Every cigarette to bear "SDPC" marking from Jan 1 next year
SINGAPORE : From 1 January 2009, all duty-paid cigarettes sold in
Singapore will be marked with the letters "SDPC" to distinguish them
from contraband cigarettes.
The letters "SDPC" stand for Singapore Duty-Paid Cigarette, and it is proof that the cigarette is legal.
This new requirement is part of Singapore Customs' effort to curb the selling and buying of illegal cigarettes.
According to Singapore Customs, Singapore is the first country to implement this regulation.
From January next year, all unmarked cigarettes would be deemed duty-unpaid and illegal.
Anyone found buying, selling or smoking cigarettes without the
"SDPC" marking could be jailed or fined. For every packet of
duty-unpaid cigarettes, the offender can be fined S$500.
Licensed retailers will start selling marked cigarettes from
October. The Tobacco Association (Singapore) said the current stock of
unmarked duty-paid cigarettes will not be recalled.
Fong Yong Kian, director-general, Singapore Customs, said: "We will
be working together with the cigarette industry to phase out all the
old cigarette stocks by January 1 next year. When our officers
encounter cigarettes without the SDPC marking from January 1 next year,
we will investigate it to check the origin of the cigarette.
"Our assessment is that it is unlikely that the SDPC markings will
be counterfeited. This assessment is also shared by the industry. But
nonetheless, we will be monitoring the situation very closely."
According to Singapore Customs, cigarette manufacturers were informed of this new marking requirement in April this year.
Those who buy their cigarettes from overseas for their own
consumption should keep their receipts as proof of payment of duty and
GST.
According to the Tobacco Association (Singapore), contraband cigarettes constitute 18 per cent of market share in Singapore.
It expects the new regulation to increase demand for duty-paid
cigarettes, which would help offset the cost of marking every
cigarette. - CNA/ms
*cough*shag*cough*tobacco*cough*
damn.. sounds like a smoker saying that
damn.. they're gonna ID cigs now.
Originally posted by SBS7484P:damn.. they're gonna ID cigs now.
You smoke? I dont think so, youre only sec 3/
of course i dont. if i smoke u wd've smelt it when we met up that time
just heard it over the news.. lmao
and for the extra ink used to mark the cigs, they will have to jack the prices again.
ok maybe not, but 50% chance
if print sdpc den still got space to print marlboro meh.
i am wondering.. whether they will "mark" the ciggies in singapore... or at point of production
gotch a lot of difference de...
btw.. what makes the idiots think the counterfeiters will not print the SDPC on it too
and how exactly are they going to check where is the origin? stupid idiots.
and who will cover the cost for the additional printing on the ciggs? The consumers?
First to implement this. knn, first to implement ERP also. As long as suck money, they first to implement.
_|_
Originally posted by the Bear:btw.. what makes the idiots think the counterfeiters will not print the SDPC on it too
then they will have UV ink embedded onto it..and all NEA or custom officers have to use white light to check...
Originally posted by Master -_-:
then they will have UV ink embedded onto it..and all NEA or custom officers have to use white light to check...
that kind of ink is easy to get too...
Some scholar must have come up with this brilliant idea.
Maybe they should add in a seriel number on the ciggies too.
Otherwise how to track the ciggies?
Right?
Originally posted by the Bear:that kind of ink is easy to get too...
that's it..must have Ho Ching's portrait superimposed on the stick already
well, people will be too disgusted to smoke
best way to quit smoking
in fact, its the best way to quit anything
Install a barcode on each cigratte butt. sure cannot copy. Barcode all the information directed to a central headquarter to see whether the cig is duty paid.
knowing that i have a chance to burn it, i will smoke even more, heck, just burn the whole thing.
Policeman to smoker smoking a ciggy: Oi, how come your ciggy no SDPC marking?
Smoker: Um, smoked off that part already.
that is worse than having those disgusting photos on the cigarette box.
Originally posted by Pitot:knowing that i have a chance to burn it, i will smoke even more, heck, just burn the whole thing.
Smokers dun usually smoke to the end .. the tag is at the end near the butt lo, before the thing is burnt the smoker already will throw away the butt liao leh
Put the butt into the cigarette case.
Go home.
Burn all the cigarette butts, or cut them until beyond recognition.
Case solved.
Stupid idea, makes more work involved for everyone and if cigarettes cost more because of this then here's a little something for whoever who came up with this idea.
_|_
Most importnat issue is, will cigarette price go up becos of this marking?!!!