Originally posted by Frogleg888:Most Cabs dont go Jurong Island!:(
Fuck la , Jurong Island very small nia , from Guard house to the end , take about 10 minutes drive @70km/h , very big meh ?
Tell u guys what ...
If u are given a job at Seraya Ave , or Pulau Merlimau like that ...grap , very near only .
Unless u are given Sakra Ave ... this one is far ...dead end liao . MDt must pressed 7 minutes , unless u are Poolman , 5 minutes .
Tell u what , Tuas South is more confusing than Jurong island .
Heard about Tuas Bay View ? Wow lan , the furthest industrial estate i ever been to .
Actually Tuas Incinerator that place , is right at the end .
Tuas south must try , when u are in Tuas area .
Tuas south ave 9 to Aye about $7.50 meter fare . Yeah that fare .
Tuas South Ave 9 to Jurong point is as good as Suntec to Tampines , if base on meter fare .
Originally posted by Poolman:Singapore , only Bedok and Toa Payoh abit confusing if u do not have experience . Until now i also not very good at Toa Payoh and Bedok , althought both is a small town .
Whereas those bigger town like Tampines , Jurong , Bt Batok , woodlands adopted very similiar road structure
I can help you with Toa Payoh because I live there.
Heres how to remember: Lor 1 and 6 forms a big circle, almost surrounding the whole estate. Lor 1 is western and 6 is eastern. Also, lor 6 protrudes slightly to the north, going out to braddell road.
Then Lorong 2 and 4 run N-S in the circle (west to east)
Lorong 3 runs between Lors 2 and 4 near the north.
Toa Payoh Ctrl runs parallel to Lor 3, near the town centre.
Lor 5 runs East of Lor 4. It makes a "horseshoe" shape and returns back to Lor 4
Lor 3 and Ctrl intersections are both between Lor 5 intersections.
Toa Payoh East runs from Lor 5 to the east, intersects Lor 6 and goes on. Lor 7 starts at Toa Payoh East, goes north, crosses Lor 6 and ends at Lor 5.
Then Lor 8 starts at Lor 7, runs north and west, and then intersects the northern Lor 6 which links to braddell rd. There is also another Lor 8 leading out of it that connects to braddell rd (but not from)
Two ways to go to PIE: via Lor 2 or Kim Keat Link near Toa payoh stadium at Lor 6/4 intesection. Heading out east or coming in from west can use either one. Heading out west must use lor 2 one and coming in east must use Kim Keat Link. aka left turn = either, right turn = corresponding.
Also, remember one carpark in toa payoh. Its near Lor 7. It zooms all the way to Kim Keat Link area, go towards PIE. that one kinda confusing. Go out wrong way then very difficult to re-enter toa payoh liao. Muz loop towards CTE and then Braddell Rd.
If you remember this, you can drive to toa payoh already!
Originally posted by ALN:haha… me also familiar with toa payoh cos i worked there for 5 years…u left out toa payoh north…plus another link from lor 1 to thomson road…that one sure many drivers don’t know (that mas selamat was reported to stroll past this road also).... very useful short cut to thomson road… keep it secret…
the drive xxx, ave xxx, street xxx system caused a lot of confusion, thats why LTA had stopped this system.
some towns which uses the new system are Sengkang (1st), Punggol and Sembawang
Originally posted by ALN:haha… me also familiar with toa payoh cos i worked there for 5 years…u left out toa payoh north…plus another link from lor 1 to thomson road…that one sure many drivers don’t know (that mas selamat was reported to stroll past this road also).... very useful short cut to thomson road… keep it secret…
It's not a secret la for oldies .... It's discouraging drivers to use the road because of blind people and handicap people surrounding that area .
Eh , i on-course got tell me this road .
Originally posted by 105090:the drive xxx, ave xxx, street xxx system caused a lot of confusion, thats why LTA had stopped this system.
some towns which uses the new system are Sengkang (1st), Punggol and Sembawang
Honestly , i hated Sengkang for the way they set the road names ...what Compassvale Cresent , Rivervale St etc .....
The old road names system better , like AMK Ave 1 , Tampines St 32 , etc ....
Also i hated the what Edgefield Road , what field what field at Punggol ....
