100,000? how many more percent of their population would that be?
knn..orchard sundays so many foreigners liao still wan add 100,000..
Originally posted by Deino:100,000? how many more percent of their population would that be?
knn..orchard sundays so many foreigners liao still wan add 100,000..
U go jurong pt on sat sunday all foreigners.
Originally posted by Junyang700:Probably not. Only fools will believe that they are limiting the number of foreign workers in the near future. They will just import more and more. In fact, this news tells you the whole agenda.... THEY WILL BE IMPORTING MORE AND MORE!
I think it will be more.
Apparently this is a number which they have already sugar coated and think the public will be able to accept without too much hoo ha.
Imagine if he came out and said half a million or 1 million more foreign workers.
Originally posted by QX179R, 14 Jul `10, 12:21PM:HOUSTON (Texas)- SINGAPORE can expect the number of foreign workers to increase by at least 100,000 this year in response to the demands of the booming economy, said Prime Minister Lee Hsien Loong.
Speaking to the Singapore media here on Tuesday as he wrapped up a six-day visit to the United States, Mr Lee said the government had taken steps to moderate the number of foreign workers, but a rise was inevitable given the strong growth.
He added: 'It cannot be helped because with the market so tight, if we don't allow the foreign workers in, you are going to have overheating. ...-- ST
Less any further clarification by the authorities about what they truly
mean by 'overheated'- that the demand for labour is so high, it's
considered 'overheated', I think that
the only thing really getting 'overheated' is the Prime
Minister's salary.
SG
PM's salary is linked to nation's GDP (CEO's salaries, govt revenues
etc). But citizen's salary? Alas, the people are always the last to see
the fruits of their labour.
If indeed the SG economy experiences "record growth", then why aren't
the citizens salaries experiencing the same? Perhaps citizen salaries
should be increased by 15% in line with the anticipated GDP expansion
and only after this act of decent wage increment is performed
should any further influx of foreign labour be considered, after all,
the PM's salary, tagged to the top jobs of the land are bound to be the
first to increase as companies declare their annual profits, and CEOs
receive record bonuses.
Alas, "All animals are equal, but some animals are more equal than
others."~ George Orwell.
Think either the PM's ego or his paranoia is getting to his head again.
CNA 03 May 2006 1839 hrs (SST)
SINGAPORE : Prime Minister Lee Hsien Loong says Singapore is at the
top of its game because of a strong political system and quality
leadership.
He seems to have started to "solve this week's problem and forget about
next year's challenges" and "spend all my time thinking what's the right
way to fix them"
As mentioned, his next considered step would be par of course to "buy
supporters votes".
Guess we all have none to do but watch.
Oh dear, of dear.
"...It's not done us good for our reputation... what to
do, it's happened"
SAD.
Ref:
- [A1forums: 16Jun2010]: Having babies today is cruel: The future is
bleak. (Global warming, etc) [link]
- [TR: 15July2010] 'PAP ministers expected to get massive pay rise due
to “strong” economic growth' [link]
- [CNA:03May2006] 'Prime Minister Lee Hsien Loong says Singapore is at
the top of its game because of a strong political system and quality
leadership' [YouTube/ full video]
- [YCT.com]: 'The Greed of Singapore's Rulers' [link]
- [George Orwell/ Animal Farm] "All animals are equal, but some animals
are more equal than others." [wiki]
- [Acronyms- PAP]= Plunder and Prosper? Or Power and Profit? No its
Profit Against Principle and Profit Above People! Politics Against
Principle.
Yeah PAP!!!
PS: Kindly refer immediate feedback viz email located at [blog]
if any facts or links are inaccurate, untrue or unclear. Tks.
Originally posted by charlize:I think it will be more.
Apparently this is a number which they have already sugar coated and think the public will be able to accept without too much hoo ha.
Imagine if he came out and said half a million or 1 million more foreign workers.
Foreign workers good, foreign workers create jobs for Singaporeans.
Imagine double digit growth every year from now onwards.
Minister can afford to drive a different car to work everyday from Monday to Friday.
As a salaried worker, you will have the luxury of taking a cab once every 3 months instead of squeezing with the crowd in the MRTs and buses.
I am going for double digit growth.
Really.
Originally posted by charlize:Imagine double digit growth every year from now onwards.
Minister can afford to drive a different car to work everyday from Monday to Friday.
As a salaried worker, you will have the luxury of taking a cab once every 3 months instead of squeezing with the crowd in the MRTs and buses.
I am going for double digit growth.
Really.
Double digit growth only in terms of "GDP", the "GDP per Capita" has been dropping for afew years now.
Say 100 workers used to produce $100 million a year, now 150 workers produce $110 million a year, that is a growth rate of 10% in GDP.
But GDP per Capita has dropped from $1 million per worker to $733,333.
Originally posted by charlize:Imagine double digit growth every year from now onwards.
As a salaried worker, you will have the luxury of taking a cab once every 3 months instead of squeezing with the crowd in the MRTs and buses.I am going for double digit growth.
Really.
More foreigners/ people in Singapore= more $ flows= More income Taxes and GST collected= higher govt revenue= reason to raise Ministerial salaries.
Also Govt salary is also linked to the highest 8 of all salaries in Singapore (with a 30% mark down thereafter if I'm not wrong)- in 6 different top earning industries.
