VS
Saturday, August 29 2009
Channel 27: 12:15 am - (Live) (Sunday Morning)
Premier League
Wenger: Bring on United
Arsenal host Celtic in midweek before travelling to Old Trafford for next Saturday's tea-time game. And boss Wenger is licking his lips at the prospect after his side followed up their 6-1 win over Everton with a 4-1 pummelling of Portsmouth.
He said: "We have had a brilliant start. It should create confidence and momentum. "We now go into another week which will be another test against Celtic and then Manchester United. "It looks to be exciting and interesting."
Abou Diaby netted twice in his 100th game for Arsenal. And Wenger drew comparisons with former Gunners skipper Patrick Vieira.
The Frenchman said: "When he decides to play more defensively, he is exactly like Vieira. "He has quick transition from box to box. When we are on the counter-attack, he is fantastic. "This could be his season. He has all you dream to have to play in the Premier League."
Arsenal captain Cesc Fabregas was replaced at half-time by Aaron Ramsey. And Wenger revealed the Spain midfielder could be out for a fortnight if his hamstring problem proves serious.
He added: "If it is a little pull, he will be out for three weeks, if it is just tightness, maybe he can get away for Wednesday. "In 48 hours, we will have a better view."
William Gallas and Ramsey also netted for Arsenal, while Younes Kaboul replied for Portsmouth.
Zomg.... I think I'll be working!
Lets hope dinky take one for the team and don't watch this match...
Wah late sia lol, must cab home with midnight fare liddat .....
Mmm, only 1 out of their 10 goals have come from a striker. Haven't really seen how Arsenal play this season.
But I read that Bendtner's a right winger now? His height will definitely cause Evra problems. I remember when Gerrard played there for Pool against Utd, they kept pumping the ball to him. Vidic had to come across to help Evra out.
who will be the winner?
There are fears that the Gunners skipper could be out for three weeks after being subbed at half-time in the 4-1 thrashing of Portsmouth.
Boss Arsene Wenger said Fabregas - who is unlikely to make Wednesday's Champions League qualifier against Celtic - will have a fitness test today to assess the extent of the injury.
He said: "Cesc has a hamstring problem. He will be short for Wednesday certainly.
"If it's a little pull he'll be out for three weeks. If it's just a tightness maybe he can get away for the Celtic game but after 48 hours we'll have a better view."
It will be a massive blow for the Gunners as the Spanish midfielder has been in top form this season.
He was a doubt before the 2-0 win at Celtic at Parkhead with the same hamstring niggle but played the whole game.
But the problem got worse in the Pompey clash and it seems the Spanish ace could now be out until September.
given Gunner's free-scoring form, this will be a litmus test for United.
COMEBACK ... United defender Wes Brown
The defender's pre-season preparations were hampered by a thigh injury.
He featured as a substitute in United's opening-day win at Birmingham before struggling during the shock defeat to Burnley at Turf Moor four days later.
Brown, 29, was left out completely by Alex Ferguson for Saturday's win at Wigan but came through an hour of last night's reserve-team triumph over Bolton.
And his availability could be crucial considering Jonny Evans is struggling with an ankle injury.
With Rio Ferdinand sidelined by a thigh problem and not likely to return until the Manchester derby on September 20, Fergie has limited options if Evans is ruled out.
Gunners are 2-0 up in their Champions League play-off.
But boss Wenger said: "This game is a more important one than Saturday for the club, by far. We have to give absolutely everything be- cause tomorrow you cannot come back.
"Saturday, even if we drop points against Manchester United, we can always catch them up - you have 35 games still to go.
"If we lose the game against Celtic, we have zero. It is a massive game."
Arsenal could scoop around £25million by taking part in the Champions League group stages alone. But the Emirates chief insisted: "It's not the huge amount money that makes it such a huge fixture for us.
"It's not the financial blow that matters, it's that we want to be in the Champions League and this is a much bigger game for us than Saturday."
Arsenal are massive favourites to go through after their first-leg victory in Glasgow.
But Wenger insisted: "It is not job done, it is job to do. That is how I approach it.
"Celtic have no choice, they have to come out and have a go at us. We will be faithful to our tactical approach."
Man United 5 - Arsenal 2
dun ask me how i noe
Arsenal are in the form of their lives... So don't expect too much. A draw isn't too bad considering how the gunners are rolling everything in their way with lots of goals... I am not expecting United to keep a clean sheet in this game...
Song: We're unbeatable now
WARNING ... Alex Song
The Arsenal midfielder helped knock Celtic out of the Champions League last night.
And he has now set his sights on Saturday's huge clash with United at Old Trafford.
Cameroon ace Song said: "If we play like we played against Celtic, then we know nobody can beat us.
"This is a really important game and when you play against Man Utd, it's never easy.
"It's a big game and we just have to keep on improving."
Originally posted by Master -_-:Man United 5 - Arsenal 2
dun ask me how i noe
i say 7-1
i tink it may be a draw
defence + counter attack play shld be key here
United could suffer cos there is no Rio in the defence... Evans is unfit even if he plays... Brown is also not to his former self yet... Only one Vidic against RVP, Arshavin, Fabregas and that tall Danish cookie...
Its looking not so good for United... Unless Owen come up with something...
you have to depend on ben foster
really
Originally posted by Shao Wei:you have to depend on ben foster
really
Ben's big opportunity to give us his "man of the match" performance...
United will need to play all their fast players against the gunners... One thing about the Gunners is, they are much more different to Chelsea and Pool... And that is, they tend to play with the ball more on the ground than in the air... And their movemont is very fast... That why United need Fletcher in their midfield...
Ben Foster
O'Shea, Vidic, Evans, Evra
Park, Anderson, Fletcher, Nani
Rooney, Berbatov
Who to leave out?
Kuszczak, Fabio, Neville, Brown, Scholes, Carrick, Giggs, Valencia, Gibson, Owen, Macheda
Draw again as always...
a goal a side... Gallas will be the hothead as usual
- Arsenal Fan
Originally posted by zocoss:United will need to play all their fast players against the gunners... One thing about the Gunners is, they are much more different to Chelsea and Pool... And that is, they tend to play with the ball more on the ground than in the air... And their movemont is very fast... That why United need Fletcher in their midfield...
Ben Foster
Rooney, Berbatov
Who to leave out?
Kuszczak, Fabio, Neville, Brown, Scholes, Carrick, Giggs, Gibson, Owen, Macheda
Zoc, why no Valencia in your team?
Anyways, I think G. Nev might start in place of O'shea.
Originally posted by zocoss:United will need to play all their fast players against the gunners... One thing about the Gunners is, they are much more different to Chelsea and Pool... And that is, they tend to play with the ball more on the ground than in the air... And their movemont is very fast... That why United need Fletcher in their midfield...
Ben Foster
Rooney, Berbatov
Who to leave out?
Kuszczak, Fabio, Neville, Brown, Scholes, Carrick, Giggs, Gibson, Owen, Macheda
Wah..giggs how to get left out...he either start or get subbed on eventually.....he got the pace and experience to cause trouble for arsenal....he may be old but his speed still can win most.
The Gunners skipper suffered a hamstring injury against Portsmouth last weekend.
And he has failed to recover in time for the huge Old Trafford match.
Originally posted by omgukilledkenny:Zoc, why no Valencia in your team?
Anyways, I think G. Nev might start in place of O'shea.
Oh yeah hor, I forgot about him... lol
Add him to one of the sub lor...