SINGAPORE: Singapore's Prime Minister Lee Hsien Loong said Sunday the country has a considerable way to go in its productivity drive, especially when compared with other countries which have achieved significant productivity growth.
He said Singapore's productivity can improve by 60 to 70 per cent.
Mr Lee's remarks follow the release of the Economic Strategies
Committee Report, which placed productivity as the key growth strategy
for Singapore's economy.
The Prime Minister made the assessment on the first day of the Year
of the Tiger, as he visited a select group of workers who are keeping
the country going during the holiday period.
Accompanied by key union leaders, Mr Lee gave away S$10 hong baos and
oranges to some 150 staff at Swissotel the Stamford and Fairmont
Singapore.
Mr Lee said efforts must redouble if Singapore is to achieve the
target of two to three per cent productivity growth over the next 10
years.
"It's a turning point. Your numbers will grow more slowly and if
you want the economy to do well, that means the productivity must go
up," said Mr Lee.
"And if your productivity doesn't go up and we don't get the
growth, then I think you may feel that you're relaxing a little bit
more but the mood, the buoyancy, the optimism, will be quite different.
So we have to work hard and take this very seriously."
To help staff increase their productivity levels, some hotels have been using a device called the Ezi-Maid.
The device is able to elevate beds to waist level, making it easier
for cleaning staff to change the sheets and vacuum under the bed,
cutting the time taken to clean a room.
The job scope of workers is also being re-looked.
General secretary of Food, Drinks and Allied Workers' Union, Tan
Hock Soon, said: "We're working with management to upgrade the skills
of the workers through expansion of knowledge, through skills
upgrading, so that we can ultimately integrate jobs. So that
productivity goes up, therefore better wages for our workers in the
industry."
Mr Lee also touched on the need for Singaporeans to have more babies.
He said that while there is no "magic bullet" to boost the
fertility rate, working mothers will need family support, and husbands
can play a part.
"(Husbands can) start by changing nappies!" said Mr Lee. "When the
kids grow a bit older, you're not just a father figure, but you're
helping around the house and showing them a good example, so when they
grow up they also know how to look (after) the house."
Singapore's resident Total Fertility Rate slid from 1.28 in 2008 to 1.23 last year, the lowest ever.
- CNA/yb
konfirm he wan locals to work ourselves to death, then let the foreigners reap the fruits of OUR sowing...
actually it's possible. Only issue arising is worker's skill and cost.
Anyway improving productivity for efficiency is the only way for survival. Without any natural resources, offering better infrastructure and efficient services is the only way for us to survive as a country.
Neither should it ever clash w/ interest of short term profits of investing in R&D. Our forefathers did it w/ force into introducing GIRO, NETS, MRT and later on electronic services to enhance our life and make tis place more competitive vs others, it can be done.
Originally posted by sbst275:actually it's possible. Only issue arising is worker's skill and cost.
Anyway improving productivity for efficiency is the only way for survival. Without any natural resources, offering better infrastructure and efficient services is the only way for us to survive as a country.
Neither should it ever clash w/ interest of short term profits of investing in R&D. Our forefathers did it w/ force into introducing GIRO, NETS, MRT and later on electronic services to enhance our life and make tis place more competitive vs others, it can be done.
Increase productivity without rising your salary, who the hell will have motivation???
You pay what you get. This is what our million minister said it...
Slash our minister salary by half and ask them to be more productive.. You see they are willing anot?
The problem in Sg is minster only know how to talk and never lead by example. They always have the double standard. What you do might not apply to me!
How do convince people, like that?
Like that I can also be minister.. And I just take half their salary only. Productive boh?
Originally posted by zenden9:
Increase productivity without rising your salary, who the hell will have motivation???You pay what you get. This is what our million minister said it...
Slash our minister salary by half and ask them to be more productive.. You see they are willing anot?
The problem in Sg is minster only know how to talk and never lead by example. They always have the double standard. What you do might not apply to me!
Like that I can also be minister.. And I just take half their salary only. Productive boh?
Why go and start whacking the whole of it when it's the only way to survive? End of the day they're not going to be the ones feeding you, it's your own life.
If you make things productivity, chances are companies margin would be better and can likely get better wages. Another method is tat was done in the 1980s, make an opportunity push the wages up to make companies to look into ways to use technology to improve productivity (but it also means everyone would need to be educated and skilled).
If you've ideas can voice it out, but dun go and whack onto something tat has to be done
Give $10 angbao to 150 staff nia, amount to $1500...
Confirm this niao idiot go claim from our fatty eggprata eater(u-n0e-h0e) for reimbursement...
N he get million dollar pay... huatdefark...
ask pple go do work, but he himself don't set ass-ample...
