Senior Minister of State for Foreign Affairs Dr Balaji Sadasivan, who was battling colon cancer, died early on Monday morning. He was 55.
Foreign Minister George Yeo broke the news of his death in a Twitter message just before 10.30 am on Monday. 'Mourns the passing away of dear friend and colleague Dr Balaji Sadasivan,' he twitted.
Dr Balaji had surgery at Gleneagles Hospital on Sept 23, 2008 to remove a cancerous tumour in the colon.
Before he entered politics in 2001 as a PAP candidate, he was a neurosurgeon at Gleneagles Hospital.
Soon after, he was elected as an MP for Ang Mo Kio GRC. He was appointed minister of state for health and environment in November 2001.
From May 2006 to March this year, he was senior minister of state for foreign affairs and information, communications and the arts. In April, his responsibility was confined to the ministry of foreign affairs.
Dr Balaji leaves behind his wife and two children.
-- ST
Was this the fault of the people of Singapore whom in the last election failed to give the PAP a "strong mandate": as a result health care cost weren't "lowered"?
'Dr Balaji Sadasivan promises lower healthcare costs if PAP given strong mandate' (CNA30Apr2006)
Poor Minister Balaji, done in by his own undoing.
Moral of the story, U don't need a strong mandate, nor any mandate for that matter to do good. If U are certain about what is good, don't wait, just do it.
If U really need permission to do what is good, just ask nicely, but never threaten and never assume yourself as indispensable for the good of all.
RIP Mr Balaji, RIP.
Let us always meet each other with smile, for the smile is the beginning of love.
Mother Teresa
Balaji's passing is not going to bring back the 7 elephants that were killed by the speeding INDIAN train.
Wonder why this public servant did not opt to go to the hopeless big shot hospital SGH.
End of his suffering. Not much impression of him.
Originally posted by bic_cherry:Was this the fault of the people of Singapore whom in the last election failed to give the PAP a "strong mandate": as a result health care cost weren't "lowered"?
'Dr Balaji Sadasivan promises lower healthcare costs if PAP given strong mandate' (CNA30Apr2006)
Moral of the story, U don't need a strong mandate, nor any mandate for that matter to do good. If U are certain about what is good, don't wait, just do it.
If U really need permission to do what is good, just ask nicely, but never threaten and never assume yourself as indispensable for the good of all.
RIP Mr Balaji, RIP.
Let us always meet each other with smile, for the smile is the beginning of love.
Mother Teresa
Sure he abused his power by doing so. It is despicable to use health issue to bait for more votes. pui!
My condolences.
saw his wife weeping miserably in the news.
Originally posted by gunner77:My condolences.
saw his wife weeping miserably in the news.
sob sob
RIP..
RIP
Originally posted by bic_cherry:Was this the fault of the people of Singapore whom in the last election failed to give the PAP a "strong mandate": as a result health care cost weren't "lowered"?
RIP Mr Balaji, RIP.
Mother Teresa
The medical cost is still very high.
If yuo go SGH, etc...those public hospital, it going to cost you more and unable to treat you as each time, you go there, you keeps on paying and paying.
But if you go private hospital and get treated by a very experience specialist doctor, it will cost you a bomb but then you get well 100 times faster than going to the public hospital.
Originally posted by likeyou:
The medical cost is still very high.
If yuo go SGH, etc...those public hospital, it going to cost you more and unable to treat you as each time, you go there, you keeps on paying and paying.
But if you go private hospital and get treated by a very experience specialist doctor, it will cost you a bomb but then you get well 100 times faster than going to the public hospital.
Why worry? He is a minister and well paid for for public servant's health benefits.
'An energetic leader'
PRESIDENT Nathan's condolence letter to Dr Balaji's widow, Dr Ma Swan Hoo:
Dear Mrs Balaji,
My wife and I are deeply saddened to learn of the sudden passing away of Dr Balaji this morning.
He gave up his distinguished career as a neurosurgeon to serve Singapore and its people. In his nine years in public office, he contributed much in the different areas of Health, Transport, Information, Communications and the Arts, and Foreign Affairs. He died suddenly and much too soon before he could fulfil all his missions to the nation and the community. I did not have the slightest suspicion that his end was so close. If there was one fated to work to death, Dr Balaji was indeed one. He knew no rest. While engaging deeply in one activity - Sinda - he was already deeply involved in another - the setting up of the Indian Heritage Centre. There must also be many other areas in public life, in his service as a Member of Parliament, and at various grassroots levels, that he devoted all his energy on.
Through his work in Sinda and other Indian community organisations, he brought about greater synergy among the Indian community organisations so that they could work actively to complement each other. In Sinda, he spent many hours and never hesitated, despite his illness, to drop by to discuss matters as they arose. He introduced other key initiatives as an adviser to several key Indian organisations and steered a large part of the Indian community to active citizenry and community activities.
I have personally known Dr Balaji over the years. He always struck me as a thoughtful and extremely well-read person blessed with a turn of mind that was sharp and penetrating. He was also passionate and went to great lengths to pursue whatever interested him. This trait he applied to whatever tasks he was given, and he took pains to tirelessly cover whatever aspects, in his usual meticulous way. His research and deep understanding of Indian history and culture were little known beyond his friends.
