one of my friend put in $75,000 bond to mindef in order to bring his 14years old son to the USA to study years ago. And now, the kid had scored distinctions in his exams and proceed on with his doctorate study, my friend decided that he will forfeit the $75k bond so that his son can continue on his academic pursuit in the USA without any hinderance.
such a sacrifice from a parent!
good to be rich huh...
Originally posted by fishbuff1:one of my friend put in $75,000 bond to mindef in order to bring his 14years old son to the USA to study years ago. And now, the kid had scored distinctions in his exams and proceed on with his doctorate study, my friend decided that he will forfeit the $75k bond so that his son can continue on his academic pursuit in the USA without any hinderance.
Note that the child cannot come back to Singapore.
Originally posted by fishbuff1:one of my friend put in $75,000 bond to mindef in order to bring his 14years old son to the USA to study years ago. And now, the kid had scored distinctions in his exams and proceed on with his doctorate study, my friend decided that he will forfeit the $75k bond so that his son can continue on his academic pursuit in the USA without any hinderance.
how old is the son now?
Have a US Green card already?
So when is the whole family emigrating here?
i think cannot renounce SG citizenship unless do NS 1st right...
so he can never come back to SG, or else will get detained? then now SG passport issue how?
About 1,000 Singaporeans give up their citizenship each year
Posted: 21 July 2008 2352 hrs
SINGAPORE: In the last three years, an average of 1,000 Singaporeans gave up their citizenship each year.
Deputy Prime Minister and Home Affairs Minister Wong Kan Seng said their reasons for doing so vary, and these range from marriage to foreigners, to yearning for a different environment.
Most of them took up new citizenship in countries in Southeast Asia, the United States and Australia.
Mr Wong gave this update in reply to a written question from Non-Constituency MP Sylvia Lim.
She had asked how many Singapore citizens emigrated from Singapore in the last three years, the countries they emigrated to and their reasons for doing so.
Mr Wong said those who emigrate generally do not declare this to the Immigration & Checkpoints Authority when they leave.
So the only available data which gives an indication of the number of emigrants from Singapore is the number of Singaporeans who have given up their citizenship and left Singapore. - CNA/vm
http://www.channelnewsasia.com/stories/singaporelocalnews/view/361829/1/.html
i would too if i have the money back then....
well if the parents have been living well without the 75k all these years, they won't see it so hard to let it go..
father is a pastor in a small church. the money was from his hdb flat sale. to him, his son's future matter more than his 75k... given his 2k/mth salary, $75k is a huge sum but he knows what sacrifice is all about.
u are allowed to rennounce your SG citizenship if you are over 21. doesnt matter whether u have done NS or not.
come back to SG? there is a huuuuuge world out there outside there.
folks, cast your net wide and seek the world outside. be a global citizen and live to your fullest. doesnt matter if u stumble, at least u try. i only migrate when i was 39.i should have done it 10 years ago!
Originally posted by fishbuff1:father is a pastor in a small church. the money was from his hdb flat sale. to him, his son's future matter more than his 75k... given his 2k/mth salary, $75k is a huge sum but he knows what sacrifice is all about.
u are allowed to rennounce your SG citizenship if you are over 21. doesnt matter whether u have done NS or not.
come back to SG? there is a huuuuuge world out there outside there.
folks, cast your net wide and seek the world outside. be a global citizen and live to your fullest. doesnt matter if u stumble, at least u try. i only migrate when i was 39.i should have done it 10 years ago!
so where have u emigrate to?
yes, there is a big world outside of SG, but the family, extended family r here. u can't say u forgotten ur past, ur memories... a part of ur life living here.
yes, i may also going to other countries to be a PR like Canada, US, UK... other english speaking countries with a substanial chinese population there as well.
that father is a wank
NS makes a man out of a boy
HOO RAH!
Originally posted by eac:
so where have u emigrate to?
yes, there is a big world outside of SG, but the family, extended family r here. u can't say u forgotten ur past, ur memories... a part of ur life living here.
yes, i may also going to other countries to be a PR like Canada, US, UK... other english speaking countries with a substanial chinese population there as well.
asstralia.
immediate family, yes. extended, no. can alway fly back to SG and visit, eat local food, shopping etc.
i left becoz #1 see the world, #2 PAP/Lee failed the citizens.
u cant believe just how many singaporeans there are in Perth alone!
they dont call it SINGAPERTH for nothing.
It is that family's choice, and it takes far more guts to leave your comfort zone.
However, his son will face problems when he needs to return to Singapore to give a speech/lecture/work in the future.