Like having kids, why dun fark she-male leeder and let her claim maternity leave from temasex...
like dat save money for country also...
dun tell me she-male leeder command million$$ maternity leave
they're politicians, not policy makers
agreed...and more work and educational programs should be set to allow more Sg to survey and learn how China and other oversea chinese survive and made it to the top in other countries....such programs could help to shock our young and spoiled Singaporeans
Lacking natural resources, we need to innovate from a limited pool of human resources...however, since it is much a people's economy...we should also strengthen and factor in the importance of social psychological framework, particularly tolerance and more constructive viewpoints (including oppositions) to sustain a stronger Singapore in future...
i would not agree with LKY's views that such a small country like Sg do not need many oppositions...but i think varied but genuine oppositions should be encouraged to prepare for a much stronger Singapore against outside brutal realities...if we just follow...our young Singaporeans will never be tough and stronger...and the day will surely come when Singapore will fall in their hands....
actually not really need to go to PRC
You see how we came from can tell lots. Our standing position in 1965, 1980, 1990 and today
my stance is on young Singaporeans to be more exposed to external brutalities than in a protective environment...
which is also why i personally would encourage the continuation of NS but with greater benefits to level the social responsibility...and to propose more national or social programs for women to contribute than spending their time on shopping...
and here i dun agree with LHL's views that only women jungle between work and family...but to take closer look...their over reliance on maids (who are the real executives of homes) to the point of abusive behaviour has brought shame (as well as men)...over favouring women at the expense of men will do no good for their healthy development...a feminized Sg...
productivity needs also to re-look into overall social psychological development with balanced interests ... as like Mayo, who understands better lighting system to increase work productivity...
over tat problem of today's moden woman it would eventually has to be looked at and settled by the post - 65 gen themselves.
still increase?
govt think we are terminator ar
might as well go build robots better
Originally posted by sbst275:
Why go and start whacking the whole of it when it's the only way to survive? End of the day they're not going to be the ones feeding you, it's your own life.If you make things productivity, chances are companies margin would be better and can likely get better wages. Another method is tat was done in the 1980s, make an opportunity push the wages up to make companies to look into ways to use technology to improve productivity (but it also means everyone would need to be educated and skilled).
If you've ideas can voice it out, but dun go and whack onto something tat has to be done
It is naive that you think in a way PAP make us to survive. They make it a dog eat dog world. You think you as sheep can overcome the Lion? You are just a pawn in their eyes.
Their so call productivity call is just some propangada to make you work to death with the minimum pay.
Just like the Soviet Union times, where the Soviet used a few over exaggerated work of a few individual to promote productivity. During Stalin times, million died from overwork and lack of proper medical benenfits. Just like how the regime of Singapore trying to make ordinary citizen work like robots.
that is also another reason we need more and better oppositions to vet on the issue...it has to be more convincing...with balanced interests...
work and more work is itself no bad thing so long as we reap the fruits of our labour....but aren't we feeling that only the top few are reaping it than the masses?
any learning curve should be justified with balanced rewards....to sustain productivity of workforce....not just because of cutting back foreigns...
It is naive that you think in a way PAP make us to survive. They make it a dog eat dog world. You think you as sheep can overcome the Lion? You are just a pawn in their eyes.Their so call productivity call is just some propangada to make you work to death with the minimum pay.
Just like the Soviet Union times, where the Soviet used a few over exaggerated work of a few individual to promote productivity. During Stalin times, million died from overwork and lack of proper medical benenfits. Just like how the regime of Singapore trying to make ordinary citizen work like robots.
Even if it's another govt, going up the economic value chain will still occur. It's as if under another govt we've natural resources to survive on and live on kampung life.
you dun have to care abt wat they say. Eventually one fine day you'll or everyone will realise once there's another bunch of credbile and practical ppl to run the govt, for all we may know they could become e new govt.
At e same time, it's e people tat will drive the economy eventually.
1) NS : Reduce it further. Give the boys more salary, the present salary is too little. Give them $1k or more per month.
2) Baby bonus : More and more rebates. The present rebates not enough. Govt should give more rebates and look further and not only baby.
3) Productivity : It depends on companies itself. Not govt.
Yes, his salary can also cut down by 60 to 70 per cent.
Cut down his salary la to encourage more productivity. He receives so much $$$ for his salary I don't see he has lots of productivity. Look at yourself LHL before pointing fingers at the people who feed you.
Keep increasing the costs of living and practising giving low wage yet want the people to produce more babies. "Yao ma e pao yu yao ma e bu chi cao"!!!!!!! No logic
Increase productivity without rising your salary, who the hell will have motivation???You pay what you get. This is what our million minister said it...
S'pore is so small with a small population and yet we have so many MPs and ministers................so who has to improve productivity..............
Originally posted by As romanista2001:S'pore is so small with a small population and yet we have so many MPs and ministers................so who has to improve productivity..............
Too many cooks spoil the broth.
Coz singaporeans very good to bully, anything also boleh, so they keep pushing pushing, taking taking to their hearts' content, but think their hearts still not contented yet.
Guess e message would have been better mentioned by one from EDB
Originally posted by Fantagf:
Too many cooks spoil the broth.Coz singaporeans very good to bully, anything also boleh, so they keep pushing pushing, taking taking to their hearts' content, but think their hearts still not contented yet.
by the way ah, i read somewhere that you're a girl leh, really ah?...............LOL
i always have the impression you're a guy leh...................
Originally posted by As romanista2001:by the way ah, i read somewhere that you're a girl leh, really ah?...............LOL
i always have the impression you're a guy leh...................
I am a lady. Many including yourself think I am a guy. Many gals don't talk about politics. hahaha