14 Oct, 05:13AM in sunny Singapore!
Home Whinehouse

My thumb is numb from mugging!

Subscribe to My thumb is numb from mugging! 20 posts

Please Login or Signup to reply.
    858 posts since May '06
    • my thumb is numb after i finished writing out one set of notes! what’s happening? ive written more than that before and it has never happened before. its the third day already. it doesnt hurt but theres this weird sensation. which kinda bothers me. Sad

must be the pen that i was using. i was using those thin stabilo coloured pens. those with an orange base and the cap is the colour of the pen. and there are lines running along the pen. you know that kind??

i stubbed my toe so theres a blood blob on it. so i had to limp home.

my earphones spoiled! Sad so i had to survive a day without music. on a happier note,i managed to get new ones! lime green earphones! yay. the colour makes me happy.

thats my whines for today

Edited by jaydunkfull 18 Jul `08, 3:51AM
    469 posts since Sep '07
    858 posts since May '06
    21,153 posts since Apr '06
    • Next time when u go for writing marathons, dun use so much force when holding the pen.

• The only cure for procrastination is a terminal illness.
    2,224 posts since May '07
    • You could be suffering from Carpal Tunnel Syndrome. Although the name suggests something scary, it's basically compression of a nerve at the wrist.

Excerpted from Wikipedia:

...The first symptoms of CTS may appear when sleeping and typically include numbness and paresthesia (a burning and tingling sensation) in the fingers, especially the thumb, index, and middle fingers...

...For prolonged handwriting, use a big pen with an oversized, soft grip adapter and free-flowing ink. This way you won't have to grip the pen tightly or press as hard on the paper. Take frequent breaks. Every 15 to 20 minutes give your hands and wrists a break by gently stretching and bending them...

Take care.

9,811 posts since Apr '06
    1,210 posts since Aug '06
    858 posts since May '06
    • oh so sad, i realised my whine about a levels 2008 thread is already expired!!! thought of reviving it since its the prelims period now, and soon a levels. but never mind, i shall continue here Smile

858 posts since May '06
    • oh, my thumb is still numb, even when im not writing, but its a little better now, just not as normal as it should be. it gets worse when i start writing, but its ok la. so much for mugging

858 posts since May '06
    • i think i flunk prelims liao lor. it was so horrible. and im worried. because i always lose steam after studying very hard. and my "studying very hard" also not say very hard, as compared to my friends. on a good day, i study up to 6,7 hours, then will deflate already. thats not a lot.on a bad day, i cant even sit down with my notes for 2 hours straight. confused.png then i have hard core friends who can stay back and study in school everyday till 10 or even study overnight on top of a whole day of studying. i shouldnt be comparing but they make me feel inferior.

one thing to be glad about. my prelims are almost over! left mcq papers next week! yay! can play one week during sept holidays! jia you for the rest of you taking prelims! my school's prelims damn early la, i end already, you all havent even start.

i got a lot more to rant, but ill come back later. gonna check out the olympics closing ceremony!

Edited by jaydunkfull 24 Aug `08, 9:22PM
    4,278 posts since Jan '06
    • i think u need to hit 8-10 ba ... actaully, dun get too negative abt ur prelims results. .... u still got time to make it ... everyday just OT abit more jiu can le. I managed to have a subject jump from F to C ... so jia you ... dun lose steam ... u no more 'steam' to lose liao ...

Phoenix Fudge
    16,685 posts since Jan '04
    • It's not just about how long you study..... it's what you absorb that's more important.

No point studying unproductively for 8-10 hours and absorbing nothing in the process. Might as well just study productively for 4-6 hours and absorb a lot more things into your mind.

You study two hours at one go? Don't. Cut down to perhaps one hour periods. Take a short 15-minute break between each one-hour session.

I've read studies suggesting that the human brain can probably only productively take in no more than 40 minutes of continuous information without rest. So just study in one-hour periods.

4,262 posts since Jul '05
    • Originally posted by gd4u:

i think u need to hit 8-10 ba ... actaully, dun get too negative abt ur prelims results. .... u still got time to make it ... everyday just OT abit more jiu can le. I managed to have a subject jump from F to C ... so jia you ... dun lose steam ... u no more 'steam' to lose liao ...

Haha , me too... an F to a C..

Oh well... i think Innova really gives a lot of F's to students.

858 posts since May '06
    • thanks for all your encouragement, my seniors. Smile im getting Us, ungraded, so if i want to jump grade, must really make it a VERY big leap

858 posts since May '06
    9,811 posts since Apr '06
    651 posts since Sep '07
    858 posts since May '06
    • Originally posted by jaydunkfull:

yay yay yay yay yay tomorrow last paper!!! prelims are ovaaaa
      can go partay le!!!!

Ok, long time nvr type this le ....

but ar ...

READ MY NICK!!....