A construction worker collapsed and died in April last year, only two days after he arrived here from China to work.
Mr Tian Wei, of Liaoning in north-eastern China where the average
temperature is between 6° and 11°C, succumbed to heatstroke after
working in the sun for five hours in a yard in Kranji Loop.
Mr Tian's employer, Cheang Heong Lan, the sole proprietor of Chin Kong
Trading Construction, was yesterday fined $20,000 for her failure as an
employer to ensure workplace safety and health measures that contributed
to Mr Tian's death on April 25 last year. The average temperature that
day was 32.9°C.
The Ministry of Manpower said in a
statement that Cheang is the first employer to be fined under the
Workplace Safety and Health Act for such an offence. She could have been
fined up to $200,000 or jailed up to two years or both.
Mr Tian had not undergone any acclimatisation before commencing work,
the court heard. Ms Cheang's company did not have an acclimatisation
programme, which would require, among other measures, new workers to be
acclimatised over at least one week by gradually increasing the workload
and time spent in the hot environment.
Mr Ho Siong Hin,
MOM's commissioner for workplace safety and health, said the employer
"should have been aware and more mindful of the effects of heat
exhaustion on workers, especially a worker who had come from a much
colder climate than ours".
Cheaper, better, faster? Not really.
You bring a polar bear in, you need to give the polar bear time to adjust also mah. Must give him air-con environment first.
this is the problemw tih our open arse ahem doors policy. i know gahmen means good intent, abit that's the only CREATIVE method one size fits all solution to labor 'shortages' and 'low birthrates'. its not creative solution tome, but rather a free sized socks and one size fits all ostrich poke into ground method pappy only capable of. non-creativity aside i think the ground people and employment agencies recruiters really desperate. like the above post - primary school kids also knw why polar bears are given the name and they stays at the artics and colder regions.
take me for example. i don;t like travelling musch, even to neighbouring countries not even for tours. 7 days 7 nights enough to appreciate a country even meh? if i really wanna 'tour; i will stay ther for months, and its only tour not work. work there so long got stress arh. my health lso don;t permit, the weather sg sometimes cannot tahan already don;t say even other countries.
It's like putting polar bear in Africa wildlife park....
Any compensation?
She fined $20k right? The amount is for the govt.
How about the deceased?
Originally posted by likeyou:Any compensation?
How about the deceased?
I suspect nothing for the deceased unless he got buy his own insurance policy.
This is a lesson to all Singaporeans who always think of employing cheap foreigners
That will be very unfair to that workers and his family members.
He should be compensated.
PAP hope more workers will die and more pedestrians/motorists kana killed in accidents..............
when people die..........PAP get richer...........the victims' families get nothing...............
Originally posted by likeyou:Any compensation?
How about the deceased?
i hope nothing. like that those cheap 'talents' will know that its not easy a sweet dream to come here make quick easy money. no supply gahmen will have to think of real creative solutions to our 'shortage' of labor talented issues and low birthrate issue.
Originally posted by single_alone:
I suspect nothing for the deceased unless he got buy his own insurance policy.This is a lesson to all Singaporeans who always think of employing cheap foreigners
That's a lesson to all Foreigners who are always thinking of coming to Singapore to dig for gold.
I will compare foreigners who thinks of coming to sg to work to earn big bucks with people who sign on with SAF to earn big bucks.
They are both naive and dumb and will regret it
They come here, cannot find gold, but dig sai.
Originally posted by likeyou:They come here, cannot find gold, but dig sai.
in this case dig their own graves lor.........
### to join SAF and make good money only for grads only...............then must be like a snake to go far.....
to be a snake means..........spineless.........flexible.........escape fast when in trouble............to bite people in the arse........
simple-minded or honest grads go SAF won't go so far as snakes...............
conduct water parade. lol
Originally posted by likeyou:They come here, cannot find gold, but dig sai.
Unfortunately for them, Mas Selamat have already digged all the sai.
He's like Elvis....Mas "Elvis" Selamat.
I think they are better off staying at china. They have land to be farmer better than try to be a hero come sg to dig for gold