WHEN businessman Ng Choon Beng moved into his terrace house in Upper Serangoon Road three years ago, the neighbourhood was a quiet, leafy residential area with great food.
Then, Hotel 81 and Fragrance Hotel came up just a few doors away and started offering hourly rates.
'There wasn't much activity at first, but we see a lot more illicit activities going on these days,' said Mr Ng, 38, of his estate, which is next to Upper Serangoon Shopping Centre, about 1km from Kovan MRT station.
'Sometimes cars drive up right outside our house and park there, and then we see these girls and their clients walking towards the hotels; we've even witnessed money transactions taking place.'
When his wife walks to a nearby provision shop to buy groceries, men waiting around the hotels and KTV lounges would stare at her or even proposition her. Mr Ng's neighbours are equally upset by the new people on the block. They are unwelcome in a residential area and they have caused parking woes, said residents.
Since budget hotels began springing up in residential areas like Kovan, Tiong Bahru and Balestier in the past two years, sex workers have also started appearing.
-- ST
Joo Chiat is now less sleazy
THE sleaze in Joo Chiat has shrivelled.
The 'hundreds' of women who used to walk the street at night have fallen to about 40 to 50, according to the area's MP Chan Soo Sen. 'I make it a point to look at (the situation) every week and have a rough count,' he told reporters on Monday.
The vice problem is now confined to a 50m stretch along Joo Chiat Road, he added, and more family-oriented and lifestyle businesses such as food, fashion, advertising, and souvenirs have popped up in the neighbourhood in the last couple of years.
The MP was briefing reporters on the improvements made to the heritage area, ahead of the May 9 ministerial walkabout by Law Minister K. Shanmugam. In 2005, he said, 'hundreds' of women solicited customers along a 1.3km stretch of Joo Chiat Road. Now, the road is quieter and he sees 40 to 50 women on the street when he drives or walks in the area at night.
Sleaze was a political issue in the intense campaign for Joo Chiat during the 2006 General Election. Mr Chan won 65 per cent of the 18,806 valid votes against Workers' Party veteran Tan Bin Seng.
Asked whether he will contest in the next general election, Mr Chan said the decision is up to the leaders of the People's Action Party: 'If they want to field me, I will continue to try and do my best till the last day.'
-- ST
Hourly hotel rates and Vice, please Say NO.
Hourly rates not only for vice Letter from Tang Li 05:55 AM Apr 30, 2010 I WAS quite amused to read Soh Ah Yuen's letter, "Are hotel hourly rates necessary?" (April 28). The writer seems to believe that hourly rates at hotels are a major cause of social ills and banning them will somehow make Singapore a better place. However, if one understands the dynamics of Singapore, one would realise that hourly rates at budget hotels do provide a necessary social service. First, let's be clear that while hourly rates may be used for sexual activity, that's not always the case. There are people working the late shift and in a city that hopes to develop a more vibrant "night life", the hourly rates at budget hotels provide an alternative resting place to people who work late - like musicians, waitresses and others in the entertainment industry. Some people in this industry, through the course of their work, drink heavily. Some work for establishments that do not provide a transport service that takes them home. There are those who drive. Surely it is better for people in these situations to have a place to sober up before they drive home than to place them in situations where they feel it's necessary to drive when under the influence of alcohol? And not all sexual activities that go on in such establishments are between prostitutes and clients. There are unmarried couples who use these hotels because they don't have privacy in their own homes. Having budget hotels that charge by the hour provide these couples with a safe and private environment to engage in a private act between consenting adults. This then leads to the question of "vice". Prostitution is not a pleasant business. However, it has been around for as long as Singapore has. Minister Mentor Lee Kuan Yew admits in his biography that prostitution is an industry that is impossible to ban and it is better to have it in the open than driven underground. Thanks to his pragmatism, Singapore has avoided many of the social ills associated with the business. We may not like some of the activities that take place in budget hotels but they do provide society with a necessary outlet for certain activities. So, let's be practical and leave budget hotels as they are and to charge as they please. |
For 'good measure', dis is my heartfelt response:
Hourly rates not only for vice Letter from Tang Li 05:55 AM Apr 30, 2010 I WAS quite amused to read Soh Ah Yuen's letter, "Are hotel hourly rates necessary?" (April 28). The writer seems to believe that hourly rates at hotels are a major cause of social ills and banning them will somehow make Singapore a better place. However, if one understands the dynamics of Singapore, one would realise that hourly rates at budget hotels do provide a necessary social service. |
Mmm, social service is a positive word, part of the "many helping
hands approach" I suppose?...
