kindly state the news article or source if you know..
thanks..
It's a personal contact from Facebook, who is a teacher of that student...
It may be in the news, we'll see..
why commit?
don't be sad for the family, they really deserve it.
this is what you get when you force a kid...
YOUR KID IS NOT YOU. you can claim everything that is the best for the kid, but have you ever ask what he/seh WANT?
From the source, She committed suicide due to exam stress.. that is the tragedy of it...
I'm sad coz it's one innocent child, a kid, a life lost, for what? for the self worth that is tied to a piece of paper..
It's just one too many wake up calls, yet as an educator myself, I still see many parents stuck to this one track thinking that "You're doomedn if you fail"...
I have 2 kids myself and certainly won't want them to live life thinking its all about the marks they get in school... I love them whole and complete with or without the paper qualifications..
Originally posted by youyayu:don't be sad for the family, they really deserve it.
ä½ çœŸçš„æ²¡æœ‰äººæƒ…å’¯…
Originally posted by Positive Parenting:From the source, She committed suicide due to exam stress.. that is the tragedy of it...
I'm sad coz it's one innocent child, a kid, a life lost, for what? for the self worth that is tied to a piece of paper..
It's just one too many wake up calls, yet as an educator myself, I still see many parents stuck to this one track thinking that "You're doomedn if you fail"...
I have 2 kids myself and certainly won't want them to live life thinking its all about the marks they get in school... I love them whole and complete with or without the paper qualifications..
I think the mindset of some parents(usually parents who have no/low education background) rather conservative...
If you fail, future is doomed...
I still see children kena whack in the ass if they don't do well...
Dont get it wrong, it has nothing to do with the mindset of parents.
Its the self-expectation of students, and partially the wrong of MOE. MOE indirectly caused depression and suicides of the kids. More still, the schools didnt have lessons or subjects dealing with handling of stress. Then set some tough questions which are made up by some idealistic question setter I suppose.
Kena whack is no problem, but do it moderately. Reward when brilliant. Punish when wrong.
Sad to see such a young thing leave this way, if this story is any true.
Anyway, children shouldn't be made to lose out on their childhood.
Dear Parents: Rmb this, that paper chasing can only get you so far. There's more to the currency of life than just dollars and 'what-have-you's.
Originally posted by ~N3RD~:I think the mindset of some parents(usually parents who have no/low education background) rather conservative...
If you fail, future is doomed...
I still see children kena whack in the ass if they don't do well...
I think is the other way round leh.. Those highly educated parents(manager/doctor/engineer). Imagine yr children fail PSLE, how will u react?
HUGE expectation is placed on their shoulder to emulate their parents.
"Your children are not your children.
They are the sons and daughters of Life's longing for itself.
They came through you but not from you and though they are with you yet they belong not to you."
~ Khalil Gibran
Sad case.
people who commit sucide is depression. so what triggered depression? alot of factors played a part also.
Originally posted by nightzip:Dont get it wrong, it has nothing to do with the mindset of parents.
Its the self-expectation of students, and partially the wrong of MOE. MOE indirectly caused depression and suicides of the kids. More still, the schools didnt have lessons or subjects dealing with handling of stress. Then set some tough questions which are made up by some idealistic question setter I suppose.
Then I don't quite agree with you liao leh... If self-expectation~ then why most of the kids are always playful~ Ask them to study also got problem...
MOE is always trying using us as experiment one la...
Originally posted by ~N3RD~:
ä½ çœŸçš„æ²¡æœ‰äººæƒ…å’¯…
nono..
i feel sad for the kid.. not the parents.
Originally posted by Rooney9:people who commit sucide is depression. so what triggered depression? alot of factors played a part also.
there's a show earlier on ch8 iirc about depression..
Rong Rong Time ago, I have a classmate who cut herself on the wrist when she faced the great depression of examination... Cut until rail way track is formed...
waa... P5 got wat stresss
Originally posted by Mybluemoon:waa... P5 got wat stresss
hanor i last tiem p5 or p6 oso no stress.
i never study for psle oso still can pass
but anyway seriously i think parents shud not push their children or expect too much to the extent of suicide.my dad once stopped a student who almost commit suicide when he failed his exam cuz his parents push him too much.
Source of information also don't know reliable or not, already coment and comment. Funny leh.
Hmmm, stress is usually due to failure to cope with workload/expectations.
Quite amazing how a mind as young as 11years old, manage to take one's own life at will. Like, from where does such mind get poisoned with such thoughts/possibilities?
I can only think of Television and the Internet, and if so, it begs the question of who controls such mind to exposure of such media?
She died as a virgin. So sad
hey, just to infrom you, I am not the person who commit suicide. The incident happen quite near me in BLK 241