Honestly speaking , Punggol , being such a small estate , the best to use is to use it like Pasir Ris , The Main Road for Punggol is Punggol Road , then instead of Punggol Central , named it as Punggol Dr 3 , intsead of Punggol drive, rename it as Punggol Dr 1 , pararrel against each other .
Then those Edgefield whatever ...rename it as St 1 , or St 3 then st 5 and so on , again , pararrel to each other . St 2 ,4 ,6 on the other side .
Like that more simple for me .
Short cut? NO way at all. Those going from TPY to Thomson via the carpark have to pay $1.00. Nothing is free, not even the air u breath is free.
Whoops. tp north is off lor 1.
then, toa payoh Rise is the shortcut. taken taxi thru dere b4. short n good.
toa payoh west i not so sure.
do u taxi drivers freak out when u hear sungei gedong?
i really salute poolman!
Originally posted by purpledragon84:do u taxi drivers freak out when u hear sungei gedong?
I stay near that , i stay CCK ..... Sungei Gedong ? sap sap water la ...... Frick ? What frick ? The first thing i asked if they want to go : "U got money ? "
"U got money pay me then i take !"
Nothing to frick ....
Anyway poolman, how you remember Bukit Batok street names? There even more confusing than toa payoh, whatever east west central.
Bukit Batok West and Bukit Batok East is separated by the MRT track lor .....
I stayed at West Area all of my lives , so Bt Btk not really a big problem , in terms of block number .
St 51 , St 52 all the same , 500+ .....
See.... Bt Batok central , the MRT track that cut across ?
Near Jurong one is West Ave 6 , the other side is East Ave 3 .
So the main road of Bt Btk , is ...... East Ave 3 > Central > West Ave 6 , same road .
Before u hit one MRT track is East , once bypass MRT track , it's west , using the main road as a landmark .
Originally posted by Poolman:Bukit Batok West and Bukit Batok East is separated by the MRT track lor .....
I stayed at West Area all of my lives , so Bt Btk not really a big problem , in terms of block number .
St 51 , St 52 all the same , 500+ .....
See.... Bt Batok central , the MRT track that cut across ?
Near Jurong one is West Ave 6 , the other side is East Ave 3 .
So the main road of Bt Btk , is ...... East Ave 3 > Central > West Ave 6 , same road .
Before u hit one MRT track is East , once bypass MRT track , it's west , using the main road as a landmark .
Then theres also the normal Bt Batok Aves like Bt Batok Ave 1 etc, so how?
Originally posted by jayh272416:Then theres also the normal Bt Batok Aves like Bt Batok Ave 1 etc, so how?
Ave 1 is the link between Jurong East and Bt Batok , so nothing much i can say ....
I think they used Ave 1 as in the first road to access to Bt Batok from Jurong .
Dunno la , getting too chim liao .
Jurong East and Jurong West .... separated by a canal .
Jurong East Ave 1 & Jurong West Ave 1 - same road . Once u pass the canal , it's a different road name .
CCK and Yew Tee separated by a KJE .
Maybe newbies will kena a bit of Jurong West Xtension .
When customer said Jurong West , they mean the original Jurong West , as in St 42 , St 41 , St 51 , St 52 Ave 1 etc ...
But when the say NTU , meaning not the Uni itself , they're saying St 71 to St 93 area .
But when they said Jurong Point , they sometime dun really mean the shopping centres itself , they are saying those areas like St 61 , 62 , 63 , 64 , 65 side .
Take note la ...
Like the season Western Singaporeans , we really dun used Bt Panjang when get on-board a cab , we used ZhengHua .
Like aunite want to go Old Havelock Road , she dun use Old Havelock Road , she would say : "Au Kio Tao ! "
As in Black bridge head .
Old road names is more complex to know than current road names .
Ang Sar Lee ( red-zinc roof ) , is also known as Serangoon Garden . Old folk used that .
Originally posted by Poolman:Ang Sar Lee ( red-zinc roof ) , is also known as Serangoon Garden . Old folk used that .
Yeah I hear my grandparents using that term many times.
Anyway regarding your Choa Chu Kang and Yew Tee is separated by KJE, I know a few other neighbour towns that are separated by roads
Bishan and Toa Payoh: Braddell Rd
Punggol and Sengkang: TPE
Tampines and Pasir Ris: TPE
Tampines and Simei: PIE
Toa Payoh and St. Michael's estate: PIE
Bishan and Ang Mo Kio: AMK Avenue 1