First, let's be clear that while hourly rates may be used for sexual
activity, that's not always the case. There are people working the late shift and in a city that hopes to develop a more vibrant "night life", the hourly rates at budget hotels provide an alternative resting place to people who work late - like musicians, waitresses and others in the entertainment industry. |
Most such people I know check into backpackers hostels, the rates
are cheap, the company fun, all artsy/ with a love for adventure, and
time for hanky panky whatsoever, at least not in 'expensive' Singapore.
Best thing is, when U put something into the hostel fridge and return
for it, U find that it has now often become something else!!! So lives
on the magic...
Some people in this industry, through the course of their work,
drink heavily. Some work for establishments that do not provide a transport service that takes them home. |
If U drink so heavily, U won't last long, n I really doubt You'll
be able to make it to the inn in one piece either. U are safer off
sleeping in your car or on the streets. If U cannot afford the night
bus/ taxi fare home, U are unlikely to be able to afford ANY decent
hotel services either. Please take the bus home and get some proper
rest, dreaming is best conducted in the safety of your own bed.
There are those who drive. Surely it is better for people in these situations to have a place to sober up before they drive home than to place them in situations where they feel it's necessary to drive when under the influence of alcohol? |
N drive to your favorite hotel? WTF, what if they dun have hourly
rates, den get back behind the wheel n drive some more?- hoping U make
it home??? U shouldn't be colluding with the behaviors of a now
notorious Romanian diplomat Dr Ionescu who knocked down 3 pedestrians on his
way home in drunken stupor.
And not all sexual activities that go on in such establishments are
between prostitutes and clients. There are unmarried couples who use these hotels because they don't have privacy in their own homes. |
Do it properly, get a room with a view, romanticize on the balcony
whilst U contemplate your marriage, honeymoon and eternity. If U are
the rough and tough budget type, go C4, grab $20 tent, pitch it at East
Coast park n u're in business, even starting your date with a romantic
tandem bicycle ride, then iced beer by the sea, the plan is yours to
decide, U are what u plan to be.
Clean and freshen up facility is open and free 24/7, ditto Changi beach.
No need to hurry, no hourly rates, just need some effort with free camp
permit booking via internet/ AXS stations. AFAIK, parking is free too.
If it's true love, you'll got the distance, why not?- N these are decent
activities are btw conducted in days, not hours.
Having budget hotels that charge by the hour provide these couples with a safe and private environment to engage in a private act between consenting adults. |
Ditto the above, I repeat, these decent activities are conducted
in days, not hours. Of all marriages made in heaven, none are based on
'shot-gun' foundation.
This then leads to the question of "vice". Prostitution is not a pleasant business. However, it has been around for as long as Singapore has. |
So have war and drugs and every other criminal activity.
Minister Mentor Lee Kuan Yew admits in his biography that prostitution is an industry that is impossible to ban and it is better to have it in the open than driven underground. |
Or hor, if untrue, dis is certainly slander, if true, den we must all discuss our "Mascot's" POV, is it dated or the prelude to our downfall. Does it devalue society. U can make it election issue if U wan, I'll vote on it if I can.
Thanks to his pragmatism, Singapore has avoided many of the social ills associated with the business. |
U into dis fishy business also? Prostitution without social
ills..., humph, I'm listening.
Or U an addicted patron in deep denial. Or your lifelihood depends on
this 'fringe' activity.
We may not like some of the activities that take place in budget hotels but they do provide society with a necessary outlet for certain activities. |
The acceptable, few and far between. There is time and place for needs that u have just described. Hotels or backpacker's inns, the Parks are free 24/7; Singapore is a small place, there are certainly no reasons for any in-between.
So, let's be practical and leave budget hotels as they are and to charge as they please. |
Sorry, dis is clean and green Singapore, those with finesse, pay
by the day. Those who like the great outdoors, do it by the open sea.
Those who "do as they please", these are the morons of our society.
You may now respond.
Have a nice day.
At least not in residential areas lah.
Got budget hotel means got whores hanging around.
economics of sex industry should be better understood and will tell you why there are budget hotels and of course brothels....
