OM MANI PAD MEH HOM is not the way to chant for pay back of past life...Originally posted by kumangal:is there anyway where by i can pay back to my past live karma debtors beside chanthing OM MANI PAD MEH HOM abd dedicate to them n doing charity work n out their name is there anymorer fast way
It will be quite interesting to know how do the buddhists nowadays get their knowledge on the Dhamma.Originally posted by Nonya_Girl:OM MANI PAD MEH HOM is not the way to chat for pay back of past life...
Nan-mo Ah-may-to Fat (Amitabha) is the correct one
OM MANI PAD MEH HOM is to scare away "dirty things"
Well .You claim Buddhist are interesting .so what are you ?Originally posted by yamizi:It will be quite interesting to know how do the buddhists nowadays get their knowledge on the Dhamma.
Om Mani Padme Hum is the popular 6-syllabus mantra believing to be representing the compassionate value of the Avalokitesvara (too long no spell so may be wrong) Bodhisattva. From the direct translation of the mantra, it means to fulfill one's wishes.
Amitabha is simply a buddha-name reciting method popular among buddhists who wish to reborn into Amitabha's western pureland. This recitation is aim to bring one's mind focus on the vows and prowess of Amitabha.
You simply need to have a firm faith and "dirty things" will not disturb you. You need not recite anything at all, unless you feel that recitation will allow you to have a higher level of confidence.
Probably the best way to repay one's past bad kamma will be to live in moment of gratitude and practice the dhamma by living a wholesome life through perfecting one's deeds, speech and thoughts as compare to reciting any mantra.
As buddhist, I think our ideal model should be the Buddha. And Buddha did not recite any of these to attain His enlightenment. So why bother to go into looking at the different mantra whereas forget that one should comprehend the sutras and apply them into our lives?
Hoho.
Buddhists nowadays are really interesting.
i agree wif u.. but diff ppl got diff type of bad karma.. some ppl are "qing wei" de.. sum ppl are serious de.. as for those "qing wei" de.. no nid to recite anithin much.. jus perfect one's deeds etc... but for those serioes type de.. doin this is not enuff.. some of dem got really bad karma den their yuan qing zhai zhu wont stop to haunt dem de.. so they bo bian have to chant someting to ward off those dirty things...Originally posted by yamizi:It will be quite interesting to know how do the buddhists nowadays get their knowledge on the Dhamma.
Om Mani Padme Hum is the popular 6-syllabus mantra believing to be representing the compassionate value of the Avalokitesvara (too long no spell so may be wrong) Bodhisattva. From the direct translation of the mantra, it means to fulfill one's wishes.
Amitabha is simply a buddha-name reciting method popular among buddhists who wish to reborn into Amitabha's western pureland. This recitation is aim to bring one's mind focus on the vows and prowess of Amitabha.
You simply need to have a firm faith and "dirty things" will not disturb you. You need not recite anything at all, unless you feel that recitation will allow you to have a higher level of confidence.
Probably the best way to repay one's past bad kamma will be to live in moment of gratitude and practice the dhamma by living a wholesome life through perfecting one's deeds, speech and thoughts as compare to reciting any mantra.
As buddhist, I think our ideal model should be the Buddha. And Buddha did not recite any of these to attain His enlightenment. So why bother to go into looking at the different mantra whereas forget that one should comprehend the sutras and apply them into our lives?
Hoho.
Buddhists nowadays are really interesting.
Repentance is a good method to clear karma but must be sincere.Originally posted by kumangal:is there anyway where by i can pay back to my past live karma debtors beside chanthing OM MANI PAD MEH HOM abd dedicate to them n doing charity work n out their name is there anymorer fast way
His karma has already ripened, so nothing much can be done.Originally posted by Lin Yu:how can you reduce your kamma just by chanting? eg: if you still from a bank and was caught, would chanting help?![]()
The way and tone of your reply proves to be interesting already =)Originally posted by bohiruci:Well .You claim Buddhist are interesting .so what are you ?
The issue is you may sound right ,but not absolute to the point
Thousand and even million of followers throughout the china , japan , india and the rest of the world chant Namo Amitabha and Om Mani Padme Hum experience rapture of the mind
attainment like Norbu Drudwang Rinpoche ,Master Yuan ying , zen master Hsu Yun , His Holiness Dalai Lama and Several Tibetan Lineage Head .
Zen master Shengyen
Pureland master ChinKung
Zen master Wei Jue
so can we say all this chanting is for unreal and not necessary ?
I was particular interested to you saying ideal model ,becos it sound very interesting .Care to elaborate more on your Ideal Model ,when I dun see it in Buddha 49th years of teaching ?
Buddha did chant mantra in his past lives prior to last birth
Buddha never attain enlightenment in one life.He also experience lotsa hardship and tough times in his past lives as a nine-coloured deer , monkey king , fish , and as Never -Despising Bodhisattva
Hi kumangal,Originally posted by kumangal:is there anyway where by i can pay back to my past live karma debtors beside chanthing OM MANI PAD MEH HOM abd dedicate to them n doing charity work n out their name is there anymorer fast way
Originally posted by yamizi:\
The way and tone of your reply proves to be interesting already =)
I'm not Wei Jue-ist, ChinKung-ist, Shengyen-ist, Dalai Lama-ist, -ist
As far as I am concern, I am more interested in the teachings of the Buddha. The common issue that happens nowadays with believers of any religions is that they seldom see the scriptures themselves. They are fast in quoting usually popular masters or methods, not that it is wrong, but definitely that is only one of the [b]many other expedient means available.
