I'll explain my situation and I hope you guys will help me a bit.
I'm currently in commando Pasir Ris camp undergoing BMT because I'm PES A and I didnt declare my spine problem during my medical check up at CMPB. I just finished my 2 weeks confinement. Recently I've decided to declare my spine problem to the camp doctor and he has recommended to the medical board for me to down PES till C1L2. I have to go Military Medicine Institute for another check up next week. Here are some of my questions.
1) How long does it take for me to OOT? Cause I'm having status of attend B for 3 months and couldn't attend any physical training, so basically I'm slacking throughout wasting time in camp.
2) If after they POP and I still have not OOT yet, what will I be landed up as? Still stay in the camp?
3) Do I immediately report to another camp (most likely Tekong) after OOT? Cause I've heard they would post me to be a clerk before the exact recourse to another camp.
4) Will I undergo a modified 7-weeks BMT?
5) Do I still have a chance to be an 8 to 5 clerk having PES C1L2 status?
6) If not, what are the possible vocations after my BMT?
7) Do I still have to go for field training since I cant carry heavy load due to my spine problem?
8) Will my ORD get extended due to my recourse?
9) WIll I get the 2 weeks confinement again if I recourse?
Thanks in advance! (:
Originally posted by coldzero:I'll explain my situation and I hope you guys will help me a bit.
I'm currently in commando Pasir Ris camp undergoing BMT because I'm PES A and I didnt declare my spine problem during my medical check up at CMPB. I just finished my 2 weeks confinement. Recently I've decided to declare my spine problem to the camp doctor and he has recommended to the medical board for me to down PES till C1L2. I have to go Military Medicine Institute for another check up next week. Here are some of my questions.
1) How long does it take for me to OOT? Cause I'm having status of attend B for 3 months and couldn't attend any physical training, so basically I'm slacking throughout wasting time in camp.
2) If after they POP and I still have not OOT yet, what will I be landed up as? Still stay in the camp?
3) Do I immediately report to another camp (most likely Tekong) after OOT? Cause I've heard they would post me to be a clerk before the exact recourse to another camp.
7) Do I still have to go for field training since I cant carry heavy load due to my spine problem?
Thanks in advance! (:
Thats alot of questions. Lets see whwat i can answer.
1) This i am not sure but normally you won't be slacking but sent to help out the clerks with their work etc.
2) After you OOT, you mgiht be reposted to another camp if not you will stay in your current camp and continue to helpout with whatever odd jobs they might have for u.
3) Recourse are never immediate so you are unlikely to go tekong for reBMT anytime soon.
4) Yes
5) Yes but not that high
6) Storeman, driver, medic i think
7) Yes, your PES status does not excuse outfield. You can still helpout in other duties outfield that does not require you to carry fieldpack.
8) No
9) No but i not sure
I dont understand your answer for question 2. Means if my platoon mates POP and move on to another camp and if I haven't OOT, means I'll remain in the camp alone?
Originally posted by coldzero:I dont understand your answer for question 2. Means if my platoon mates POP and move on to another camp and if I haven't OOT, means I'll remain in the camp alone?
Yes...you'll be lobo there until u get posted out.
If you get posted out.....
My god. Will I get posted out as clerk in other camps? Clerks in Pasir Ris camp get to book out everyday?
Originally posted by coldzero:My god. Will I get posted out as clerk in other camps? Clerks in Pasir Ris camp get to book out everyday?
Most of the cases, you won't.....but there are exception......
commando leh.. pes A somemore, prepare to face the consequences if u nv down pes
Originally posted by coldzero:My god. Will I get posted out as clerk in other camps? Clerks in Pasir Ris camp get to book out everyday?
Unless you get posted out, its up to your company/battalion to decide where to deploy you whereever they need more manpower help be it Hendon or Pasir Ris camp.
Usually how long will it take for them to give me a recourse?
Originally posted by coldzero:Usually how long will it take for them to give me a recourse?
Depends on you S1 and Chief Clerk.....but 1st you must be go to medical board 1st.....get downgraded then think of your next place....
Originally posted by FBI:commando leh.. pes A somemore, prepare to face the consequences if u nv down pes
Consequences like?
Originally posted by coldzero:Consequences like?
Surely u do not want to know...like going thru the commando bmt again and everyone will see you as chao keng....
Well, you can speak to your PC in regards to recommending you OOC/OOT and convey the message to the MO of your Camp. In such cases, you might be posted to other unit/vocation before they POP but it might drag till after they POP too.
Before you get posted to another unit/vocation, basically you would be a "Sai Kang" warrior.
Recourse would not be that fast in line. If you are going to vocation like driver/medic, you would be undergoing the training first. Recourse would be after you get posted to your unit.
Recourse can also be avoided if you want. Cos the camp MO will review your medical condition before you go for recourse.
Anyway, I got OOC and never went for recourse.