So govt grows economy at all cost regardless of environmental/ social concerns, because the running theme- top down- in this country is to 'grow GDP' at all costs.
So is Singapore to blame for floods elsewhere due to the putting first- our rabid land reclamation and high Carbon lifestyles as promulgated by the PAP regime?
At all cost and in paranoia of any 'opposition' voice what so ever?
Where "solve this week's problem and forget about next year's challenges", "spend all my time thinking what's the right way to fix them" and to "buy supporters votes". are par choice.
Yes I guess.
And we deserve every bit of the repercussions.
Shame on us Singaporeans, we actually deserve to be drowned.
Originally posted by βÎτά:
Double digit growth only in terms of "GDP", the "GDP per Capita" has been dropping for afew years now.
Say 100 workers used to produce $100 million a year, now 150 workers produce $110 million a year, that is a growth rate of 10% in GDP.
But GDP per Capita has dropped from $1 million per worker to $733,333.
No more talk about "value added" skills now.
It's now "cheaper, better, faster".
No wonder productivity is at an all time low (and probably will get lowererer too).
July 15, 2010 18:13 PM
Food Aid Programme For Jobless Migrant Workers In Singapore In Jeopardy
By Zakaria Abdul Wahab
SINGAPORE, July 15 (Bernama) - A food aid programme for jobless migrant workers run by two local charity organisations in Little India, here is in jeopardy as its funds are drying up.
The Cuff Road Project is currently short of funds and it will dry up if no new donations and grants are coming in within a month, according to Transient Workers Count Too (TWC2) and ONE (SINGAPORE) today.
They said sharply rising numbers of migrant workers seeking food aid threatened the survival of the food aid programme that had already served over 100,000 meals to homeless and jobless foreign workers.
Some 450 men depend on the programme for their daily meals, and last month, the project expenditure reached an all-time high of $17,914, up nearly 80 percent on average from the first quarter of the year.
"Most of The Cuff Road Project participants have either been forced to leave their jobs due to injuries or the non-payment of wages," said John Gee, president of TWC2.
He said many of the migrant workers were the victims of scams, and not only that, most of them went deep into debt to come to Singapore, often selling their family homes to do so.
"We aim to provide the men with meals in a safe and clean environment, where they can eat with dignity," said Vernetta Lopez, president of ONE (SINGAPORE).
"No one in Singapore, whether local or from overseas, should have to worry about where their next meal is coming from," she said.
TWC2 is now addressing an urgent appeal for funds to individuals and corporate bodies to ensure that the programme could continue.
The sharp rise in the project numbers might be due to higher visibility of the programme among the migrant worker community or there were more men who were out-of-work and qualified for the programme, the organisers said.
The project which is run by volunteers not only provides the men with food, but with a chance to socialise and a place to relax and talk about their problems.
-- BERNAMA
Dr Wong Wee Nam: Why Do We Need 6.5 Million People?
http://www.sgpolitics.net/?p=101
i think Singaporean should go into Sex Trade.....I mean with 100K foreign worker what would be the increase number of Sex workers in Singapore ?
Be a boom boom coorindator.....set up hotline ....ha ha ha....
Originally posted by Chester_Lim:I bet the PAP will lose at least 10% more seats in the next election
So serious the foreigner policy can affect votes?
Originally posted by -StarDust-:
So serious the foreigner policy can affect votes?
Nonsense.
New citizens will ensure the incumbent party wins at least 90% of the votes.
some of the first batch of piony had already started to kpkb.
becos their fellow country young men and women are here to complete with them.
really.
but no sure many of them.
they mentioned not too long ago that they wanted to curb the inflow of foreigners. Not too many months later, they say they wanna bring in 100,000 more workers. haha crap. who can verify these figures? Maybe the actual amount they will allow in is much higher.
We are hitting our 6.5m target soon :) I think businesses like mustafa must be laughing their balls off to the bank.
Originally posted by Rock^Star:they mentioned not too long ago that they wanted to curb the inflow of foreigners. Not too many months later, they say they wanna bring in 100,000 more workers. haha crap. who can verify these figures? Maybe the actual amount they will allow in is much higher.
We are hitting our 6.5m target soon :) I think businesses like mustafa must be laughing their balls off to the bank.
I think so too.
Their numbers they give are always to their advantage.
If regarding GDP, give the highest figure.
If regarding foreign workers, give the most conservative number.
Election year, everything will be reported nice and dandy.
i feel like a tourist in my own country when i step outta my house these days...
Originally posted by GHoST_18:i feel like a tourist in my own country when i step outta my house these days...
That's how you save money instead of travelling overseas for your holiday.
that means india, bangadeshi and china is outta my travel planning...
Originally posted by GHoST_18:that means india, bangadeshi and china is outta my travel planning...
Why go overseas to experience other countries' cultures when it is already present in Singapore?
Why?
Quite a lot of netizens not happy with this.
Originally posted by charlize:Nonsense.
New citizens will ensure the incumbent party wins at least 90% of the votes.
I see.
Originally posted by GHoST_18:that means india, bangadeshi and china is outta my travel planning...
Cos you already can come in contact with them when you step to the nearest bus stop! LOL...
Originally posted by charlize:I think so too.
Their numbers they give are always to their advantage.
If regarding GDP, give the highest figure.
If regarding foreign workers, give the most conservative number.
Election year, everything will be reported nice and dandy.
I see.