Singapore and the Indian community have lost a great and passionate man who provided leadership and purpose in all that he undertook. I have lost a close personal friend. I want to convey to you and the family the deepest condolences of my wife and me and our hope that you will bravely face the void that he has left in your lives.
Yours sincerely,
S R Nathan
-- ST
'A sad loss to all'
TWO weeks ago, Dr Balaji Sadasivan had already begun wrapping up his affairs as his lengthy battle with cancer took a turn for the worse.
The Ang Mo Kio GRC MP had made arrangements for his division, Cheng San-Seletar, to be taken care of in his absence. He had put plans in place for grassroots renewal.
He seemed to have had a feeling that his two-year battle was reaching its end. When he finally succumbed early yesterday morning, he left his house in order.
'He asked me to see these plans through if anything happened to him. He also thanked me for having given him the opportunity to serve,' Prime Minister Lee Hsien Loong said in a condolence letter to Dr Balaji's wife.
'I was very touched that, despite his illness, his mind was still on his responsibilities to residents. His untimely passing is a sad loss to all of us.'
Dr Balaji, who is also Senior Minister of State for Foreign Affairs, died of advanced colon cancer at age 55.
He had been ill since 2008, when he underwent an operation to remove a malignant tumour. Since then, he had been receiving regular treatment.
-- ST
'A man of conviction'
AN EXTRACT from Prime Minister Lee Hsien Loong's condolence letter to Dr Balaji's widow, Dr Ma:
'There was a conviction and finality to Balaji. When he first entered politics, we encouraged him to continue seeing patients, to keep his hand in as a surgeon.
But Balaji soon gave this up. He explained that it would not be fair to his patients, as his knowledge and skills would not be current.
He had weighed the options and decided to switch from medicine to politics, knowing fully the risks and consequences. He would give politics his all. It was a typically clear-minded decision.
Two years ago, Balaji took ill while in the Middle East. He had been travelling intensively on MFA business. When told of his colon cancer, he received the news calmly, though as a doctor he knew what it meant.
He researched the drugs and treatments that he was receiving with scientific detachment, and remained cheerful and positive.
-- ST
R.I.P
SM Goh says he was impressed by and grateful for Dr Balaji's attitude of service
SINGAPORE : Senior Minister Goh Chok Tong said he was "impressed by Dr Balaji Sadasivan's attitude of service, and grateful that he had stepped forward to be counted."
Dr Balaji, who was Senior Minister of State for Foreign Affairs, died on Monday. He was 55 years old.
In a condolence letter to Dr Balaji's wife, Dr Ma Swan Hoo, Mr Goh said he had expected Dr
Balaji's death as Prime Minister Lee Hsien Loong had told him about his
declining condition in Parliament two weeks ago.
Mr Goh said he did not see Dr Balaji in Parliament then but he last had lunch with him in May.
Mr Goh said he and his colleagues interviewed Dr Balaji to become a PAP
candidate in 2001, and found him "eminently suitable, given his high
intellect, character and sincerity."
They felt he could make a bigger contribution to Singapore than being a neurosurgeon.
Mr Goh said they left the decision to Dr Balaji as there was no
guarantee he would become a minister. But Dr Balaji decided to serve in
whatever position he was assigned.
Mr Goh said: "When he was not promoted to minister, he said, 'no
problem, so long as I could serve, I would serve'. And we valued his
attitude, his dedication to his work.
"Of course, on the ground, (he's a) very good MP, very popular with his
constituents, (and he) worked very closely with the grassroots leaders.
But his life had come to an end - a loss to the party, a loss to
Singapore, and a big loss to the family."
- CNA /ls
Originally posted by Asromanista2001:R.I.P
ALAMAK................don't edit my post until like this leh..........
More young Singaporeans should emulate Dr Balaji: President Nathan
President S R Nathan hopes more young Singaporeans can emulate Dr Balaji Sadasivan.
Even though he was a top neurosurgeon, Dr Balaji was prepared to work with people at the grassroots level.
Speaking to reporters this afternoon at Cheng San Community Club where
he paid respects to the late Dr Balaji, President Nathan said Dr Balaji
was a rare individual.
He also described him as an "intellectually honest person", devoted to what he was doing.
The funeral for the late Dr Balaji will be held tomorrow at the Mandai Crematorium at 3.45 pm.
-- 938Live
Hundreds send off Balaji
HUNDREDS of people lined the road outside the Cheng San Community Club to bid a final goodbye to the late Senior Minister of State for Foreign Affair Balaji Sadasivan on Thursday afternoon.
They bowed their heads as his cortege passed by, in the final journey through the ward where he was an MP of Ang Mo Kio GRC.
Many were residents and housewives from the nearby flats who made time to pay their last respects. Even construction workers stopped work as a mark of respect to the minister who died of advance colon cancer on Monday. He was 55.
Many also followed cortege procession, including an elderly woman in a wheelchair and several mothers pushing their babies in prams.
Earlier, more than 100 grassroots leaders and residents turned up at the Community Club to pay their final respects before the body was moved to Mandai Crematorium for a funeral service.
Among them were 20 members of the Singapore Indian Development Association (Sinda), of which the late Senior Minister of State for Foreign Affairs was the President.
-- ST