A friend of mine has already failed her tp twice under bbdc and is finding it too expensive to have to book at least 2 practical lessons before each tp test.
She is considering going private but one instructor recommended to her told her to close her bbdc account first before they can start.
What we are wondering is if this is standard practice or not and I would like to help her get more opinions on what she should do. Please feel free to share :)
i personally find that going under a school is better
the lessons tend to be more systematic and they teach what is needed to pass
unless the private instructor is damn solid lah.
Thing is she's already completed all her lessons. Failed tp twice due to things she says did not happen at all... you know la the usual... Cuz i feel that she should go private now just to prepare for her tp as her instructor will be fixed but this one recommemded to her asked her to close her account first and this is what made us wary.
y did she fail e 2times?
First time she said was her fault. Second time she felt she did nothing wrong but the tester said during U-turn she caused other vehicles to slow down and all but she doesn't think so as she checked all clear and safe distance. I also dunno what to say haha.
she's not a seasoned driver, what she sees could be different from what the tester sees
just tell her to try again lah.
if i'm not wrong test date book priority goes to the school
agree w satu..
ask her instructor wat went wrong during e first 2 times..then dun do it e next test..
its too late to switch now..she will need to get used to another new car, new instructor, teachching style etc.
just try again for next test...yes shorter waiting time for sch students
there is no logic when she has completed all her lessons and to pull out of the school just to save that few tens.
she should find out what went wrong instead of thinking she was "right", then try again.
iirc, your friend would have to close her BBDC school account and create a private candidate account at BBDC instead using the NIRC number of your instructor.
which instructor is your friend going to? I can PM you my instructor's contacts if your friend is interested.
Hey, not trying to hijack this thread but sharing my experience.
I was under a private instructor with the TP test at ubi. I thought can save some $$ because they charge less then school. But i failed twice, quite miserably and left me feeling very dissappointed. Took 2 years off and went to enrol with SSDC. Started Feb this year and I just got my license on the first try last July.
If I had enrol with SSDC instead of going to a private instructor, I may not necessarily passed on the 1st attempt but I found school lessons are more proper and in order so you know what you have learned and what you need to know. I suggest to continue with the lessons, the extra 2 can be considered revisions and the time to rectify any mistakes or ask any questions about stuff you are not sure.
Anyway, thats my two cents worth ![]()
Originally posted by sprakster:A friend of mine has already failed her tp twice under bbdc and is finding it too expensive to have to book at least 2 practical lessons before each tp test.
She is considering going private but one instructor recommended to her told her to close her bbdc account first before they can start.
What we are wondering is if this is standard practice or not and I would like to help her get more opinions on what she should do. Please feel free to share :)
I do not think it's necessary for her to close the BBDC account before the private instructor can teach her...unless rules have changed...there is no regulation saying that centre's students cannot engage a private instructor to teach them(something like private tuition lar)...
I think the reason is that the big money for the private instructor is the car rental for TP test...so if she terminates with BBDC...then she will have to use the private instructor's car.
As far as TP is concerned...as long as U have valid PDL and insurance...they dont really care where the car comes from.
But do take note that not many private instructors are willing to take these kind of "tuition" cases...for the reason mentioned above...so ur friend might need to talk to a few more private instructors and see how.
You mean when we are private candidate, we rent the car from our private instructor for the TP test?
Originally posted by technoboy:You mean when we are private candidate, we rent the car from our private instructor for the TP test?
ya.if not where U get a road-worthy vehicle with sufficient insurance for the test?
for those thinking about using family car...do remember that when U take the test...U are not a qualified driver...and for person driving without valid licence...insurance dun cover one hor...
think only centres and driving instructors cover...
Originally posted by sprakster:A friend of mine has already failed her tp twice under bbdc and is finding it too expensive to have to book at least 2 practical lessons before each tp test.
go to other driving schools lor...
Thanks for all the feedback and opinions :) Still haven't decided on what to do yet but you all have been a great help!