Now expedient techniques are not the ultimate pathway. Say even if Buddha did recite 6-syllabus mantra in his past life (which I am doubtful as I don't remember it is mentioned in the Jakata Tales), that recitation is definitely not the only way to attain enlightenment.
The claim that you put "Thousand and even million of followers throughout the china , japan , india and the rest of the world chant Namo Amitabha and Om Mani Padme Hum experience rapture of the mind
attainment like Norbu Drudwang Rinpoche ..." is as equivalent as if I were to say "Thousand and even million of followers throughout the china , japan , india and the rest of the world pray to (the christian) God and felt the pressence of the Holy Spirit..." It is as subjective as it is. Where faith is no doubt an essential part in any religious system, such claim would be deem to be as extravagant as any B-rated marketing. If you say there are "Thousand and even million of followers ", are you able to quantify this claim that you have made?
For Buddhism to maintain its relevancy and humble image to the mass, one would have to balance between claim made out of faith and rationalise thinking.
Now for tibetans, unless they are sent to the monastries for education, most of the tibetans (at least in much earlier days) are simple normadic herds with little education. Thus reciting of any mantra becomes a expedient technique that is practical for them to recollect the mind and bring to attention.
As far as I am concerned, give yourself 5 seconds to ponder about, are you an uneducated nomadic herder?
Living in an urbanised environment offers buddhists a whole new set of challenges. And having the fortune of living in Singapore where getting buddhist scriptures is relatively accessible, having access to the internet to the world out there and the various means to meet with like-minded practitioners, shouldn't we step forward and go into the scriptures ourselves and see Buddha was like and be like Him?
Or probably you find your own set of Tipitaka that has nothing but only Om Mani Padme Hum throughout?
Hoho.
If really like that then I can only wish you good luck.
Buddhism is definitely not just recitation of any buddha-name or mantra.
It is a doctrine that Buddha had shared with us. Buddha taught why we suffer; how sufferings come about; how to go about solving. Buddha gave clear sets of practical techniques like the Noble Eightfold Paths which is very very applicable to laypeople. Gradually eradicating the unwholesome actions, speech and thoughts.
Where got chant some mantra can clear kamma? Like that people can anyhow do evil things then later chant mantra to clear lo.
In fact, Buddha said that life itself is beginningless, that probably mean that we have just so many past lives that I think it is not possible for us to clear all our negative kamma done in the past. However, Buddha gave a famous analogy, comparing salt to negative kamma and water to positive kamma.
Just keep on being mindful, do our best in apply Noble Eightfold Paths which gradually allow us to accumulate positive kamma!
For this way, it is possible that we would have positive kamma so much that even if negative kamma would to happen, we will feel little or no effect. Like you drink one pail of water with only a pinch of salt in it, will you be able to feel the salt?
Enlightenment is the perfected state of the quality of the human mind.
metalcar,
I think having an unshakable faith in the Buddha, the Dhamma and the Sangha itself will provide enough protection against any spirits or asura. As mentioned, however, if a person believes the chanting or recitation of anything would increase his faith in the Triplegem, that would help too. And I think not so suay to kena asura one lah...[/b]
Om Mani Padme Hum is the popular 6-syllabus mantra believing to be representing the compassionate value of the Avalokitesvara (too long no spell so may be wrong) Bodhisattva. From the direct translation of the mantra, it means to fulfill one's wishes.So you only it mean fulfill one's wishes ? dun you have anything better to contribute ??
What do u mean by simply buddha-name reciting method
ya u reminded me of the triplegem.. ya it does help ALOT .. if u have done T.G.. those tings cant really hurt u cus u r counted as a disciple of the buddha ler.. even after u die .. but if hor.. when u r alive.. u do alot of bad tings n u got triplegem... oso no use lerOriginally posted by yamizi:metalcar,
I think having an unshakable faith in the Buddha, the Dhamma and the Sangha itself will provide enough protection against any spirits or asura. As mentioned, however, if a person believes the chanting or recitation of anything would increase his faith in the Triplegem, that would help too. And I think not so suay to kena asura one lah...
All dharmas are equal; neither high or low, neither more or less..Originally posted by Spnw07:All mantras are shared and taught to us by Buddhas and Bodhisattvas of our time. Just like the Great Compassion Mantra, it is clearly mentioned in the sutras that past, present and future Buddhas will share this mantra with all sentient beings.
So all mantras or Buddhas/Bodhisattvas' names are equal in their power to help us cultivate a basic form of peace and wisdom inside us.
It is the faith, the sincerity of the person chanting that counts, TS. And of course, when chanting, you can't possibly expect to feel anything wholesome when thinking of unwholesome things.
We all have our past karma. Up till now, I'm still afraid that my past karma will ripen and result in either a tragic death at any point in time or suffer greatly due to illness...etc.
Whatever it is you chant, remember, a heart of true repentance, faith and sincerity in understanding and practising the Buddha's teachings of cause and effect, universal compassion and wisdom of the true Buddha nature, is the true trigger that brings out the power of any mantra or Buddha/Bodhisattva's name.
All dharmas are equal; neither high or low, neither more or less.
Take care, TS. ^_^