Then what did you do after you OOC? How long you took to get OOC?
Got lung infection during BMT. more than 20 days of medical leave...
Well, when I return to my coy in PT, it was like less than 2 weeks before they POP. So, I got posted out a few days after they POP. Being a SK warrior throughout the period lor.
Got to be a driver, posted to sembawang camp to STTS as a trainee... Life was slack back then... Lobo for a few weeks then attend driving course for a few months and then lobo for a week or two before posted out. The whole period was the only 8-5 period of my NS life lor.
Originally posted by coldzero:I'll explain my situation and I hope you guys will help me a bit.
Thanks in advance! (:
Let me clarify some stuff that hasn't been clarified here. At least this was what happened to me during my time.
1) Once the camp MO say you OOC/OOT, it takes effect immediately, once you show the letter to your coy people (ie. PC, PS etc...)
2) Yes you will stay in camp to do sai kang (manual labour, clerical work (as mentioned)) until you get your posting, which will normally come 1-1.5 months after you officially OOC.
3) As I answered earlier, you won't be reporting to another camp straight after you OOC, posting takes some time. SAF not that efficient. And what you heard isn't 100% true, not even close. You may not necessarily be a clerk but your vocation will not involve excessive physical activity for sure.
4) Yes, but only when your C1L2 status is confirmed. As far as I can deduce from what you are saying, it is still pending medical board and your status will probably only be confirmed a sometime later, few weeks - months perhaps. And, even when it is confirmed, it will be quite long before you are actually scheduled to go for your BMT recourse. Took me 6 months, I'm C2L2. For some, it could even be a case of after the recourse, its time to clear leave already.
5) Yes, but don't be surprised if you don't become one or enjoy 8 to 5.
6) Other vocations could be storeman, driver, medic (the ones at medical centre), mechanic or armourer (possible, my armourer at my unit was a C9L3).
7) Depends on the unit you are posted to. Most likely you will need to go for at least 1 ICT (in-camp training). If you have a serious spine problem, make sure you get a permanent excuse from the MO so that other people cannot make you carry heavy load.
8) & 9) No to both
1 more thing to add. Personally I feel PES C1L2 is a fairly shitty pes to be in. If possible, at least try to get C2L2. Coz C1 generally still have to take IPPT, just excuse a few stations. And even if you excel in your remaining stations, you cannot get any financial reward. Therefore it is just a waste of your time...
My advice to all:
If you have any medical problem, declare during "CMPB screening", dont get awarded Pes A then start to find problem for downgrading. You are creating chaos for OC, MO and the poor medic.
Since you have not pass out from BMT, you will be allocated a modified BMT course at Palau Tekong . 100% of the time you will stay in the original camp as clerk. Dont burn bridges. Since you already got a perm camp posting in commando camp, most likely you stay in the camp loh. I think commando clerk also stay in and also have clerk duties to do.
coldzero: What is your medical diagnosis?
I know you are probably facing much stress from your peers and supervisor. I can just pity you loh.
I know that commando camp policy sucks, well everyone know that! But they are very efficient in their vocation and I have good impression during ops. (I think "they " still know me well)
Originally posted by coldzero:Consequences like?
kick ard like a ball (post to other place then post again then again)
Originally posted by Lokey:My advice to all:
If you have any medical problem, declare during "CMPB screening", dont get awarded Pes A then start to find problem for downgrading. You are creating chaos for OC, MO and the poor medic.
Since you have not pass out from BMT, you will be allocated a modified BMT course at Palau Tekong . 100% of the time you will stay in the original camp as clerk. Dont burn bridges. Since you already got a perm camp posting in commando camp, most likely you stay in the camp loh. I think commando clerk also stay in and also have clerk duties to do.
coldzero: What is your medical diagnosis?
I know you are probably facing much stress from your peers and supervisor. I can just pity you loh.
I know that commando camp policy sucks, well everyone know that! But they are very efficient in their vocation and I have good impression during ops. (I think "they " still know me well)
I have adolescent scoliosis with a magnitude of 31 degrees.
I'm reporting to MMI for the check up on my spine and most likely it will go through. May I know how long it will take for them to officially down PES me and issue me the OOT?
Originally posted by coldzero:I'm reporting to MMI for the check up on my spine and most likely it will go through. May I know how long it will take for them to officially down PES me and issue me the OOT?
if the day u go MMI is the medical board day, u will get get pes letter and OOT on the spot...
anything info go ask ur camp medic lah...
When's the medical board day? Once per week?
once a month
May I know if being a clerk in Pasir Ris camp, do I have to stay in or I can book out everyday like clerks in other camps?
Originally posted by coldzero:May I know if being a clerk in Pasir Ris camp, do I have to stay in or I can book out everyday like clerks in other camps?
cockster leh u... u ownself in that camp u dunno how to ask the clerks inside issit....