Originally posted by oxford mushroom:Speedster's death ruled a misadventure
DURING the morning peak hours of April 23, salesman Chan Chi Heng was speeding at 160kmh moments before his car smashed into a truck.
He died and yesterday the Coroner's Court ruled it an accident or a misadventure.
According to a witness who was driving to the city with her father, two cars raced past her as she was travelling along Changi Coast Road in the direction of Nicoll Drive at about 9.30am on April 24 this year.
She told the court that they were racing 'recklessly and carelessly'.
She then saw Mr Chan trying to overtake the other car on the left before swerving right to escape hitting a slower-moving vehicle in front.
He slammed head on into an oncoming DHL Global Mail truck.
The other racer sped off.
Civil Defence officers had to cut the wreck to free the truck driver and to get to Mr Chan's body. The other driver has recovered from arm and leg injuries.
(Straits Times 9 July)

anyway, the message was clear, DO NOT SPEED.. it thrill BUT kill !!! .. More are dying on the road which can be prevented ... I must admit, sometime I can be impatient too, but I do not speed above 120 so far ... I die ok, if I don't and kill someone else, I don't think I can take it ...Originally posted by eviljustice:yeah. i was puzzled by the date too.
Oooo.... izzit just me or does the coroner played too much CS? Misadventured, misadventure.... Man i just love the sound of that rolling off my tongue...Originally posted by oxford mushroom:Speedster's death ruled a misadventure
quite common to hear this pharse leh... maybe that all the vocab they have ... or maybe standard term ..Originally posted by Anonymous User:Oooo.... izzit just me or does the coroner played too much CS? Misadventured, misadventure.... Man i just love the sound of that rolling off my tongue...![]()
quite true .. however, with today technology, the car can now run faster, pick-up also faster. How many of us driver can really claim to understand the technology and to handle the car properly and efficiently? I mean, we bought a car and we started driving, there are instruction book, but how many will read it. I don't. Then there is no course to take to understand the car well. YOu just drive like you know the car. But do you really. I mean, you can speed but there is certain limit to it. How many of us know the limit . Youngest will be the worst group especially those who just pass. Not that I am prejudice but because of the lack of driving experience, their urge for speed and their impatient, the accident will always be waiting there ... .. .Originally posted by mancha:Sad thing is that it will never end.
There will be someone who will wrap his car round a tree.
There will be someone who will kill his gf by speeding.
Educating the public can never be complete, because there are always new entrants comming in.
when a crimminal is hangedOriginally posted by Anonymous User:Oooo.... izzit just me or does the coroner played too much CS? Misadventured, misadventure.... Man i just love the sound of that rolling off my tongue...![]()
ya when i haven get my licenceOriginally posted by tomsss:I've seen in previous related disscussions on speeding... they cited one of the main reasons why ppl speed is cos of the cars they drive, eg WRX, EVO, MR-S etc. In this case, it's just a bloody Toyota Vios. And in MCF, there has been talks about a moron who brags about outrunning other vehicles in his Chery A168
Just hope that something can be done to instill proper driving discipline when new young drivers are getting their licences.
I remember many many years ago, an old experience driver once told me. No matter how good ( as in character ) and patient a man can be, when he get behind the wheel, he will take on another character. He can no longer be the same man with the same patience. I didn't understand him then. Now, I understand but think what he said was a bit too strong..Originally posted by I_love_my_toilet:ya when i haven get my licence
my friends got, they like quite impatient sia
they see 1 car no signal cut their lane, they will blurt !@#!$!$! !
then if 1 car take slightly longer to response, they oso will scold @#$#@$! !
seems like v stressed to be driving sia.
now, im a driver myself, i think im more calm, they wanna cut cut lor
wanna overtake overtake lor, i can take it
probably older liao ba...
guys relac la, be patient la
1 sec saved, 1 life lost![]()
It is true, what that old chap said...Originally posted by ORIGAMIST:I remember many many years ago, an old experience driver once told me. No matter how good ( as in character ) and patient a man can be, when he get behind the wheel, he will take on another character. He can no longer be the same man with the same patience. I didn't understand him then. Now, I understand but think what he said was a bit too strong..![]()
Actually, not only the driver changed, the front seat passenger also changes especially that one happen to be your wife.. whenever I make a remark when some idiots cut into your lane or something like that, my wife face will change and the conversation will suddenly cut short ... sigh . ... That's why I try to control my temper and impatience ...Originally posted by ShutterBug:It is true, what that old chap said...
I fight my own demons on the roads everyday... always catching myself from unnecessary speeds, give way and wait without honking...
But you really can't hold it all if and when you are tired, hungry, thirsty, and need to pee...
haaiz...that's one of the possible verdicts of a Coroner's court la...natural death, death by suicide, death by misadventure, death by murder by person or persons unknown, death by negligence etc.Originally posted by ORIGAMIST:quite common to hear this pharse leh... maybe that all the vocab they have ... or maybe standard term ..![]()
He paid dearly isn't it?Originally posted by Mr boy:Cant imagine a stock Vios at 160km/h lol.. just thinking how long it take to reach that speed. Racing in a Stock economical car is just totally stupid in the first place.
I'm sure in actual fact there were more witnesses, just that the rest were being typical local citizens... see see look look then drive away. That lone witness was probably the only one who was willing to take the time to tell the police and media on what happened. However i tend to agree that 160kmh is purely based on that woman's estimation.... as if she really knows how fast is 160kmh.Originally posted by Vigelic:somehow I think that the witness exaggerated stuff a bit. I'm sure it was over 100kmh. but I'm guessing it was more like 130 - 140 kmh, not the 160 kmh the witness claimed.
amazingly, the entire article was written based on ONE witness' testimony of what happened? o.0
the lorry driver only said that it happened too fast. a black toyota coming straight at him.
everything else was from the "witness".
really can believe meh?