Unless he still registers for NS at the age of 17. But, like I said, we should not judge the actions of others needlessly.
Sometimes, judgement stems from a hidden feeling of jealousy that such opportunities never happened to individuals doing the virtual stoning.
I don't think it was a wise choice. Not because of the 75K. I just think that between PHD and Career there are plenty of uncertainty and factors.
ha ha anyway the parent properly did not read the laterest trend.
'Gap year' before college gives grads valuable life experience
Worn-out high school seniors are getting fresh encouragement from a range of sources to take a break — a "gap year" — before plunging into college. But to be beneficial, it needs to involve more than rest and relaxation.
This spring, high schools in seven metropolitan areas hosted their first gap-year fairs to acquaint students with options for spending a year away from the academic treadmill. Earlier in the year, Princeton University announced plans to formalize a "bridge year" program for admitted students to do service work abroad before enrolling.
Meanwhile, gap-year consultants have ramped up efforts to serve what they see as a market ripe for growth.
Originally posted by Arapahoe:
'Gap year' before college gives grads valuable life experience
Worn-out high school seniors are getting fresh encouragement from a range of sources to take a break — a "gap year" — before plunging into college. But to be beneficial, it needs to involve more than rest and relaxation.
This spring, high schools in seven metropolitan areas hosted their first gap-year fairs to acquaint students with options for spending a year away from the academic treadmill. Earlier in the year, Princeton University announced plans to formalize a "bridge year" program for admitted students to do service work abroad before enrolling.
Meanwhile, gap-year consultants have ramped up efforts to serve what they see as a market ripe for growth.
u mean getting conscripted into the army, get intimidation by the sergeants and officers, no social life and subjected to full military laws while earning pitance throughout 2.5 years of ns? can that be valuable life exp?
Originally posted by fishbuff1:u mean getting conscripted into the army, get intimidation by the sergeants and officers, no social life and subjected to full military laws while earning pitance throughout 2.5 years of ns? can that be valuable life exp?
Its a valuable life experience of humility, discipline, tolerating your emotions.
If one does not want to be intimidated by the sergeants and officers, then he has to be THE sergeant or officer.
Originally posted by fishbuff1:u mean getting conscripted into the army, get intimidation by the sergeants and officers, no social life and subjected to full military laws while earning pitance throughout 2.5 years of ns? can that be valuable life exp?
funny.. i learnt a lot that i would not have been able to do so outside...
at least not for a few more years... which basically prepared me much better for working life than university...
Wow, 75K can put 15% downpayment for a 4 room unit at park central.
Originally posted by Ponders:Its a valuable life experience of humility, discipline, tolerating your emotions.
If one does not want to be intimidated by the sergeants and officers, then he has to be THE sergeant or officer.
well, it is a different story when u report to a PR who is your boss and is 5 years younger than you.
Originally posted by fishbuff1:well, it is a different story when u report to a PR who is your boss and is 5 years younger than you.
care to elaborate what you mean?
Originally posted by Herzog_Zwei:
Note that the child cannot come back to Singapore.
I believe, once the child come back, he can be freed of all charges after paying an "administrative" fee of S$5000
Originally posted by ceecookie:I believe, once the child come back, he can be freed of all charges after paying an "administrative" fee of S$5000
dun mislead the pple... that case is a man age not so FFI for service liao...
Originally posted by eac:
dun mislead the pple... that case is a man age not so FFI for service liao...
And he was subjected to an older law.
Not the new one.
Originally posted by Ponders:care to elaborate what you mean?
i had worked for a foreign boss in SG that are younger than me. he is more capable than me so im alright with that.
but i have attend some interviews at investment banks in sg and as i walked into the IT department, the whole dept are comprised of ah nehs and not a single singaporeans in sight.
in my last company in sg, out of 300 IT staffs, less than 5 are singaporeans.
the place where I'm working now, in my cubicle of 4 people, 2 are singaporeans, 1 is malaysian, and 1 is a PRC who has been here for >15 years (not one that came recently hor).
In the cubicle beside, all 4 are Singaporeans (working for 4 ~ 10+ years).
I guess it depends on the job scope, because while attending new hires program, I saw that those IT guys were all Indians too.
great sacrifice? if his father cant even teach him basic values of serving his nation, how great can that sacrifice be? he is just showing his son that when money comes into play, out goes your values and along with it your nation...in a foreign land he will always be a foreigner(take PRCs in sg as an example) and in his birh place, he is no longer a citizen and cant even enter sg...so where does he belong?