening at the front to go in. But later then I realise the one that we are going to do at field camp is a f**king hell one ground sheet on the grass and one ground sheet on top and there are openings all over the sides. I couldn't imagine if it rains, how many insects would just come into the basha tent to share the shelter with me. And because I may get freaked out, I am going to give my entire tent to the insects and I will be there standing outside like a total retard.
By the way, the worst thing is my buddy is somebody who is very dirty and messy and totally indifferent about anything. In bunk his bed is often the one infested with rats, ants and roaches. This makes me even more worry during field camp because that cockster is going to attract lots of creepy crawlers and then sleep with them and tell me that it is only a small thing and don't even kill it.
Originally posted by vEr5e:
I just recently get to see some pictures of how the basha tent looked like. At first, I thought was something like a barrack tent that is all covered and an opening at the front to go in. But later then I realise the one that we are going to do at field camp is a f**king hell one ground sheet on the grass and one ground sheet on top and there are openings all over the sides. I couldn't imagine if it rains, how many insects would just come into the basha tent to share the shelter with me. And because I may get freaked out, I am going to give my entire tent to the insects and I will be there standing outside like a total retard.
By the way, the worst thing is my buddy is somebody who is very dirty and messy and totally indifferent about anything. In bunk his bed is often the one infested with rats, ants and roaches. This makes me even more worry during field camp because that cockster is going to attract lots of creepy crawlers and then sleep with them and tell me that it is only a small thing and don't even kill it.
Well, me/buddy mistakes in the basha:
1) My buddy peed at the tree next to our basha. Of course there was a stench.
2) Not making the groundsheet above us tight enough. It rained and the wieght of the pool of water on top almost make it collapse.
3) Eating inside the basha.....pretty soon we had uninvited guests, mammals and insects alike.
But then sleeping in a basha.....is ok, compared to sleeping in a trench, heh heh.....no groundsheet, I used mine to protect the field pack from the rain and there were things crawling around. I placed my faith in my long 4 and boots, placed my head on the sand-bag and slept.
But you give me a choice, I would choose a trench over the basha, the basha is simply cramped and stifling.
you would have other things to worry about.
if you genuinely had this problem, just go see a referral to a specialist. your problems would get worse in your unit life.
i'm scared of house lizards..
luckily outfield dont have
Originally posted by thoreldan:i'm scared of house lizards..
luckily outfield dont have
you should seen those at the southern islands... the house lizards are the size of my forearm...
I still remembered when I had my reservist field camp, my section bought like 2 bottles of baygon and sprayed a radius of 6 meters from tent. There wasn't any mosquitoes or bugs for 2 days.
Originally posted by kopiosatu:SAF insect repellant it very powerful leh
yep, SAF insect repellant too strong, can even melt SAR21 mags if smeared on it. my silva compass markings also disappeared because of it. just make sure it is capped tight b4 putting it inside the LBV pouch cos it can also "eat" the LBV material.
Originally posted by Man!x:
yep, SAF insect repellant too strong, can even melt SAR21 mags if smeared on it. my silva compass markings also disappeared because of it. just make sure it is capped tight b4 putting it inside the LBV pouch cos it can also "eat" the LBV material.
i dunno abt that, but last time my bmt, some pple kena allergic reactions like redness, broken skin, itch because it is a very potent repellent. wording on it reads something like class 1A grading..
Just think of snakes and wild boars more, then you will stop worrying about insects=)