Originally posted by Fcukpap:economics of sex industry should be better understood and will tell you why there are budget hotels and of course brothels....
just like we don't want beggars all over Singapore, we also don't want whores all over residential areas in Singapore. just stick to the standard areas like geylang, orchard towers, desker etc.
don't want whole island to be flooded with fucking whores.
understand the "unhealthy" enviro....but lets not forget the unlicensed pros or mistresses who engage in casual sex...
everything goes by demand and supply i presume....its all about business and catering to needs and wants....the no. of such hotels increased is also a good indicator of our Sg sex drives...
govt and developers also want more business and economic activities via sex activities...lol
i ever read online a husband/wife couple go budget hotel coz' renovations still ongoing at home on a saturday and they just wanted to sleep in.
Sg practised subjective morality in line with economic policies....thus we have casinos finally
Originally posted by Fcukpap:understand the "unhealthy" enviro....but lets not forget the unlicensed pros or mistresses who engage in casual sex...
everything goes by demand and supply i presume....its all about business and catering to needs and wants....the no. of such hotels increased is also a good indicator of our Sg sex drives...
govt and developers also want more business and economic activities via sex activities...lol
hey why you keep on slamming women in singapore now defending whores?
i slam sluts....and from economic policies....this is a view without defending anyone
ok la...follow your line of thought.....its true and not healthy enviro esp near residential...
but where businesses are concerned..and sexual urge hard to control....beri hard lei
whatever the case, just don't flood residential areas with fucking whores.
opposition can use this to attack the PAP.
true...hopefully it could ...
but substantially hard....there should be more on the agendas
snipes14, 3May2010, 12:51 PM I think TS has an extremely black and white way of looking at the world. By the time I was 16 I knew that it was anything but that. |
Originally Posted by snipes14
What's wrong with prostitution?
Some say that it's evil, that it's exploitation of women.
|
But there are no moral absolutes in the world:What is evil or not is purely a creation of society. |
As for exploitation, has the TS considered that there are some women who go into prostitution willingly? |
An article about the legalized prostitution industry in New
Zealand: http://news.bbc.co.uk/2/hi/7927461.stm |
The way I see it, its a win win situation. There's a demand, and people willing to satisfy that demand for money. |
If it's banned, where are people going to get their release? |
Joo Chiat's sleaze reduced substantially, says law minister
SINGAPORE : Law Minister K Shanmugam said sleaze in the Joo Chiat area has been substantially reduced over the last few years.
And this can be seen from the dwindling number of vice activities
as well as establishments like pubs and massage parlours.
Over the years, the number of pubs in the Joo Chiat area has gone down
from 46 to 28.
And this is even more significant for massage parlours. While the area
used to have about 30 massage parlours, it is now down to only three.
Responding to a query on what more the government is doing to clean up
the area, Mr Shanmugam said the various agencies have been working
together to control vice there.
"A decision has been taken since January of 2009 by the STB (Singapore
Tourism Board), on the urging of the MP and the Joo Chiat task force,
that hotels will not be allowed to charge transit rates anymore, by the
hour. So that's in place now and that applies for newer as well as
current hotels," said Mr Shanmugam, who is also the Second Minister for
Home Affairs.
The number of women picked up for vice in the area has also dropped
drastically over the years - from 400 in 2007, to less than 40 last
year.
Last year, the police arrested some 7,600 female foreigners for
vice-related activities, up from the 5,000 the year before - mainly
because of stepped-up enforcement action.
During the dialogue session, a resident asked if the authority will be
doing more to curb vice in outdoor refreshment areas.
Mr Shanmugam said it is simply not possible to push all businesses
indoors because some just don't have the space.
He added that a practical and fairly strict approach has been taken
towards the outdoor refreshment areas.
"We have been refusing applications for putting tables and chairs
outside wherever it's feasible to do so. It cannot be done in every
single establishment, but wherever it's feasible to do so we've been
doing that," said Mr Shanmugam.
During the hour-long forum, Mr Shanmugam also touched on issues such as
traffic in the Joo Chiat area and foreign workers.
- CNA /ls
Originally posted by Vote PAP OUT to Save SG:At least not in residential areas lah.
Got budget hotel means got whores hanging around.
Joo Chiat, Baliester Road all have housing, even along Pasir Panjang Rd towards NUS... got Quickie Hotels... SingApore Not big you know ??